We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
St Lawrence BB15026 Barbados
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$200
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/02/23
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
US$180
View deal
Agoda.com
US$154
View deal
Hotels.comUS$180
TravelocityUS$180
travelup.comUS$179
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (475)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (367)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This family-owned, friendly hotel is nestled away from the hustle and bustle of the St. Lawrence Gap. We feature a beautiful pool and sun-deck, and rooms with panoramic views of the ocean or tropical gardens. Renovated in 2007, all suites/studios are air-conditioned with double or twin beds. Rooms feature full kitchenettes, stove, fridge, telephone, radio, in-room safe, cable television, full bathroom, private balcony and daily housekeeping service. Perfect for families, weddings, honeymooners, teams and groups.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
951Reviews87Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 329
  • 391
  • 149
  • 42
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alison D wrote a review 5 Feb
6 contributions
Older hotel, but some nice renovations (spotless new bathroom and new efficient AC). Warm and friendly staff, great location on Dover Beach and close to St Lawrence Gap and its amenities. Would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool also have view of the Caribbean
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
adam d wrote a review 3 Feb
Ait Azzi, Morocco50 contributions18 helpful votes
Large bed with good aircon, very clean and the location was good, Excellent value for money Great base for a holiday on a budget Didn't try the food When you first walk in it doesn't look very appealing in truth but the rooms are totally fine. Theres lots of nightlife but is quite at the hotel itself. The pool is small and badic but like the rest of the hotel is perfectly fine
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcia Yarde, General Manager at Dover Beach Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Adam, Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled in that you capture and experienced what we are offering. Clean comfortable rooms, and perfect location. We will continue our upgrading process in order to serve our customers better. Thank you once again and all the best to you,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lee wrote a review Jan 2023
Eastleigh, United Kingdom3 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is located on the south of the island next to Turtle Bay and Sandals. All beaches in Barbados are public so you can wander wherever you want. All the hotels in St Lawrence Gap (except the all inclusive ones) welcome you to book for food and you can just wander into the bars for a drink. The ZR (pronounced Zedder) buses are great. $3.50 (bajan) wherever you want to go! Only reason this hotel does not get 5* is that it is a little dated and the pool is very basic. But you get what you pay for and no-one should go to Barbados to stay in their hotel. The beaches are AMAZING!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There is a government room tax for tourists collected by the hotels. It is between $2.50 to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcia Yarde, General Manager at Dover Beach Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Companion, Thank you for your recent visit and for your candid comments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and that we were able to contribute to your experience. I concur with you that a vacation should not be limited to the hotel alone but to explore and enjoy the island and culture. We do trust that we have the opportunity to welcome you again to Barbados. All the best to you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeanette B wrote a review Dec 2022
6 contributions
Stayed here for seven nights. Basic hotel clean sheets and towels everyday. Pool was dirty and the girl that served at the poolbar was so rude and not friendly or helpful at all. I wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marcia Yarde, General Manager at Dover Beach Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Jeanette, Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not find favour with some services during your visit with us. We valued your comments and will take the necessary corrective measure to ensure that we offer a premium service to our customers. All the best to you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ajcotter wrote a review Nov 2022
Greystones, Ireland134 contributions56 helpful votes
Great location on the seafront with a gorgeous beach millimetres away. Rooms are adequate for a short stay, happy a d helpful staff. Buckets of eateries close by. Nice place to eat breakfast overlooking the sea.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris T wrote a review Mar 2022
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom50 contributions55 helpful votes
Perfect location on a lovely beach. Food in bar was good for snacks and had two happy hours. Clean rooms that were slightly dated but fine. Loads of restaurants and bars within walking distance of hotel. Staff were friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sarah T wrote a review Mar 2022
Heywood, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
I'm not sure why this hotel gets such terrible reviews. We thought it was brilliant! The staff were always friendly towards us. The room was clean and tidy (and cleaned daily during our stay) with plenty of wardrobe space and drawers. The shower was hot and powerful at all times and the bathroom had toiletries and a hairdryer. Our room was in a quiet block within the hotel complex and we rarely heard a sound from other rooms. The pool looked lovely although we didn't swim in it because they had sun beds up on a raised part of the the pool which overlooked a stunning beach and the sea. There's a little cut-through to the beach at the end of the pool area and there was always plenty of beds available around the pool. The bar was great - they had some good snacks available and twice daily happy hour for drinks. And the hotel was close to a number of bars and restaurants and about a 20 minute walk to the Gap. My only small issue was that the hotel charged for the use of the room safe. It was only 3 Barbados dollars per day, but still I don't think guests should have to pay for a safe in this day and age. We stayed for seven nights at The Dover Beach Hotel and won't hesitate to stay again when we return to Barbados in the future. Thank you for a fantastic holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Dover Beach Hotel Reservations Department, Guest Services / Front Office at Dover Beach Hotel
Responded 16 Apr 2022
Dear Sarah, We appreciate your recent visit to Dover Beach Hotel and your wonderful comments. We are so happy to hear that we have indeed met your expectations. Your description portrayed exaclly what we have advertised. A small beachfront hotel,ideally located in the popular St. Lawrence Gap and offering great service. Congrats! We are therefore very happy to add you to our list of satisfied customers. Looking forward to welcoming you to Dover Beach Hotel sometime in the future. Be Safe and all the best to you Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda M wrote a review Feb 2022
Weston, United Kingdom139 contributions142 helpful votes
You get what you pay for and this hotel was really good value. We only stayed one night as we were on our way to The Grenadines. Our room was clean, had an enormous bed, had toiletries and basic kitchenette facilities. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, the pool looked inviting and you could access the beach quite easily. We had breakfast in the restaurant/cafe and the food quality was good but we did wait a long time and the server kept apologising for keeping us waiting. The hotel is in a great spot for accessing all the bars and restaurants in St Lawrence Gap
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dover Beach Hotel Reservations Department, Guest Services / Front Office at Dover Beach Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2022
Dear Amanda, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We are so happy to hear that that you thought that you receive good value. We stand by our advertisement. With regards to the restaurant we also appreciate your comment about the quality of your breakfast. We do apologize for the delay and will continue to work with the staff on their time management. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
caratmine wrote a review Feb 2022
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom9 contributions17 helpful votes
We had a 3 night stay here. The staff were lovely, welcoming and helpful. Our room was spacious but very tired. The bathroom was shabby and stained, but fairly clean. The best place to check if they really clean the bathroom is behind the door, not so clean. The 'kitchenette' is a fridge, a kettle and a microwave, two cups and saucers and 2 teaspoons. That's it. Our room faced the road alongside the entrance to the hotel, so lots of comings and goings. There are plenty of sun beds around the pool, but the hotel itself does not have any beach front. You can access the beach via a small passageway, but there are no beds there, only those that belong to the hotel next door. The small restaurant on site is very poor for food. It is cafeteria style food that's very basic. Plus they take ages cooking it. I wouldn't stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dover Beach Hotel Reservations Department, Guest Services / Front Office at Dover Beach Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for vacationing with us and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We welcome your positive comments and will definitely work on the negative ones. With regards to your room our records indicate that your reservation was made for a standard room which does not carry a kitchen. Instead it comes with a small fridge, microwave and an electric kettle. You are even provided with teacups for the purpose of preparing a cup of tea. The main wing of the hotel faces the Ocean.. A beautiful sun deck is sandwiched between the hotel and the ocean. The access to the beach is to the side. The beach chairs can be placed on the beach on request. We do have an informal restaurant which is located near the pool. I am sorry that you there was a delay in your service but like any other business it is done on a first come first serve basis and it takes time to prepare the food. Once again, w thank you for sharing your experience and we wish you all the best. Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan H wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel over Christmas and New Year. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean with a fabulous balcony overlooking the sea. Unfortunately when we took our pre flight Covid test we both tested positive. This meant that we had to self isolate for 10 days. The hotel allowed us to self isolate with them. During this time the staff were wonderful. They catered for our every need , dropping off clean bedding and towels every day. Delivering delicious food from the restaurant when we wanted it and even getting anything else we needed from the local supermarket. They also helped us with all the required retesting paperwork before we could leave.I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and would give them 10 stars if I could !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dover Beach Hotel Reservations Department, Guest Services / Front Office at Dover Beach Hotel
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Hi Sue, Thank you for sharing your review and your wonderful comments We are delighted that were able to meet your expectations during that difficult period. Our aim is to offer optimum customer service to our valued clients. All the best to you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$90 - US$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dover beach christ church, hotel dover beach, dover beach hotel barbados
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosChrist Church ParishSt Lawrence
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOVER BEACH HOTEL: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 939 Photos (Barbados, Caribbean) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Dover Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Dover Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Dover Beach (0.4 km), St Lawrence Gap (0.2 km), and The Old Jamm Inn (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dover Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Dover Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Dover Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Dover Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dover Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Happy Days Cafe, Harlequin Restaurant, and My Friends Place.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dover Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Dover Beach Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Dover Beach Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dover Beach Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Dover Beach Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Dover Beach Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting George Washington House (4.9 km), Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club (4.5 km), and Barbados Garrison (4.8 km).