We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Clansman Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Clansman Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Clansman Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night in a cabin. It was spotless, the beds were comfy. Grounds were immaculate! The food at the restaurant was delicious and the service great. I highly recommend! The cabins have everything you need and are well suited to family travel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaritimeCowgirl
Sandra A, General Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoy your stay with us. We would love to have you again next time you are in this area visiting.

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

We have been coming here for the 4th year now..and they have shown consistent excellent Service. Pet friendly ...clean and quiet.... coffee in room and air conditioning...flat screen T.V...fridge and Microwave... On site Restaurant..... Pool...and laundry... Close to hiway and all Amenities... Good stopover before the Ferry to Newfoundland... Only 5 minutes to Ferry..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bert B
Sandra A, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Bert, Thank you for your great comment. Our staff are eager to help make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible & are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you next time you are in town. Melanie

Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

The hospitality I experienced at this hometown motel was second to none!!! Loved every minute of my stay! The staff ensured my stay was comfortable and the food was delicious! Highly recommend the Clansman"to all travelers. Centrally located and bear to all amenities. Made new friends, and will definitely be back again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vera L
Sandra A, Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Vera, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review, we really do appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time you are in the neighborhood.

Bailieboro, Canada
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We travel back to Cape Breton every year to visit my Mother in Law who lives in Sydney Mines. We have stayed at the Clansman every time over the past ten years and wouldn't consider another facility. Several types of accommodations which are clean and basic. Prices are decent and the food is to die for. Book early as it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dougeight
Melanie L, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we really appreciate your kind words. We look forward to seeing you this August.

Gros Morne National Park, Canada
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Nothing fancy for a older motel. We had room 120 poor layout as the room looks like it used to be 2 double or 2 queens beds now its a single queen, flat wall mount TV which due to the lay out of the room should have been mounted with a swing arm TV mount not a flat wall mount...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greyhoundlover
Sandra A, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Greyhoundlover, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all feedback from our customers. We are currently in the process of updating some of our rooms, and will take a look at the room you stayed in. We are looking forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you back to North Sydney. Thank...

Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed 19 October 2015

This motel seems to appeal to the work crews that come in from highway or power line work. Many different options and they have a laundry. Our room was sufficient and probably not to my wife's liking but I was looking for convenience near the ferry and this worked fine for me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tarheelrider
Sandra A, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Tarheelrider, Thank you for your review. We do take all reviews seriously. We are currently updating some of our rooms. We hope to see you in the future if your travels bring you back to the area. Melanie

Reviewed 30 September 2015

Room had a fridge and microwave a well as wifi and a restaurant. There is also a nice outdoor pool and area around the pool. Unfortunately it was a bit late in season to enjoy the pool. Their location is 5 minutes from the Ferry Terminal as well as in easy walking distance to grocery stores, fast food restaurants, liquor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
Sandra A, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Linda B, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and took the time to write us a lovely review. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 18 September 2015

This is a good hotel to stay in when you come from the ferry. The room was clean and convenient. The lady at the reception took her time to explain the roads to my next destination (she also did it for the gentleman before me). I didn`t eat in the hotel restaurant so I cannot comment on that. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilma W
Sandra A, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Wilma, Thank you for your wonderful review. We try our best to be as accommodating as possible. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to seeing you again, whenever you are in town. Next time make sure to ask the front desk staff for some decaf coffee and they will...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 17 September 2015

My room was very dated. The curtains were coming down on one corner of the window, there was a swag lamp in the corner overlooking an old chair and the bedspread on one of the beds had a cigarette burn hole. However, the room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large and very clean. I think...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William M
Sandra A, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear William, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all customer feedback, and see it as a way of continually improving ourselves. We are currently in the process of updating some of our rooms with new curtains, beds, lamps, etc. We are glad you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant and hope to see you...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Clean air - it was great! Very accommodating front desk staff. Outdoor swimming pool. Quiet area. Quiet big room. Easy to find off highway. Six minutes to Maritime Atlantic ferry. Slow dining room service - no multitasking here. One thing at a time. Three tables and slow service. Bed a bit hard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Directorlc
Sandra A, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Directoric, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to apologize for the slow dinning room service, we are currently training a couple of new waitress. We hope to see you again if you are ever back in the North Sydney area. Thank you. Melanie

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
1.6 km away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
10.9 km away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
63 reviews
10.3 km away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
11.4 km away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
4.9 km away
Kow's Inn
Kow's Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Bras d'Or
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clansman Motel is a family owned and operated business in the heart of North Sydney. We strive to make each guest feel like a part of the family. Our property supplies everything you could need on your vacation including its own restaurant and bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clansman Motel

Address: 9 Baird St | PO Box 216, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 0A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Price Range: $124 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clansman Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Clansman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clansman Hotel North Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Clansman Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Clansman Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We are always at the back, and it's quiet and excellent for our little dog.”
Margaret01052017, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Face the pool, from small single rooms to 2 bedroom cottages. Just a fantastic place to stay!!”
Dougeight, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Cabins looks nice and newer”
Greyhoundlover, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
“There is a second floor with outdoor stairs. There are some larger cabins which accommodate families, etc.”
V2403RSlindab, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the front and not one in the back facing the highway.”
746williamm, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5