We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 129: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Got a fantastic price on a jacuzzi room. It was beside the elevator so a fairly busy area and noisy, but the staff made that known before we took the room so it wasn't a surprise. We thoroughly enjoyed the tub and King bed. Breakfast was decent and the coffee was good. We were lucky to get just what we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I am so very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, in our Jacuzzi room. We hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards, Meg Brooke Room Division Manager rdm@expresswhitby.com

Deep River, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Great hotel extremely clean. Came in on the Friday to check in and had my children with me when I called an reserved we had requested a adjoining room. After driving five hours and getting to the hotel it was made aware to me there was a mix up in regards to the reservation and the adjoining room would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JillandJames B
Aprile M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Dear Jill and James, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Amr El Guindy General Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 April 2016

I check into Holiday Inn Express. I am given room 101 –it is first room to the right of the reception, across room is the ice -machine, clunking away and the window of room opens to the drive-in/drop off of the hotel. I am quite horrified that such a room even exist in a hotel. I go back out and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devan N
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Good morning Devan, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. We do have many guests that are surprised that quiet little, Whitby Ontario can sell out. However, with all the companies in the immediate area, we do in fact sell out most nights, whether weekday or weekend. That being said, I am sorry you...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 18 April 2016

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a wedding, The staff was friendly, the breakfast is the standard breakfast for a holiday inn express (is always good) The Internet worked well, overall a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 88Love_to_travel88
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Good morning 88Love_to_travel88, Thank you very much for your review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to welcome you back again soon. Happy Travels! Meg Brooke Room Division Manager rdm@expresswhitby.com

Mendon, New York
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We visited Toronto last year at the same time of year, and stayed at the Best Western, which is a terrible experience. This time we stayed at the Holiday Inn, and it was like night and day. This hotel was quiet, no door slamming, noisy hallways or other sleep-disrupting features. The room was spacious and comfortable, and all questions answered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twosleepy
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Hi twosleepy, Thank you so very much for leaving us your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly with us! Hope to welcome you back again soon. Meg Brooke Room Division Manager rdm@expresswhitby.com

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night while in town for a basketball tournament. Just a basic, clean hotel. The staff were decent. There is no indoor pool and the fitness area is tiny. There is only a treadmill, an elliptical and a recumbent bike. The pictures showed Dumbbells but they are no longer there. The breakfast was good enough. Nothing fancy but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bc805
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the maintenance issue you had in your room was promptly taken care of. I am sorry you missed out on the barbells in our Fitness area. We had one go...

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 28 February 2016

This hotel is everything one expects of a hotel--friendly staff, clean rooms and good location. I wish there was a thermostat in the room where you could set the temperature and once again the pillow issue (like most hotels). The firm pillows are still like a marshmallow. I wish hotels would learn that some people like a very very firm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyWanderer9
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Hello HappyWanderer9, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I also appreciate your feedback regarding the pillows. It is with suggestions from guests like you that help bring these items to the forefront. I will ensure your feedback is shared with...

Beit She'an, Israel
Reviewed 21 February 2016

With my rental car sitting in the free car park outside, I went inside. I was given a room on the 2nd floor. The room was spotlessly clean with 2 good size double beds, an armchair, a 32” LCD TV (with Satellite channels), desk, Kettle with tea and coffee….and a bathroom with good sized shower unit, toilet and sink. Towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BJREisman
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Hello BJREisman, Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! However, sorry to hear you weren't a fan of the coffee in the breakfast area, and also that you had a noisy fridge. If you have a moment would you mind emailing me and letting me know the room number...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 18 February 2016

This is what you would expect from a holiday inn express. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and in good order. the décor is a little dated but they have new TV's which is all that matters to me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richy_Bobby
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Dear Richy_Bobby, Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. It is our pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. I appreciate your positive remarks about the wonderful staff, clean and neat rooms as well as the new television. I have shared your comments with the hotel management for consideration of updating the decors and I...

Winnipeg
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The majority of our team stayed here this weekend; we were disappointed to find out the pool was seasonal. We were confused by the lack of thermostat in the hotel room; we kept sliding the heat/cool button through the night but could not find a good location that equaled a comfortable sleeping temperature. The blanket was torn and the pillows...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Everett R
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Everett, First and foremost thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. Guest feedback is extremely valuable to us. I am very sorry to hear your stay with us was not up to par. Regarding Government rates, as with any hotel we do have a Government rate, however those using this must provide Government ID,...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
Residence Inn Whitby
#1 of 7 in Whitby
233 reviews
Quality Suites
#3 of 7 in Whitby
138 reviews
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to an Award-Winning Whitby Hotel near Toronto You're invited to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Whitby Hotel. We're the closest IHG brand hotel to the General Motors plant in Oshawa, and our location offers easy access to Hwy 401 and area attractions. Are you a leisure traveler looking for hotels near Toronto? Our Whitby hotel's location is near many attractions, including the Class Act Dinner Theatre, Iroquois Park and Lynde Shores Conservation Area. Visit the nearby Whitby History Museum & Children's Centre to explore artifacts and exhibitions, or explore the R. S. McLaughlin Estate, which is just 12 km away.If you're a savvy business traveler, our Whitby hotel near Toronto is the place for you. Not only are we the closest IHG hotel to General Motors headquarters and plant, but we're also close to BMW Canada and only 10 km from the Oshawa airport. As one of the best Whitby hotels, we offer our guests a 100% smoke-free hotel with excellent amenities like free high-speed Internet access and we're the only hotel in the region with suites with a Jacuzzi. You'll enjoy the added value of a complimentary hot breakfast buffet to start your day. You can relieve stress with a workout in the well-equipped Fitness Centre. Few Whitby hotels can match our rooms with large flat screen TVs, a microwave and a fridge. For the finest in hospitality, let our outstanding staff make your next stay memorable by choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa

Address: 180 Consumers Dr, Whitby, Ontario L1N 9S3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Whitby
Price Range: $131 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa Hotel Whitby
Holiday Inn Whitby
Whitby Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe the rooms on the back of the building would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles beachy026, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 132MichelleC132, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the 'back' are super quiet - no highway noise at all.”
 of 5 bubbles ChapelHill10, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“It is is a commercial area so any room would do.”
 of 5 bubbles Jocelyn25, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check lamps in room 224 upon check in.”
 of 5 bubbles tonin185, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay