We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel

Show Prices
#5 of 9 Hotels in Truro
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 237: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was with a business party, and had the extreme misfortune to stay at this establishment. This hotel has absolutely no soundproofing, but on top of that, the semi-incompetent and downright rude treatment I got from the staff was over the top. I was in the motel portion in the back, on the first floor, and there was a large... More 

Helpful?
Thank roustie
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roustie: Thank you for letting us know your concerns on your recent stay with us. We are sorry you were inconvenienced but as your contact that booked the rooms for your group was told at the time of booking that the hotel would be extremely noisy as all hotels in Truro were booked for Nova Scotia Music Week. Our... More 

Oromocto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed first 2 days of November. No issues. Room was nice and clean but bathroom small. Excellent breakfast each morning that came with the room. Lots of choices. Staff was friendly. Other dining options nearby, also mall for shopping.

Helpful?
Thank SCR1954
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SCR1954 Thank you for responding to us on your recent visit to our hotel. We are pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction. We have lots to offer in Truro including Victoria Park, 1000 acres of park in the middle of town. We also have great Downtown shopping which I hope you will consider when you visit Truro... More 

Moncton, NB
Level Contributor
320 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my second time staying at the Glengarry for business and I had no complaints. The room was standard and meets what I expect. It was clean and quiet. Staff were helpful. I was disappointed to find out they don't have a gym, but they do have a pool.

Helpful?
Thank Nic7895
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nic7895 Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction. We try to exceed our guests expectations and learn from all reviews. We do have complimentary passes to the NSCC gym across the street from us which I hope you were offered in lieu of... More 

Liverpool, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Staff are happy to see you and welcoming. Keep up the good work. lots of information that include places to eat, entertainment in the area and know what is going on for things to do in town. They were doing work at the time and you wouldn't even know it was going on. Breakfast was great in the morning..

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank stephenmZ3600RM
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StephenmZ3600RM We appreciate all your great comments on your stay recently at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff we able to direct you to all the great activities that Truro has to offer. We are doing renos and I am glad that you weren't inconvenienced by any of it. Hopefully you will... More 

1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Booked this as one of the last options for a couples getaway in Truro. I booked online with visa debit but upon arrival was told I needed a different credit card or pay an extra $100. I had booked for two people but was charged for an extra at checkout. The staff was mostly very rude, with one or two... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lauren M: Thank you for sending us your comments on your recent stay at our property. We apologize that your stay wasn't as you expected. We use all comments as a learning tool to get better. Hopefully you will give us another chance to show you we can do better. Regards, Judy N More 

Travellers are raving about these Truro hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Stayed here on a recent family vacation, we booked two adjoining rooms. Rooms were spotless and staff was friendly. Breakfast was typical, but we all enjoyed it. The kids really enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor pools. If we ever return to the area, we know there will be a great place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank David R
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David R: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel this summer. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed our property and that the children enjoyed both of the pools. The outdoor pool is a hit with kids for sure! Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to your return... More 

Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The rooms were extremely dated and smelled terrible!! After checkin I messaged my husband to let him know how bad the room was and I was not at all comfortable. There were also a couple spiders and cobwebs in the room. After he arrived, it took very little discussion to decide not to even stay for the night and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank KVic
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KVic Thank you for reporting your unfortunate situation at our property this week. We are under construction in that exterior building at this time but that is no excuse for the problems you encountered. We hope that the next time you are in our area you will give us another chance to show you the hospitality you deserve and... More 

Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

The property we wanted to stay at was full, so they referred us to this Best Western. We should have asked to see the room before we checked in. The building out front looks nice. But we were sent to the dump in behind the main building. The smell when we opened the door was disgusting...like urine. The bathroom was... More 

Helpful?
Thank CynthiaB212
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia8212 Thank you for reviewing our property on your recent stay. We apologize for the problems you encountered and with all guests, we want to provide hospitality and assure that all our guests have the comfort they deserve. We failed you in this and hope, if you are in Truro, that you will give us another chance to show... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay at this property. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Kids enjoy the pools. Yes they have two pools !!! Staff was very friendly. The breakfast buffet was ok nothing special. Not sure why it's advertised Free but we were charged $5. The only thing that I didn't like was that at check in the clerk wrote... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monika M
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Monika M Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our property. We're happy that your children enjoyed both of our pools - outside one sure is a hit with the kids! I will be checking into the issues you had and we use all comments as a teaching tool. We hope you will come back... More 

london, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016

This is a very nice hotel that will be even nicer when the renovations are complete. The beds were so comfortable i didn't want to get up. The morning staff is very friendly. The breakfast was very good, I will definetly be staying here again the next time i'm in Nova Scotia

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cathy A
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cathy A: Thank you for taking time to review our property following your visit with us last week. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are doing a lot of renovations just started last week and we are very excited about our new look. Thank you for commenting on our great staff, we are very lucky. We look... More 

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 9 in Truro
260 reviews
3.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#3 of 9 in Truro
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 9 in Truro
254 reviews
3.6 km away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#4 of 9 in Truro
226 reviews
0.9 km away
Rainbow Motel
Rainbow Motel
#6 of 9 in Truro
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 92-room property centrally located in the Hub of Nova Scotia, 40 miles north of the Robert L. Stanfield International Airport. We offer 12,000 sq.ft.of meeting room space - complimentary high speed internet in all guest rooms - King and Queen size beds and 2 room executive suites with private balconies. Indoor/Outdoor Pools. Coffee Shop, Dining Room with daily luncheon buffets/Sherlocks Piano Bar. Close to many major businesses. Friendly helpful staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel

Address: 150 Willow St, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Price Range: $126 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truro Best Western
Best Western Truro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Tempe, Arizona

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had a room with the door that opened to the parking lot..room 106 was great”
 of 5 bubbles spaceylee1, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we were on the 3rd floor, there were LOTS of children around and I am sure they were jumping on the beds above us.”
 of 5 bubbles 813sandyp, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Very big pool at the Hotel !”
 of 5 bubbles carls115, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Separate Building has no elevator but nicer rooms”
 of 5 bubbles busguy121, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Second or third floor overlooking Willow Street are best.”
 of 5 bubbles Bob81944, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay