We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area

Save
Share
10 Benjamin Rd, Waterloo, Ontario N2V 2J9 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/02/23
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/02/23
Booking.com
TravelocityUS$117
Orbitz.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (9)

About

#7 of 10 hotels in Waterloo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Brand New Staybridge Suites Waterloo/St. Jacobs; an all-suite, IHG Hotel. As the newest hotel in the Waterloo Region we are proud to offer full suites with kitchens, spacious bedrooms & work desks with free high-speed WIFI. Feel right at home & enjoy our complimentary hot buffet breakfast served daily with a variety of eggs, bacon, build-your-own waffles, fresh local fruit & much more. Join us for our Social Gatherings every week where we provide our guests with a complimentary light dinner while they mix & mingle with other guests & the staff at the Hotel. Unwind after a long day at our top of the line 24 hour open fitness facility or indoor heated pool with kids play area open every day from 6AM-10PM. In the heart of the St. Jacobs Market District, the Staybridge Suites is steps away from the St. Jacobs Outlet Mall & Canada's Largest Year-Round Farmer's Market. We are conveniently located a short drive from the St.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
29Reviews2Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Deb S wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
You cannot trust this hotel with your credit card information, after a hockey tournament, the kids broke the elevator. We agreed to pay for the service to get it fixed. The hotel refused to show us the bill from Otis to verify what the charge was and then proceeded to charge 2 families cards $4500. This is both criminal and unwarranted. They clearly are trying to benefit from this and over charging the fact that they wont show the service bill is already a red flag then going ahead and over charging our personal credit cards without approval is illegal. Do not stay at this hotel the owner is a scammer. Do not give then your credit card information.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area
Responded 2 days ago
Hello T6120OMdebs, Thank you for choosing IHG Hotels and Resorts as your travel partner! We appreciate you as one of our valued guests. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve B wrote a review Nov 2022
From the Group Sales team, the front desk, the breakfast set up and housekeeping, this hotel is amazing! Perfect location and perfect cozy home feeling. Thank you for your hospitality and making our group of 50 feel like we were at home.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Steve wrote a review Nov 2022
Toronto, Canada1 contribution
Room was very spacious and very modern. Location was right in front of the farmer's market. We were here for our anniversary and loved that the room that they had given us has a view of the farmer's market. They gave us a complimentary champagne to celebrate our anniversary which was a nice gesture.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Farmer's Market view is amazing on a Saturday Morning
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ryan G wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Hotel feels that rooms dont need to be cleaned each day , They have something about 7 day quick clean , soap dish still had water soap from the last people that stayed in the room, sink was dirty from the last people, the shower had hairs on the ledge that u would put your shampoo on . who knows if the floor was even cleaned on the shower floor, When u pay over 200 a night u expect a room that is clean , i asked for the room to be cleaned , all they did was make the bed and grab a bit of the garbage ,, but left anything that wasnt in the garbage on the floor. I think they even use the same garbage bags again , just dump it in to the one in there cleaning cart. some off us had food left in the fridge from the last people that stayed. hotel staff didnt care . The breakfast had pork and beans as the main dish and powdered eggs , over ripe bananas . Seen one guy having to ask at the front desk for toilet paper , how embarresing is that . AS U SEE IN THE REVIEWS POORLY RUN AND MAINTAINED THIS IS THE TRUTH , DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY AND TIME ON THIS PLACE . THE OWNERS MUST BE THE CHEAPEST PEOPLE IN THE WORLD , OR STAY AND FIND OUT
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: not here look else where
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area
Responded 29 Nov 2022
Hi R8428NMryang, Thank you for your stay and patronage of Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area. We strive to provide a quality stay in an environment that makes us unique among all other chains. I read your evaluation of our services and am sorry your stay was not to your expectation. I know this can inconvenience you with this in mind, I forwarded your message to our managers. They evaluated them and created a plan to avoid this from happening again. I sent you a private message so we can discuss your stay further. I invite you to come on your next travel adventure. I know that you won't regret your decision. Cordially, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Boxers34 wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed 1 night and it was the worst hotel experience my family has ever had!!!! When we first checked in and entered the room we were really impressed, the room was very nice, spacious and came with a full kitchen! Which was great given we had just come from the market and were able to store all our fresh fruits/veggies and dairy products for the night. Unfortunately, it went downhill shortly after. Our toilet was not working (it was plugged) we called down to the front desk to have someone come fix the issue. After half hour we had to call back as no one came up. When someone did finally show up he came with no tools but just to look at it. After a couple more calls he came back up with a plunger, which did not fix the issue so he left and said he had to speak with the manager. After another half hour, I headed down to the lobby to speak with a manager to be told there wasn't one on duty. I asked to be moved to another room only to be told they didn't have another room as they were full for the night. They stated the maintenance people were not in until tomorrow so they would fix it in the morning and we were welcome to use the lobby bathroom in the meantime. How is this an acceptable resolution? We suggested they contact an emergency 24/7 plumbing service and were told they could not do that because they needed manager approval. They had been texting the manager all night and he told them to let us know it would be fixed in the morning. This went on until midnight! The next morning we still got the run around when asking for the manager, we went to the Holiday Inn (which is connected to Staybridge - they are owned by the same company Woodlawn Hospitality Group) and low and behold the manager was there, and had been the whole time! She was not helpful and offered no compassion or resolution. By the time we checked out the toilet was still not fixed. We placed a call to the General Manager, Naushad Ismail and left a message which has not been returned. We tried to discuss adequate compensation which has gotten no where. We are completely disappointed with the way this situation was handled, from the staff to the management. They were very unprofessional and unwilling to resolve an issue that could have been resolved easily. We will never stay here or any hotel owned by the Woodlawn Group ever again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area
Responded 23 Aug 2022
Hi Boxers34, We appreciate you for choosing the Staybridge Suites Waterloo-St.Jacobs Area for your leisure stay. Providing an excellent level of hospitality and cleanliness is our topmost priority. I would like to offer our sincere apology for the issues you encountered during your time with us. Your honest review is very important, and I will share this with our appropriate hotel team to take necessary action to prevent any issues from reoccurring in the future. I have sent you a private message to discuss this further. I hope we'll remain to be your dependable choice, as we promise to make your stay more memorable and exciting. Yours in hospitality, Melissa P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We live in Toronto but stayed here for two nights on a little family staycation (we stayed with our two boys - 19 Month old and almost 4 year old). The hotel was very clean and the staff was super friendly and helpful. We had a room with 2 Queens and it was spacious which was perfect and left us plenty of room for our Pack N Play for our youngest without feeling squished. The kitchenette was also great as we used it to prepare food often for our youngest who has a food allergy and can't eat from any restaurants. Our room had a peninsula style table with bar stool chairs which wasn't ideal with a 19 Month old but we made it work. We used the pool and loved that you had to book a slot. We are still trying to maintain some more distance from others and it was great being able to use the pool at a time where nobody else was booked. The kids loved the little splash pad area. Conveniently close walk to the Farmer's Market and other shops. We also took a drive out to the Elora Gorge (about 20 minutes away). We would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mike_W_Travels wrote a review Jun 2022
Mount Laurel, New Jersey7 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed here for 4 nights last week. Had very high hopes for the hotel since it is a relatively new hotel and it offers a suite with a full kitchen including a full-sized refrigerator. Unfortunately, my actual stay there did not match my expectations at all. First issue was that our room was not completely serviced prior to our checking in. There were no bath towels, no dishwasher tabs, no dish soap, no dish scrubber, and there were still dishes in the dishwasher. And, as we found out around midnight a few nights later when we went to use the sofa bed, there were no linens or blankets for it. So I have to question the overall cleanliness of the room with such a rushed pre-arrival servicing. The hotel did a supposedly full pre-arrival-type servicing the next day but there were still items missing from our room. There was no fire sprinkler in the room - just a capped pipe and a sprinkler head-sized hole in the ceiling where the actual sprinker should have been. Then one of the two elevators broke on Friday evening and was not fixed before we checked out on Monday. Made getting to our 6th floor room challenging at times with all guests using a single elevator. Additionally, the floor and walls of the elevator were dirty. We asked the hotel to clean them, which they attempted to do, but the result was still not satisfactory. There were a number of other issues such as the shower drain draining slowly - seemingly something every day - but one other huge issue was that at breakfast one morning (so I have to presume that this happened other days, too, but out of my sight) there were children picking up breakfast items such as English muffins and blueberry muffins with their bare hands and then putting them back into the bins. This was so disgusting that that morning we went out and paid for breakfast rather than eat in the hotel. There were some positives about the stay, too, including that despite the number of kids in the hotel the rooms were quiet. And the full kitchen, when cleaned and properly stocked was useful. We have tried working with the hotel and Staybridge Suites customer service on Twitter on adequate compensation for all of the issues with our stay but have gotten nowhere and feel that we have been treated completely unprofessionally. I have been an IHG member since 1995 and have never been dealt with in this manner before, even when I have had stays worse than this one. Makes me question whether I can trust staying at their hotels in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area
Responded 2 Jul 2022
Hi Mike_W_Travels, Thanks for your review and for staying with us. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience. I am sorry for what happened during your stay. I have shared your comments with the hotel management and sent you a private message to obtain additional details. Again, thanks for staying with us and sharing your concerns. We value your input and would love a chance to make it up to you. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DYFL wrote a review Jun 2022
Toronto, Canada4 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed there with my family a few weeks ago and loved it. The hotel is very clean, rooms are spacious. There is a kitchen and a pull out couch in the room. Also has a great gym and a pool with a kiddie area. It is also right across St. Jacob's market. Perfect for a local getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Naushad Ismail, Owner at Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area
Responded 8 Jun 2022
Dear Valued Guest , Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am glad to hear that our "Cleanliness,, Spacious Room and Amenities, Kitchenet, Fitness Center, Pool and Hotel Location" played an important role to make your stay a comfortable one with us. Our entire staff always strives to go the extra mile to enhance the total guest experience. It is our pleasure to have served you to the best of our abilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Your friend in Hospitality, Holiday Inn Express & Suites– Waterloo/St. Jacobs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
npchan23 wrote a review Mar 2022
10 contributions
+1
We had a fantastic stay at the Staybridge Suites. We had a 2 Queen Suite with a full kitchen (full fridge, stovetop, dishwasher, cutlery, plates), breakfast bar, sitting area with a pull-out sofa, and a bedroom with 2 Queen beds. Both spaces have a TV and separate heaters/coolers, which is a plus if you're sharing the space. My mom likes it warmer, and we like it cooler, so we were all comfortable. The hotel has a great saltwater pool with a splash pad for kids and really cool water elements in the pool. You'll find a huge gym that does not limit your gains. Plus, you get a free hot breakfast every day. For longer stays, you have free self-serve laundry available. The hotel is right across the street from St. Jacobs Market, making it perfect for enjoying all the shopping surrounding the area. You just leave your car at the hotel and walk over. It's also really close to the beautiful St. Jacobs Village, where you can go shopping and find delicious dining options. You are also close to Elora, which is another cute town to visit. The best part of the property is that the location was clean, the staff was friendly, and all COVID protocol was followed. I felt comfortable and safe during our stay, and we can't wait to go back. My husband and I are looking to get away together alone for some shopping, dining, and adventure together. So, we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Make sure you add the pool to your to-do list and if you have little ones, take advantage of the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naushad Ismail, Owner at Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Dear Npchan23, Thank you for taking the time share your recent experience with us at the Staybridge Suites, in Waterloo St Jacobs Area! We love hearing great feedback regarding the fantastic service our team carries out. I am glad to hear that our "Hotel Location, Spacious Room and Amenities, Pool, Fitness Center, Laundry, Friendly Staff Clean Environment and COVID Protocol " played an important role to make your stay a comfortable one with us. Our entire staff always strives to go the extra mile to enhance the total guest experience. It is our pleasure to have served you to the best of our abilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Your friend in Hospitality, Staybridge Suites– Waterloo/St. Jacobs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robjustrob wrote a review Mar 2022
Calgary, Canada1792 contributions312 helpful votes
okay so for not being in a major city this was by far the highest priced hotel night that i have had in the past 5 years. Only downtown toronto, vancouver, and san francisco have cost me more. Once you get past the shock of the price, the hotel itself is very nice and i have zero complaints about the actual amenities or service. It just was a terrible value compared to every other place i have ever stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naushad Ismail, Owner at Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Dear Robjustrob , Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at the Staybridge Suites in Waterloo, St Jacobs Area.! I am glad to hear that your stay was a comfortable one with us. With regards to the rate per night. This vary throughout the province and country and rate are based on several factors. Amenities are included in the rate such as: Free Wifi, Pet-Friendly, Buffet Breakfast, Parking, Electric Vehicle Charging Station, Baggage Storage, Indoor Pool, Use of 24 hrs Laundry, Fitness Center and 24 hrs of Front Desk Availability. It is our pleasure to have served you to the best of our abilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Your friend in Hospitality, Staybridge Suites– Waterloo/St. Jacobs
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$143 - US$204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioRegion of WaterlooWaterloo
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STAYBRIDGE SUITES WATERLOO - ST. JACOBS AREA: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 136 Photos (Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area
Which popular attractions are close to Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area?
Nearby attractions include St. Jacobs Country Playhouse (0.3 km), St. Jacobs Farmers Market (0.2 km), and Market Road Antiques (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Crazy Canuck, Jack's Family Restaurant, and The Fritter Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Woodside National Historic Site (7.9 km).
Is Staybridge Suites Waterloo - St. Jacobs Area accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.