We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Felin Fach Griffin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Felin Fach
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Felin Fach Griffin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 401: English reviews
Nafplio, Greece
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed with a group of friends, havig a light lunch, evening meal and breakfast. Truly excellent service from staff always ready to be helpful. The food was outstanding, and the atmosphere warm and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A pleasant welcome, ave. bitter, pork starter was all over cooked bread battered and could find the pork. Pate bitter and appeared canned. Fish over cooked, pats toes undercooked. Price too high. Passed on desert and coffee for damage limitation! Just not good enought for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patnev
Powys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely ambience, very friendly and attentive staff. However the menu was disappointing. 6 choices of starter, main and pudding....very unusual for me that I didn't like any of the choices, so ended up just having a main. The Pork for starter was really a let down, husband didn't eat. My son had the venison and said it was amazing....overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 392junea
eatdrinksleep, Owner at The Felin Fach Griffin, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts and sorry that we didn't hit the mark for you at every level. I've had a look at the menu for last Saturday and there was our usual choice of seven starters and seven main courses, which we think is about the right structure for a menu which both focuses on the quality of its...

Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well we have heard a lot about the Griffin. Four elderly customers out to celebrate a birthday unfortunately did not. It all came down to service in the end, and sadly the staff did not really come up to scratch. The Griffin is not cheap and the menu, to the older eye, possibly confusing. So it was and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jasper T
eatdrinksleep, Owner at The Felin Fach Griffin, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts and sorry you didn't enjoy your evening with us. We're aware that the industry can sometimes let things slip on a Sunday evening, so we took a decision some time ago to ensure we always have a fresh team to take over after Sunday lunch (unless exceptional circumstances take over). This has meant we should...

Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sunday roast for four - three courses about £27 Food was excellent in every aspect. Service also was excellent with friendly and helpful staff. Very nice environment and cannot recommend highly enough. Looking forward to my next opportunity to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnMead
Birmingham, UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked in advance and arrived promptly, we were shown to a corner table in an empty room. The room stayed empty apart from us throughout our meal. Rather than a view of the 'roaring fire' we had an excellent view of the swing door into the kitchen and the staff coming to and fro with the food for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tyke
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have had the pleasure of a nights stay at The Felin Fach Griffen, the staff were excellent, the accommodation was lovely, the food was amazing, the wine list was superb, the log fire roared and it was even really good value for money, what more can I say, we will definitely be back for more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly a really nice atmosphere, walking in and seeing a roaring open fire is a welcome sight in any country pub! The staff were helpful and knowledgable, particularly when it came to asking for wine suggestions. Whilst the crab starter was great, the rib eye steak was quite possibly the best, most well cooked and delicious I've ever had and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua_S_1988
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When so many country pubs are struggling, the busy car park here tells you that it is a 'destination'. Rightly so, it is an atmospheric old place, with a central log fire (we visited in October), with a well though out and modern-ish menu backed up with a good selection of beers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robert c
Burton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stopped at this establishment for one night and wished it could have been for longer. The room was clean and quiet, the staff were friendly, efficient and hospitable and the food and drink were very good. The surroundings and ambience was really old and quirky. We had a colleague with us from the USA and he really enjoyed it,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felin Fach
6.7 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
788 reviews
7.4 km away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
541 reviews
19.4 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
432 reviews
9.4 km away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
169 reviews
20.3 km away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Felin Fach Griffin Restaurant
The Felin Fach Griffin Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British, Pub, Welsh
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Felin Fach Griffin

Address: Felin Fach, Felin Fach LD3 0UB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Felin Fach
Hotel Class:4 star — The Felin Fach Griffin 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Felin Fach
Felin Fach Griffin Brecon
Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Brecon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Felin Fach Griffin staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Felin Fach Griffin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms our group used were good”
 of 5 bubbles brucec548, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a decent table”
 of 5 bubbles Tyke, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It's a pub, and we didn't stay.”
 of 5 bubbles robertc473, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Hotel is dog friendly...”
 of 5 bubbles 15clairee, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The main road does run by the front of the hotel, so rooms on the back will be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 727MikeP, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5