We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Sword Motor Inn

    146 Hastings St, Bancroft, Ontario K0L 1C0, Canada
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    US$112
    US$112
    Traveller (58)
    Room & Suite (15)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Overview
    • Excellent24%
    • Very good33%
    • Average19%
    • Poor13%
    • Terrible11%
    Travellers talk about
    “room was clean” (15 reviews)
    “indoor pool” (5 reviews)
    “small town” (6 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Suites
    Fitness centre
    Kitchenette
    Pets Allowed
    Wheelchair Access
    Business Centre
    2.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$112
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$112
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$112
      View Deal
    View all 18 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (188)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 185 reviews

    Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

    This place certainly isn't worth the price but when you are one of two hotels in the area theni guess you can charge big city prices. It certainly needs a LOT of updating! So dated and the tacky exterior with "Greek" statues and fakes flowers...More

    Thank Donna H
    Response from Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor InnResponded yesterday

    Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. I'm really glad that you liked our swimming pool. We recently renovated it and are happy to hear that our work paid off! We're sorry to see that you were disappointed with the...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    These days we usually stay in places like Holiday Inn Express, but this option was not available in the small town of Bancroft. The Sword Inn was a bit dated and reminded of the budget motels we sometimes used when first touring the US more...More

    Thank Coljac
    Response from Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor InnResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for your feed back on how your stay was.You are right though, this is Bancroft not down town Toronto. We strive to do our best and sometimes we give more than what big establishments can. With full amenaties in all rooms, a great...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    We recently stayed for a night as we were guests at a wedding nearby. We paid $175.00 for a room with 2 queen beds, which we thought was way too expensive for the area and the condition of the hotel. The hotel is very dated...More

    Thank laurWaterloo_Ontario
    Response from Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor InnResponded 4 weeks ago

    Thank you for your feed back. We are sorry to see that we weren't to your standards. We will take all that has been metioned into consideration. We hope you have a wonderful fall.

    Reviewed 23 August 2017

    a.k.a. Sword Inn Bancroft My family just stayed at another motel in Ottawa, where only a quick bite was included in the morning. This place was at least a full thumb higher than the other motel, since they had a proper (filling) breakfast, that offered...More

    Thank NewOlderMom
    Response from Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor InnResponded 31 August 2017

    Thank you for your great feed back! Its nice to see that you noticed all our helpful little notes and that our staff where there for help or cleaning when needed. We like to think of our guest staying here as part of our family...More

    Reviewed 23 August 2017

    Booked this through a 3rd party with cancellation policy. 2 days later I found it on my credit card. A call to the hotel got a snotty attitude..I booked in a promotion and I can't get my money back even if I cancelled bla bla...More

    Thank Wanda G
    Response from Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor InnResponded 31 August 2017

    We’re sorry you were unhappy. Making reservations online sometimes can be confusing and miss understood. Policy are made to help everyone. Sometimes when there are last minute bookings and lots of reading we tend to not read things fully and miss parts of the reservation...More

    Grail Springs Retreat
    297 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Bancroft
     
    Bancroft Inn & Suites
    67 reviews
    #4 of 4 hotels in Bancroft
     
    Silgrey Resort
    8 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Bancroft
     
    Nomi Resort
    160 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Harcourt
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Banquet Room
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Microwave
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Hot Tub
    • Heated pool
    • Indoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$112 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites ,
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Smoking rooms available
    • Number of rooms
    • 48
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sword Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Canada >
    • Ontario >
    • Bancroft
    • Also Known As
    • Best Western Bancroft ,
    • Bancroft Best Western
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (58)
    Room & Suite (15)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (44)
    Bathroom (2)
    Nearby
    Bancroft Inn & Suites
    67 reviews
    2.53 km away
     
    Grail Springs Retreat
    297 reviews
    3.74 km away
     
    Nomi Resort
    160 reviews
    25.98 km away
     
    Silgrey Resort
    8 reviews
    27.03 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Blue Roof Bistro
    108 reviews
    .11 km away
    The Granite
    121 reviews
    .88 km away
    Eagle's Nest Restaurant
    56 reviews
    .32 km away
    For the Halibut Fish and Chips
    79 reviews
    .64 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Eagle's Nest
    56 reviews
    1.02 km away
    The Old Tin Shed
    45 reviews
    .65 km away
    Art Gallery of Bancroft
    13 reviews
    .76 km away
    The Village Playhouse
    11 reviews
    .90 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Bobneed
    6 July 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Sunil P | Property representative |
    We have rooms with 2 queen beds in them as well as rooms with 1 Queen or 1 King and even a handfull of larger suites to choose from it will call depend on when you are looking to book as to what our availability is like... More
    0
    Votes
    Lynda A
    9 April 2015|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from BillieBolan | Reviewed this property |
    Yes.
    0
    Votes
    Lynda A
    9 April 2015|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Sunil P | Property representative |
    Yes we do :)
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Looks like there are old and new sections to the hotel. I read some bad comments about the beds. Mine was..."
    Read review
    "No hot water, careless management"
    Read review
    "rooms in central and back from highway very quiet"
    Read review
    "the room they gave us was perfect"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing