We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banff Gate Mountain Resort

Save
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (34)
Pool & Beach (4)
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good42%
  • Average16%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“the main lodge”(10 reviews)
“games room”(12 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Fitness centre
Kitchenette
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Banff Gate Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
32
59
25
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
32
59
25
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgegames roomupstairs bathroomindoor poolmurphy bedthese cabinsrustic settingnice chaletwest facingjacuzzi tubshort drivegravel roadlake louisemaster suiteshuffleboard tabletennis courtsmule deer
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The grounds are pretty and you are south of Canmore off Dead Man's Flats exit. The cabins are in much need of an update from the early 70's. Moderately rustic would be the description. Tiles in the bath broken, sloping floors, maintenance needed throughout.My bed...More

1  Thank Kim S
Response from Banff Gate M, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Gate Mountain ResortResponded 18 September 2016

Hi Kim O, Thank you for your review. We apologize that you weren't able to fit two per bed as advertised. Both the pull out couch and the murphy bed have double mattresses. The swimming pool and games room are a guest favourite - especially...More

Reviewed 23 August 2016

We have been coming here for 23 years. It is a timeshare resort that, unfortunately, fell on hard times due to an unscrupulous manager who pocketed the maintenance fees in favour of the upkeep of the resort. The flood that hit the area a couple...More

1  Thank asianfoodaddict
Response from Banff Gate M, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Gate Mountain ResortResponded 18 September 2016

Hi asianfoodaddict, We love that you've been coming to Banff Gate for so long! Thank you for choosing us! We appreciate your understanding and recognition that we are trying our best to make this resort as fantastic as it can be - it is a...More

Reviewed 10 August 2016

Since the first time dealing with these guys there was nothing but problems! Their staff told us our chalet was booked and then last minute we find out it’s not after I had a lengthy conversation with the staff and he assured me everything was...More

4  Thank bethanywatts33
Response from Banff Gate M, Front Office Manager at Banff Gate Mountain ResortResponded 18 September 2016

Hi Bethanywatts33, Thank you for your review. Our staff is very well trained and are very courteous with many positive reviews from guests. We apologize that you feel as though you were treated poorly during your stay.

Reviewed 14 July 2016

For our family trip to the Canadian Rockies we stayed there for a week. The location is pretty good - just over a hour drive from Calgary airport, 45 minutes from Costco, which is a must for a cabin stay unless you plan to eat...More

4  Thank PickyBizTraveler
Response from Banff Gate M, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Gate Mountain ResortResponded 18 September 2016

Hi PickyBizTraveler, Thank you for your detailed review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the mountains. It's true, we are not the Fairmont or the JW Marriott; but for what we lack in modern furniture, hi-speed internet and...More

Reviewed 12 June 2016

We loved our first time at Banff Gate Mountain Resort!! If you are looking for a 5 star hotel or modern up to date amenities, look somewhere else. This is a quaint, rustic area with spectacular backdrop to it. Located minutes from Canmore, this peaceful...More

6  Thank crash2224
Response from Banff Gate M, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Gate Mountain ResortResponded 18 September 2016

Hi Crash2224, Thank you for your review! It sounds like you and your family really enjoyed yourselves and made good use of all that we have to offer! The swimming pool is definitely a kid favourite! We look forward to having you come visit us...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Self-Serve Laundry
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Hot Tub
Tennis Court
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$156 - US$393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$156 - US$393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (34)
Pool & Beach (4)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
morisajaffray4998
19 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Banff Gate M | Property representative |
Sorry - unfortunately, we do not allow pets of any kind at the resort.
0
Votes
Joy B
14 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Robert P | Reviewed this property |
From the rental car area exit the airport towards AB-2 (Follow the signs). Get on AB-2 North for a short distance then transition to AB-201 West for about 21km to AB-1 West/Trans Canada Hwy. Stay on that for approximately... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Need 4WD in winter & early spring"
Read review
"All rooms appear to have an awesome view both from inside and on the nice decking outside. Every unit has a..."
Read review
"Hide-a-beds are being replaced while were there. I think that will make it better."
Read review
"Consider Murphy bed equipped cabins. As for beds, all were comfortable. We read a Trip Advisor review that..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing