We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Soppong River Inn

Save
Share
356 Moo 1, Soppong 58150 Thailand
Booking.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (506)
Room & Suite (65)
Dining (10)

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Soppong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Natural accommodations, each one unique, set in tropical gardens along the Lang River. The Seven Elephants Cafe offers both western food and SE Asia food, as well as espresso drinks and house cocktails. The extensive multi-level terrace above the river is perfect for relaxing after a day of caving, hilltribe trekking, or just wandering around the village. Soppong River Inn is one of only three properties in Mae Hong Son province to have been awarded TripAdvisor's Traveller's Choice award for 2016 and 2017.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Lazy river
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Concierge
Secured parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Iron
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Thai
181Reviews0Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 125
  • 39
  • 12
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chris H wrote a review Jan 2020
Burns Beach, Australia153 contributions111 helpful votes
The staff were friendly but did not speak English so the universal sign language came in handy. The rooms were basic but clean. i would certainly recommend that you upgrade to a river view cabin as the common area overlooking the river is beautiful. We tried the food one night but would not recommend it. If you want something to eat go across the road to the Jungle guest house - The food there is amazing. You can also get laundry service (expensive) at $80B / kg.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The double story river view
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
travelingaroundgal wrote a review Feb 2019
Melrose, Massachusetts33 contributions11 helpful votes
If you want a very relaxing place to be one with nature, this is the place for you. The rooms are built above the Soppong River in a treehouse like format. The hotel entrance is right off the main road however but the rooms are quite far from the road so all you hear is the sound of nature. The room itself was rustic and comfortable. The owner and staff are very friendly and accommodating. If you have any questions or need recommendations for things to do they are very helpful. The food at the restaurant was also delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Helpful
Share
myra k wrote a review Feb 2019
Kalbarri, Australia39 contributions25 helpful votes
We stayed in a bamboo ,wood ,grassed roof room on the river,the balcony over the river, airy with beautiful views around the bed,although not far from a road,traffic noise was ok. The food was beautiful Thai meals, everything I ate was yum.Joy and Burt and their daughter are lovely people. A good place to explore Soppong area from or as a stopover on your travels, we came just to relax between places.spent 3 nights relaxing and eating,went on a little sunrise tour with Burt for morning coffee. Caught the Prempracha bus from chaingmai arcade bus station,that was a great journey also,loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I think we stayed in river rim room
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
DazladandT wrote a review Feb 2019
Salford, United Kingdom16 contributions2 helpful votes
After a bad experience at another hotel we moved to Soppong River Inn and were very happy with our stay. They have a range of different rooms at varying prices depending on budget and are all tucked privately away in the trees. The most expensive and luxurious being down by the river. The staff were all brilliant and the owner helped us organise a trek with a local guide, "Gaymoo" which I cannot recommend enough. We chose the full day tour and visited his local village as well as trekking through the forest and swimming through a cave. Food in the hotel is great too. If you want to get off the beaten track from Pai I would recommend visiting Soppong for a few days and staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from soppongriverinn, Owner at Soppong River Inn
Responded 5 Feb 2019
Thank you so much for your comments and of course we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as your day trek with Gaymoo. We will pass your comments along to him. Gaymoo comes from the Karen hilltribe village Muang Paem, which was identified by UNESCO as a sustainable community based tourism project, partly because of their traditional hand weaving with natural dye, so we always pleased to recommend a trek starting from there. It was very nice to meet you and hope you can visit us again!
Read more
Omer S wrote a review Jan 2019
South Bend, Indiana13 contributions3 helpful votes
I reserved a bungalow via Agoda, but upon check in was given a regular room (named Bamboo 2). When I showed my reservation to the owner, instead of honoring it, she claimed it was a mistake made by Agoda. When I tried to insist, she pointed out to one bungalow near the road and claimed this was the only bungalow available (thus trying to have me to give up on the idea, as near the road is noisy etc.), which certainly wasn't the case as apart of me I only saw one other couple and one solo female traveler at the resort at that time) Anyway, room was dark and cold (temperatures at night can get as low as 7-8 degrees Celsius) with no heating whatsoever. to make things worst, the only window in the room did not shut off. The solution of the owner: instead of calling some handyman to fix it, she put a towel between the window and the frame thus trying to prevent the cold from coming in (not really helpful), while all the while complaining that she haven't had a customer like me before (really "sorry" that I complained about a window that doesn't shut off).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Kanokorn I, Manager at Soppong River Inn
Responded 28 Jan 2019
Your one star review is the first we have ever received in all our years, but your accusation of dishonesty concerns us the most. Please allow us to clarify your comments and complaints. You did reserve the bungalow in the front of our property with a request for a large bed. As it says in the Agoda listing, this room has two twin beds, so in trying to accommodate your request, we offered to move you to a better room down by the river front with a queen-size bed, and we apologize if you felt that was "dishonest". There were in fact no other bungalows in your price range where we could move you, as you had booked our cheapest room. It does get very cool at night in Soppong now. In the interest of honesty, we reviewed data from our onsite weather station and found that the low temperature on the night you were here was 14.9° and not "7 - 8°" as you stated in your comment, and the high that day was 25.4°. Our low temperature this year was 9.5° several weeks ago and it has never reached 7°. We note that you also complained about the cold weather in your review of your stay in Pai. When you were here, you contacted our staff many times, complaining about the cold, and we did our best by providing you with more blankets. You will find that very few hotels in Thailand and none in Soppong have installed heating systems for the couple of weeks where the temperatures are cool at night. After you left, we followed up on your complaint about the gap in the window and did see that there is indeed a gap of about 1 cm. For that we apologize, and we had not previously received a complaint from other guests. Please understand that when you complained late in the day about that, it was not possible for our handyman to remove and replace the window frame so we did our best to satisfy you by closing the gap with a towel. Although we were unable to verify your comment, we also apologize if our staff did say that we had not had a customer like you before. If they did make that comment they should not have, but in fact we have not. All in all, we did our best to satisfy you and your complaints, but it seems that was not enough. Accusing us of being "dishonest" because of that is inaccurate and uncalled for.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$22 - US$22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
soppong river hotel mae hong son
LOCATION
ThailandMae Hong Son ProvinceSoppong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Soppong River Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Soppong River Inn?
Nearby attractions include Lod Cave (7.0 km) and Mae Lana Cave (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Soppong River Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Soppong River Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Soppong River Inn?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Soppong River Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nongluk Restaurant, Seven Elephants Cafe, and Pen Coffee House.
Does Soppong River Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Soppong River Inn offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Soppong River Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Soppong.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Soppong River Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Does Soppong River Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.