We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Queens Head Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Askham
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Queens Head Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Queens Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
staffordshire
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Called in for lunch, sat in the bar area where it was nice and warm with an open log fire, which was very nice, however there is an overwhelming smell of wet dogs in the place, not very pleasant when you're eating. I appreciate that country pubs allow dogs but please spray the area with a neutraliser or something to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank burslembabe
John N, Owner at The Queens Head Inn, responded to this review

Well you can please some of the people some of the time.... We are a very dog friendly pub to well behaved dog's that are kept on a lead, but the pub most certainly does not smell of wet dog, as for the price I think you will find this is one of the cheaper places in The Lake District....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2015

The people who run The Queens Head Inn are just lovely and we were made to feel very welcome. We had a drink in the bar in the evening and the locals made us feel very welcome indeed, which was nice. Our room was quite small, unfortunately. The owners had no knowledge of our request for a room big enough...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rebecca M
John N, Owner at The Queens Head Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca thanks for the review, it was nice having you guys stay with us, it was just unfortunate that we did not know that you were bringing a dog otherwise we would have ensured you had a larger room (it is a 16th century inn so the rooms arent huge) As for the kitchen being closed, we think you...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2015

I visited this pub over the New Years period while staying in Brampton. Really excellent welcome by the owners, nothing too much trouble, two bonkers dogs to laugh at, excellent beer, Sky sports, coal fires, great food, friendly locals. What more can you ask for. Will be visiting again when in the area. No negatives. Sean Fennelly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fenners68
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2014

I stayed there for the purpose of taking part of the ultra marathon around Helvellyn. The hotel was very understanding for the odd time of leaving and coming back and the atmosphere was very welcoming. Good food too. I will go back again very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank runhisayorun
Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2014

This friendly family run business has become a favourite with my family. We have stayed there several times over the past couple of years when travelling from Scotland to the south of England. Eileen & John have always given us a very warm welcome and made us feel at home from the minute we arrive. The rooms are well maintained,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ObanBP
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2014

As a group of fairly serious hill-walkers on a 41st consecutive annual visit to the Lakes we have visited Askham on several occasions. The welcome and service from the whole extended family team at The Queen's Head last month was first class and much appreciated by the guys. The barside fire and beer were, as always, a welcoming sight after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandj C
Fife
Reviewed 12 November 2014

This B&B was a room above a pub, a few rooms available and all of reasonable standard. Clean enough and comfy enough. The bedroom had a really annoying fire light though which meant there was a glow through the room whilst you tried to sleep. The towels were very thin but the shower was warm enough and powerful enough. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillso
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2014

Askham is a charming village, a few miles from Ullswater yet seemingly remote from the tourist Lake District. Two lovely pubs as well. We could not have had a more enjoyable weekend than the one we have just spent in The Queens Head, friendly and welcoming - nothing too much trouble. Excellent food and drink. Not my last visit for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
Reviewed 2 September 2014

A lovely pub in a seemingly remote village, fantastic value for money and breakfast was included! We were asked what time we wanted it rather than told it was between certain times which was great. We had an evening meal on arrival aswell, this was certainly above average but the roast potatoes seemed like they were left over from lunch,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kfielo
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stopped for lunch after a morning's fell walking. Charming village, great pub, prompt and friendly service. Excellent lunch and beer, eaten outside in the sunshine - on a Bank Holiday too! Will definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trilobitebean

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askham
6.0 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Penrith
900 reviews
6.5 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 15 in Penrith
776 reviews
10.2 km away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel
19.8 km away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 15 in Penrith
595 reviews
0.3 km away
Punchbowl Inn
Punchbowl Inn
#2 of 3 in Askham
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Queens Head Inn

Address: Lower Green, Askham, Penrith CA10 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith > Askham
Price Range: $144 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Queens Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family suite had separate double bed room and bunk beds, great if we come back with the grandkids”
 of 5 bubbles franmoranblackpool, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We only got to eat as we live locally”
 of 5 bubbles LowHall1540, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't even consider booking a room here”
 of 5 bubbles 1TanyaG, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“difficult to help”
 of 5 bubbles 259thereseq, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Avoid 'Tan' room if you have a large dog and want a comfortable night's sleep!”
 of 5 bubbles RebeccaM14, 4 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5