We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avalon Lodge

Booking.comUS$68*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Avalon Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avalon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Kent
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Lovely little lodge type accommodation, upstairs occupants a little noisy but not unbearable. On the negative side for ground floor rooms there was no balcony or outside area near to the hotel to sit out in during the early evening and we did find the previous occupant's take out meal in the fridge! But on the plus side it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashford2
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Nice lodge. Nice staff. Good breakfast. 15 minute walk to the casinos. Five minute walk to Lake Tahoe. We walked to the Lake and back. Might be too dark at night to walk. They have a small area in the lobby to go shopping. Dog friendly!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jello d
CleHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, we are small and like a B&B... and I am so glad we had the opportunity to host you! We look forward to your return.

Watsonville, California
Reviewed 29 September 2015

My wife and I went to Lake Tahoe to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and we booked this hotel through a Travelzoo internet deal. We were very pleased with the hotel and the friendliness of the Staff. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The hotel has bicycles available for it's Guests to take a ride through the town. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorgencio
Oroville, California
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Room was clean bed was comfortable. Flat pillows but lots of them. Very dark room, light bulbs burned out only one bedside lamp. Don't plan on reading, wifi wouldn't allow Netflix just stopped a lot. used my phone flashlight to read because my husband was reading also. only one bathrobe for spa...two of us. They gave us another next day...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank juleespohn
CleHospitality, Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear juleespohn, We would like to start off by thanking you for choosing our location out of many for your travel destination. We take pride and providing a positive and great experience when visiting us here in Tahoe. I’m sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your or our expectations. Our staff is friendly and extremely responsive and...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We stayed at Avalon Lodge for 2 nights this summer. It was very quiet, and the staff were super friendly. They were there for whatever we needed, and more (lending books to read, and cutlery/plates for takeaways etc.) One of the staff (John Eldridge) introduced us to disc golf (which we don't really have in the UK) and even cycled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Corinne B
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you, Corinne B for sharing your experience. We appreciate the comments and I agree – The staff is awesome. We hope to welcome you back again soon and don’t forget – we offer a 5% discount for booking direct on ANY returning Guest Stay! Just ask at check-in.

Chico, CA
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This is a cute spot and we've been pleased with our stays. Its definitely an older hotel, but we've stayed here a few times and had good luck with the staff and rooms. Staff have always been friendly and helpful and the rooms have been nicely updated, well-maintained and clean. They offer some nice touches as well - fireplaces in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angm11
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do love pets and believe they are part of the family. I also know how great our team is – so thank you for shouting them out! It was a conscious choice to re-furb an older property – it is one of our core values and a “Green” tactic…...

Reviewed 15 September 2015

Don't stay in the end room on the ground (1st) floor, number 19 - the noise from above gave us 3 nights of interrupted sleep. Thin, wooden floors mean we heard every bang, footstep and even voices from the room above. We asked for help and the sympathetic hotel clerk promised to either move those above or move us to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom P
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed for 2 nights because we purchased a deal on Travel Zoo. For the most part we were happy with our stay HOWEVER, after the first night there we came back to a room that was never cleaned. Word was that cleaning staff was ill. In my opinion the owner or WHOMEVER needs to be called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie A
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and taking the time to highlight our prime location, complimentary bikes and other great amenities. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your recommendation to others. I am not sure why there was no stayover service your first night with us, but this is certainly unacceptable. You are right – the owner does...

Winnemucca, Nevada
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We had reservations at the Avalon lodge for two nights. Upon arrival we pulled in after being in the car for hours, and were looking forward to freshening up and dinner. We walked into the lobby where there was no one at the front desk. The sign said to ring the bell for service, which I did three different times,...

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank Brooke S
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Yes, we are busy and can fill up fast. We were already full when you booked, for days in advance. We did not give away your room. I am so sorry you got stuck, but this was entirely an EXPEDIA Issue. Darn third parties! I have to refer you back to them for any info. For the future, I can...

Folsom, California
Reviewed 30 July 2015

We read all the reviews, we discounted the lower ratings - but being a 4/5 rating on TripAdvisor must count - right? Unfortunately, Avalon Lodge fell short with us as well. The rooms are 'ok' - the bed is on the hard side, just a simple pillow-top could do wonders for the beds to be honest. The bathroom was recently...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Todd C
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Todd, Thank you for your feedback. As most of the items you mention are things we are proud of, we may not have been the best choice for you. Staying in Tahoe in peak periods, such as you did, we understand when you have to scramble for a room not suited to you. The breakfast is “Light and healthy”...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 km away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#28 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
205 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Becket
Hotel Becket
#29 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
45 reviews
2.2 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,083 reviews
0.1 km away
Alpenrose Inn
Alpenrose Inn
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
486 reviews
0.2 km away
Heavenly Inn Lake Tahoe
Heavenly Inn Lake Tahoe
#23 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Spa. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes are free for guest and on first come first serve bases. Please noted, Pets not allowed (service animals welcome). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6919
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $86 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avalon Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
over a year ago
over a year ago
Arundel, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Avalon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quiet place, spacious, comfy rooms.”
753melb, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here”
RonnSF, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT BOOK THIS MOTEL. There are many other places in the area, for a better price, and better conditions.”
267fatosm, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Find a different hotel.”
646jackiea, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“if possible, stay away from Fri - Sunday. Tahoe in general is a zoo.”
twogordons, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$68* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$68
PricelineUS$68
Hotwire.comUS$68
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates