We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good18%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(55 reviews)
“small stream”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for The Fairfax Arms
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
272
67
23
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
272
67
23
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgarlic mushroomssmall streambeautiful villagenorth yorkshireevening mealjacuzzi bathlambbooked a tableyorkshire breakfastsunday lunchcomfortable bedswell worth a visitfantastic staytwo nightsbe visiting againlovely meal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

What do you look for when you go to stay somewhere? If it is a good nights sleep, plenty of hot water, friendly staff,excellent beverage tray and a marvellous breakfast, this is the place to stay. Also there was TV and all mod cons ....More

Thank Englandsixpence
Response from EdFandRobF, Owner at The Fairfax ArmsResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for your review. Our beds are handmade at beaver beds in Whitby ensuring that you get the best possible night sleep. We look forward to sing you again.

Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

My partner and myself went to the Fairfax for an evening meal and we've got nothing more to say then just WOW! What a Fantastic job they have made on the new restaurant. Overall the food was delicious along with some great service from all...More

Thank Mjones3326
Response from EdFandRobF, Owner at The Fairfax ArmsResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for your review and your kind compliments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 15 February 2018

Have known this pub for many years , so v. disappointed with our experience today . We seemed to be the first customers , yet still had to wait almost 25 mins for our wholemeal sandwiches to arrive . Even then , what arrived were...More

Thank Hollylodgers
Response from EdFandRobF, Owner at The Fairfax ArmsResponded 8 May 2018

Sorry to hear about this, please ring and speak to Anne Marie or Christian as we would like to rectify this.

Reviewed 14 February 2018

Awful staff ! Bad attitude and poor food My burger bun was like a rock A cold room - I had to wear my coat throughout the meal Burger was over cooked = lacking flavour Overall I would never go again - waste of my...More

2  Thank Zackmdm
Response from EdFandRobF, Owner at The Fairfax ArmsResponded 9 May 2018

Not even worth responding too, this is your only review and it has clearly being done out of nastiness, just don't come again and we will all be happy.

Reviewed 14 February 2018

Visited this pub and was woefully disappointed with the a attitude of a particular member of staff. We had completed our meal and were heading out the door until our friends farther offered to buy us a drink after our meal. With is being perfectly...More

Thank billyj0nes
Response from Fairfax_Arms_Gilling, General Manager at The Fairfax ArmsResponded 16 February 2018

Dear billyj0nes, I am very sorry to hear that you were "woefully disappointed" with my attitude when dining with us on Tuesday evening. However, in accordance with UK law, The Fairfax Arms does not permit underage drinking. When neither you nor any member of your...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$164 - US$214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$164 - US$214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Steve N
13 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from YeePei | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I have never stayed.
0
Votes
Peter G
3 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from suzyk423 | Reviewed this property |
About 20 miles and 50 minutes Ideal combo of town and country
0
Votes
Room Tips
"We are told that room three has a bath"
Read review
"None the rooms are cold take a hot water bottle"
Read review
"Courtyard rooms"
Read review
"we had a family room - Superking bed, bathroom plus a twin bedroom (and dog friendly) but spotlessly clean..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing