We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Lousa
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 79: English reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and one day, mainly to go walking in the hills behind the town. Our GPS took us straight to the hotel but we drove around the block twice before we realized we had arrived; the street is narrow and the hotel is not immediately obvious. There is ample off-street parking at the rear of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth s
PalacioDaLousa, General Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comments. Unfortunately as we are a protected building we cannot put outside indications of the hotel, and that is why sometimes our guests get confused and do not find immediatly the property. But we try to minimize this with service and a nice accommodation. Hopefully we understand that you enjoyed your stay...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed three nights at Palacio da Lousa, in the old part of the hotel. The rooms and common areas in that part are very nice - it is a rather intimate size palace, very pleasant. Arriving at the hotel, the reception will direct you to their ample free parking around the back. Really enjoyed the large outdoor pool, nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatKal
PalacioDaLousa, General Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comments (accurate and extensive). As you may undersatnd it's very important for us to have a full perspective from the point of vue of the guests not only about our property but also about other services we have in the village. We hope to welcome you again in the Sierra. Kind regards,...

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Really an old palace! HUGE room, great breakfast, very nice and reasonably priced restaurant in the hotel. Lovely pool (or was a bit to cold in October). You can begin the amazing walk to the schist villages literally right outside the door. Great price for what you get; make sure to ask for the old part of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
PalacioDaLousa, General Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comments about your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to realize you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, The General Manager

Reviewed 6 October 2016

Located in the centre of Louse, in a maze of narrow streets it didn't seem to have great access for cars, but we easily found an on street parking spot nearby. Beautiful hotel with friendly and very helpful reception staff. Large well equipped room with comfortable bed. Great dining room with superb food and excellent service. Probably a good idea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
PalacioDaLousa, General Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your opinion and comments. We are very pleased to understand you enjoyed our property. It's a pity you did not ask for an early breakfast. We are used to open the room before the schedule if requested. Nest time you know you can ask for breakfast from 6 am without any issue....

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the palace for two nights in August 2016 while on our honeymoon. The fresh well laid out continental breakfast with an overwhelming assortment of local fruits, cheeses, honey, hams, buns and so much more was fabulous. We were treated like royalty, the standard of service was exceptional, no doubt as a result of the excellent leadership of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Konrad E
PalacioDaLousa, General Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Again accept our congratulations and thank you so much for your comments. We are very pleased to know you had a great experience at Lousã specially in such a special occasion. We hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards, The General Manager

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

This was a good value room. What we particularly liked was the variety of different areas to relax. Outside there was the pool, garden and patio areas, whilst indoors several lounges, so it was always easy to get some personal space. The room and bathroom was fine though the shower not the best. Breakfast was buffet was very good. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bedspring
PalacioDaLousa, General Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the time you spent commenting your recent stay at palácio da Lousã Boutique Hotel. We are very pleased to understand that overall you enjoyed the property. I'm not sure if in the predicted renovation the showers will be changed. But I will keep it in mind. We hope to welcome you again in...

California
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We stayed at the Palacio da Lousã for a wedding. We had a large charming room in the old part of the hotel that used to be a palace. I felt like a prince leaving in the 18th century. The staff was very accommodating and Paulo the manager did a great job making sure everything goes smoothly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David177
PalacioDaLousa, General Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comments. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and felling like a princess. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, The General Manager

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 21 August 2016

This hotel is located in a perfect spot in the city centre and really in the centre of Lousã mountains with a great view. A four start boutique hotel is a must in such area, however there are some points that need improvement ... rooms are good in size and clean, however the rooms present clear signs of humidity. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Afonso_TheHague
PalacioDaLousa, General Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to comment your stay at Palácio da Lousã. I can now perfectly understand the day you stayed with us, because at breakfast time we had one of our colleagues absent and it was very complicated for the service. After taking a sharp decision the situation is normalised. Concerning the fruits...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Reaĺly too far from Coimbra, in a very bad environment, building is nice but poorly arranged, meals are under the standard, industrial bread, poor quality of the fish This is really not a Boutique Hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catherinedalain
PalacioDaLousa, General Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment your recent stay at Palácio da Lousã. Your critics are extremely important for us in order to improve service and other aspects that are within our reach. We regret that your experience was not as expected. Your review shall be discussed with our staff and if possible we shall make...

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We were a bit nervous having booked this place on a semi- random basis a long time ago and then read some of the more negative recent reviews below. But in fact we had a lovely stay, for three nights. We had two rooms next to each other in the old palace section. Best parts : cobbled hall and sweeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JosieR65
PalacioDaLousa, General Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you so much for the time you took commenting your recent stay in Palácio da Lousã. These (detailed) comments are extremely important for us to keep improving our service or just to be aware of new issues and be able to correct it. Having made - and still doing it - our best efforts to correct the...

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lousa
14.5 km away
HD - Duecitania Design Hotel
18.7 km away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
19.9 km away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Pousada de Condeixa-Coimbra
Pousada de Condeixa-Coimbra
#1 of 1 in Condeixa-a-Nova
183 reviews
19.3 km away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
898 reviews
26.6 km away
Villa Pampilhosa Hotel
Villa Pampilhosa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pampilhosa da Serra
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel

Address: Rua Viscondessa do Espinhal | Lousã, Lousa 3200-257, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Lousa
Price Range: $74 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Prestigia so you can book your Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palacio Da Lousa Boutique Hotel Lousa
Melia Hotel Coimbra
Sol Melia Coimbra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The old part is lovely”
 of 5 bubbles PatKal, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the old part are nicer”
 of 5 bubbles David177, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The new rooms offer more light where the old rooms rather offer the cozy palace atmosphere”
 of 5 bubbles gv46, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Old Palace side and loved the room's elegance. I really enjoyed being able to open the window for fresh air.”
 of 5 bubbles lynskiCalgary, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“Doesn't matter because the common rooms are amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles Bolt56, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay