We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Noir

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Noir
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

988 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Noir
See the most recent reviews
Showing 976: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for our anniversary in a cosy little room which was exactly what we wanted. And within walking distance of the city centre. The breakfast was delicious. The hotel staff were polite and friendly. I accidentally left some clothing at the hotel and the staff were kind enough to send it back to me. Would definitely stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabby G
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Gabby, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which...

The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable. The full English breakfast was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had arrived too early but they made sure the room was available asap. Unfortunately, we were not very impressed with the bathroom; compared to the room itself, it was very basic. There was no place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdiVe
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear EdiVe, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry to hear you weren't impressed with your bathroom. We do have an ongoing refurbishment program for the bathrooms in the rooms which is now mostly completed. If you are returning, please call ahead so I can make sure to allocate...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An error was caused through booking . com resulting in the wrong day being booked. The hotel flat refuse to understand or transfer to a new date so charged me twice and I got a very pokey room. Just a poor experience I will never repeat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neill H
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Neill H, You booked a non-refundable & non-transferable booking for a date in January. You then arrived on 27th December, and unfortunately, as you had booked the wrong date, you had no booking so had to pay again. You told me that it was Booking.com's fault that the wrong date had been booked, so I told you that you...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

2nd visit for myself and partner and we will definitely go back again. Staff are very friendly and willing to help. As a friend of the hotel, we upgraded to the four poster bedroom with complimentary mini bar and it was a lovely touch to our weekend. The rooms are spotless and facilities excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathrynolivant
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Kathryn, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can continue to welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - it's good to hear you are making use of our free Friends Of Noir scheme. Kind regards Hotel Noir

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just too far away from the centre for my liking. a good 25 min walk from the Railways station. The rooms are functional without being flash. An average hotel in a disappointing location. I personally think there are nicer Hotels nearer the action!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil T
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Neil, Thank you for your feedback. We are almost exactly a mile from York railway station, around 15-20 minutes walk for the average person. Personally, I would recommend getting a taxi here if you are coming by train, especially if you have a lot of bags - there is a taxi rank outside the station and a taxi here...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stay here overnight and upgraded our room for £17.50... Complimentary drinks and a four poster bed with bath. Bed is huge! Friendly staff. Met residents who stay here every year so it's definitely somewhere I would come back to. Used uber and it was £5 at peak time. Probably cheaper in the day, would walk if it was wasn't December....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Jamie, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed on a Wednesday night - we went shopping in the afternoon and into York for food / drinks in the evening. Can't fault it, except we didn't have a remote control for the TV In the room. Like that matters!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S6480UUjohn
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear S6480UUjohn, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I used to live in Clifton Green and I have to admit I was not aware of the Hotel Noir. We won a 3 course meal for 4 people at the York against Cancer charity ball and went there with some friends on the 10th December. I only wish we had known about this place sooner! The bar and restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Matt, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us! I hope we can welcome you back for another meal or even a stay with us in future. Kind regards Hotel Noir

Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location,great decor,great sized rooms,service great,receptionist great helpful informative, parking a little tight but can use side road if full when you arrive!! We had dinner the restaurant wasn't busy we the only customers the food arrived after a lengthy wait looked good but gammon steak was over cooked and under cooked hand made chips but maybe Just a off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winedrinker280879
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Winedrinker280879, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry to hear that the wait for your meal was too long for you. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on...

cambridge
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here as a family with older children, the family room was a good size with two single beds and a double so ideal for us The Tassimo and complementary drinks in the fridge were a nice touch. The safe and ironing board a deffinat plus. The staff were lovely and the price of the drinks were very competitive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mumwith4
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear mumwith4, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I have taken on board the things you weren't happy with, and have passed your feedback onto the relevant departments to see if any improvements can be made. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are...

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Classic Room (22)
Viewed
Compact Room (23)
Viewed
Family Room (27)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.0 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
931 reviews
1.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
2.0 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.8 km away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#36 of 46 in York
1,741 reviews
1.2 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Price Range: $77 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Noir staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Noir staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 304 had a 4 poster bed with a large corner bath. Situated at rear, we had an excellent sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles rob_bailey, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't change anything ”
 of 5 bubbles alandB668DC, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the front have traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 105jayneg, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“they have ground floor rooms off the carpark.”
 of 5 bubbles mumwith4, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Join the Friends club - it's free! - and you will be upgraded if a better room is available when you arrive.”
 of 5 bubbles megalong, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay