We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rafford, Forres IV36 2RU Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (19)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rafford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Blervie House is a stunning Scottish Country House located just 30 minutes from Inverness Airport offering the only 5 Star accommodation currently available in the area. In the middle of the Malt Whisky Trail and close to the Cairngorms National Park guests will find plenty of attractions such as Castles, Dolphins and world-class Golf Courses. Offering 10 rooms renovated to the highest possible standard Blervie House is ideal for independent travellers looking for both a luxurious and relaxing experience. Blervie House treats all guests as friends and the atmosphere is relaxed and informal. Breakfast is included in all our very affordable rates and informal dinners are available throughout June to September. Any queries do please feel free to contact us as we are always on-site. Top Tip if you are looking for a Scottish Staycation book a 3-night stay to receive our best discount.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Billiards
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Adults only
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Patio
Walking tours
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
79Reviews1Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
sandratemple59 wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
WOW . Spent 2 nights at Blervie House. The house is beautiful. The rooms spacious and warm. The staff are so lovely and friendly. Breakfast was delicious Would highly recommend. Hopefully we will be able to return
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blervie House, Owner at Blervie House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sandra, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are both so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found plenty to explore in the area. With best wishes Sheena and Graham PS Good luck to your granddaughter and her studies.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Honey Bee wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The rooms and property are lovely. We enjoyed meeting other guests at breakfast each day and discussing our adventures. It was a great way to find different areas to explore. The staff was very friendly and willing to assist. The main issue was the host, Graham was clear from the beginning with his concerns about Americans. He made several off-handed comments about American travelers directly to us and told American jokes to the European travelers in front of us. In fact one of the British guests mentioned that this was inappropriate. If we had not interacted with him, the entire experience would have been better. Breakfast was ok. It's the same limited menu every day. There's very little variety, but everything was well prepared.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Blervie House, Owner at Blervie House
Responded 20 Aug 2022
Dear Bumblinbee, We are completely surprised by the unfavourable comments made in your review. Firstly, your comments regarding breakfast would seem to differ from our previous guest reviews. Our Breakfast includes 18 different options and is rated by numerous reviews on other travel sites at between 9.5 and 10 out of 10. There is space on our Breakfast Order for guests to include any special requests that they may wish us to provide. We believe this speaks for itself. As to your comments about Graham being anti-American, this simply does not add up. Not only are there numerous memorabilia in the house from our trips to the USA we have also, since 9/11, always flown the Stars and Stripes at our residences to show our support. The purpose of encouraging our guests to dine at one long table is to stimulate the topics for conversation, and has proved a huge success. Inevitably in today's modern world, this means that world politics is often discussed in a light-hearted and friendly manner. It is unfortunate that you did not see fit to join into the camaraderie. Graham and Sheena Thompson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eagle6117 wrote a review Jul 2022
New York City, New York2 contributions
Was told by Graham the evening prior to check in that our 9pm arrival was not possible and that we must arrive by 8pm or we were out of luck. Given that we already had plans booked and paid for in the afternoon an earlier arrival was not possible. We fully reviewed all correspondence with the hotel including the confirmation from 5 months prior and the policies on the website and found absolutely nothing that said checkin after 8pm was not permitted. This first notice we got of this was 4 days before our arrival and even then this was simply a request to notify the property if we were going to arrive after 8pm - which we did - and to which they then responded that was not possible. Owners suggestion was for US to change our plans to accommodate the earlier arrival. We were forced to cancel given this NEW condition of mandatory check - in before 8pm as we could not make it by then and requested a refund of the deposit. Not only did the owner not refund our deposit but immediately went ahead and charged our card for the balance due. They kept saying we had read their policies - the major problem being that until the day before checkin no mention was ever made of mandatory 8pm check in. And at that point it was too late to cancel without having them charge us the full rate, which they did. Luckily we found a place that worked for us on such short notice. Found our attempts to resolve this with the owners problematic and that we were treated rudely. Reading their argumentative and dismissive rebuttals to other reviews we are not surprised.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blervie House, Owner at Blervie House
Responded 13 Jul 2022
It is extremely disappointing to read your unfair and biased review. You booked to stay with us in September 2021 and when you booked you declared that you would be arriving at our latest possible arrival time for new guests i.e. 8 pm. Between your booking and a week of your intended arrival, you received 2 further communications from our booking system all of which reiterated our check-in times. Twenty-four hours prior to your scheduled arrival you decided to inform us that you were not complying with our booking terms and conditions and that you would be arriving at 9 pm. I emailed you to advise that this was unacceptable and that you would be playing golf near our premises at 3.30 pm but then wished to go out for dinner before checking in. I informed you this was not acceptable and it would only take 5 minutes to check in well within our check-in period. You chose to be deliberately non-compliant and cancelled your reservation. You have no grounds to give us a bad review. Graham Thompson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gillian_M2013485 wrote a review Jul 2022
St Johann In Tirol, Austria3 contributions
We loved Blervie and having spent thirty years working in tourism, we are not easily impressed. Our room was perfect, spacious and very comfortable with every attention to detail. Breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed playing snooker in the games room and relaxing in the reading room with books/TV . Lovely walks in the surrounding woodland. It is a 10 minute drive to Forres if you want to go out for dinner but we just planned our day accordingly. There is plenty of information about places to eat, visit etc. If you want to experience a real country house atmosphere, relax and unwind then this is the place. We felt very welcome and would definitely return if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blervie House, Owner at Blervie House
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are both so glad that you enjoyed the house and the relaxed atmosphere of the house and hope we see you again in the not too distant future. With best wishes Sheena and Graham
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
corinne b wrote a review Jul 2022
Paris, France5 contributions2 helpful votes
We have been disappointed learn that there was no possibility for dinner after 7.30 While all the restaurants around were closed. The owner knew about that but did not let us know si we had no dinner at all … not even bread and cheese in the room ! Very unpleasant when you want to enjoy a nice evening in a nice place at this level of price . Though the house is great and very clean there is no atmosphere and it does not feel friendly. One light in the bathroom was not working. One milk capsul was off and the other one was left empty. At this level of price such things should not happen ! No TV in the room . We felt that the customers were not very welcome .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Blervie House, Owner at Blervie House
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Dear Madam, We note the contents of your totally unfair review and would like to respond to the points you have made. Firstly you comment on the price. Our pricing structure is such that we load the price on a one-night stay to reflect the additional cost of bedding and linens only being used once. We also offer discounts of up to 15% for guests who choose to stay 3 nights (most guests stay longer). When you consider that our price includes a Full Scottish Breakfast it means that our standard rooms are cheaper than many chain motel-type accommodations. You chose to book a Mansion Room which is one of the biggest rooms on offer with a bedroom of 36 square metres and a bathroom of 25 square metres. Prior to arrival, you contacted us at 6 pm to ask if you could have dinner, we advised you that we were serving dinner at 7.30 pm and we could accommodate you. We prepared the table for your arrival and informed the Chef accordingly. You then contacted us one hour later and told us that you were still nearly 100 miles away and would like to cancel dinner. I advised you that I was prepared to let you break our check-in time of 8 pm and that you should stop and have dinner where you were as there were no restaurants on the route and by the time you arrived with us, only fast food outlets would be available in the local town. Apparently, you chose to purchase a sandwich locally. Thirdly we are a Country Guesthouse with a maximum of 12 rooms and a very high number of returning guests even at our level of turnover our business often has peaks and troughs and so you may well arrive to a bustling party atmosphere or alternatively a more relaxed experience. It just so happened that one the night you stayed most of our guests had been out on a long trip at had retired early. Lastly, we have over 500 luminaires in our house and replace approximately 10 of these every month. When housekeeping service the rooms they check all luminaires are functioning and if you had reported that the malfunctioning luminaire in your room was of significant importance it would have been immediately changed. With regard to the used UHT milk capsule being left on your beverage tray, this is clearly an oversight on behalf of our housekeeping team and we apologise herewith. However, we can assure you that all the remaining capsules had been recently purchased and were in pristine condition. You are probably unaware due to your late check-in that there is also a kitchenette adjacent to your room which is fully stocked and contains a fridge. We make no excuse for not having televisions in our rooms as we have invested in private Superfast Broadband so guests can download their own viewing content. We do however have a Television Room with the latest high-tech equipment.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Craig P wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
Beautiful house, location and surroundings. Sumptous rooms and accommodation. Delicious breakfasts and for Graham and Sheena nothing was a trouble. They looked after us very well. Three nights of luxury!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blervie House, Owner at Blervie House
Responded 19 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are both so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we might see you again. With best wishes Sheena and Graham
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pne1pne1 wrote a review May 2022
London50 contributions36 helpful votes
Spent 4 nights with friends at this wonderfully renovated country house. Hosted by Graham and Sheena who encourage you to treat the place as home. Set in large grounds there is plenty of local walks after a lovely breakfast. Comfortable large beds and huge bathrooms are a great feature. If you want a stylish, comfortable base to enjoy the moray Firth and Speyside or a stop to or from the North then this is your place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blervie House, Owner at Blervie House
Responded 16 May 2022
Thank you so much for your kind review. It gives us great pleasure when we have time for a short break to read our guest's reviews and bring back all the happy memories of their stays and yours was no exception. Hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Graham and Sheena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue P wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions
We stayed at the stunning Blervie House a few days ago for a friend's big birthday celebration. To say we had a great time is an understatement as Graham and Sheena were the most amazing hosts going over and above in hospitality and exceeding our expectations with the wonderful catering too. I cannot recommend this beautiful house and grounds enough. A massive thank you to Graham and Sheena and all the staff for making us feel so welcome and comfortable. We’ll definitely be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blervie House, Owner at Blervie House
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear Sue, thank you for your very kind comments. We enjoyed welcoming you and the rest of your party to our home and very much hope that we will see you again. Kind Regards Graham and Sheena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sbrill2016 wrote a review May 2022
Montreux, Switzerland4 contributions
We came to celebrate my husband's birthday with friends and family. The house was absolutely gorgeous and we had the most amazing bedroom. There were so many interesting pieces of art and furniture throughout. Breakfasts were excellent and the two dinners we had were of top restaurant standard. Sheena is a fabulous chef. Both Graham and Sheena looked after our entire party so well and we felt truly welcomed into their home. More like friends than guests. The staff were delightful. We would love to come back. Travel from anywhere in the world to come to this place!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blervie House, Owner at Blervie House
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear Sheila, thank you so much for your kind review. We very much enjoyed meeting you and your charming guests and do hope you find time to visit us in the future. Kind Regards Graham and Sheena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott S wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
I can’t remember where I first heard about Blervie House but it was a small discreet ad. That pretty much sums Blervie House up, very discreet. The house itself is magnificent and very comfortable. The room we were in was large and well equipped, as was the bathroom. Where this property stands out above other five star establishments is the personal service. Too many five stars think that providing you with a beautiful room and facilities is sufficient, they forget about the personal service. Graham and Sheena haven’t forgotten, the level of personal service is superb. The breakfast portion was embarrassingly large and I never came close to finishing it, next time I will ask for a smaller portion. My only disappointment was that we were booked in for one night only, I won’t make that mistake again. I cannot wait for our next visit
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The Cameron Suite was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Blervie House, Owner at Blervie House
Responded 6 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review. We are both so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in fact finally got to stay with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the hopefully not too distant future. With best wishes Graham and Sheena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$211 - US$259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandMorayForresRafford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BLERVIE HOUSE: UPDATED 2022 B&B Reviews, Price Comparison and 75 Photos (Rafford, Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Blervie House
Which popular attractions are close to Blervie House?
Nearby attractions include Morayvia (6.3 km), Logie Steading (7.3 km), and Dallas Dhu Whisky Distillery (2.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Blervie House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Blervie House?
Top room amenities include a desk, a dining area, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Blervie House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Blervie House?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blervie House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mosset Tavern, Franklin's Restaurant at Cluny Bank, and The Red Lion.
Does Blervie House offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Blervie House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Blervie House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Tolbooth (4.4 km).