We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Adventure Hotel

TravelocityUS$87*
View Deal
#7 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$87*
US$87*
US$87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Adventure Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Adventure Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 188: English reviews
washington state
Reviewed 6 September 2016

tried a new place and it wasn't bad just not preferred. I thought I booked a room with a shower but i guess I didn't. there was a floor shower that was super small. I am 5'1" and barely could turn around. hubby said it wasn't very comfortable. there was a toilet and a small sink in the bedroom (private...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stampmouse
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stampmouse, Thanks for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are happy that you thought the room was clean and comfortable. Just for your information, as you mentioned you would not return, as you would like a full bathroom. The majority of our rooms do contain a full bath, just not the budget room that you...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Good location but "deluxe" room was far from deluxe -- very small, tiny window blocked by a vent, no fridge, plastic cups, Motel 6 type towels, soap and shampoo. Quite noisy. Parking available for only about 1/4 of the rooms. If you can't land one, you need to park on the street and feed the parking meters. Overall, disappointing. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Zevo86
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zevo86, We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As you can see from other reviews, most people are very happy with the new renovations completed, and feel that there is exceptional value. At $144/night Canadian or approx. $109/night US, this is, in our view, an exceptionally low rate at peak season in Nelson,...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown. Baker Street and the lake are in walking distance. It is also very quiet. The reason I gave it 4 stars is cause there is not to much privacy with the bathroom in the room. The door swings back and forth and doesn't not lock. You can hear everything. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronniebach
citybythesea
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We recently stayed here for a few nights as part of an Interior BC family road trip. We found the staff to be friendly, the room to be clean and modern, and the beds were comfy. Location is central and within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. The only challenge was limited parking which forced us to park on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stickmana
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stickmana, Thank you for taking the time to rate and leave a review for us on Trip Advisor. We are incredibly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here. Parking is a continual issue in the downtown core, but the city is working to hopefully improve it moving ahead. We look forward to seeing you again.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The Pros: great location, nice newly renovated rooms with comfortable beds and lake view, roof top patio, nice pub/restaurant/lounge area. The Cons: maybe because it's an old building it was a challenge to sound proof?, but it seems like there is not much insulation from noise. You can clearly hear people just talking in the halls, and every door closing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delta28
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Delta28, Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do appreciate your cons comments, and yes parking is a continual issue in the entire city of Nelson, that will hopefully be addressed in the future. As far as the noise goes, we have...

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the deluxe king room and we're very pleased! The room was clean, newly updated and beautiful view of the water. Located in the heart of Nelson as well which was so convenient for exploring Baker street and the downtown. The roof top patio was great too. All around staff was friendly and helpful. Enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny F, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Taber, Canada
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Small rooms but so cleverly designed .... very functional. Great location ... nice patio ... fabulous coffee shop adjacent. A bit loud ... and ... not sufficient parking BUT ... we'd stay again! Great value for your dollar! Clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen L, Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And yes, parking in the downtown core of Nelson can be an issue, and the city is looking at ways to deal with it as our city continually becomes busier. We are so glad that...

jackson,ms
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel with European vibe. A little on the pricy side. Their wifi was intermittent and off street parking was minimal. Hotel staff very helpful. Location was great, right downtown. Would stay their again.Hubby and I loved Nelson - lots of charm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magnoliagirl
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear magnoliagirl, Glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Adventure Hotel. I'm a little surprised by your "pricy" comment, as our rates are by far the lowest in town. Our budget rooms are $80/night and our best rooms (deluxe) are $144 per night for summer season rates. I think you'd be hard pressed to find a better...

Kelowna
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Our first time in Nelson, we wanted a Hotel in walking distance of the downtown. We found the Adventure hotel on-line and decided it would be perfect. It was. It is and older hotel that has been completely remodelled. The rooms are European style, impeccably clean, modern amenities. Really sort of funky. The dining room and lounge are first rate,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wayne C, Thanks for your review. We will be sure to pass on the kind words to the staff of Louie's Steakhouse. They definitely do an amazing job. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

A welcome surprise in a busy town in the middle of the summer. We were just happy to get the last room, and were very happy with everything. Eclectic decor was used to update this classic old hotel, lots of handcrafted furniture, blended with vintage features and contemporary accessories made us very comfortable, and did I mention clean! This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrSpitfire
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MrSpitfire, Thanks so much for your your review of our Hotel. Glad to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and I will be sure to pass on your cleanliness compliments to our housekeeping staff. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in town.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 km away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
658 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.9 km away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
254 reviews
0.4 km away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
352 reviews
2.2 km away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Expect an avalanche of Change. Euro-Style Rooms with 100% renovations completed. New addition include Guest Lounge, Large Patio, Gym, Sauna. Function and style with airy, bright ambiance and picture perfect views of the Selkirk Mountains and Kootenay Lake, creating a subtle luxury perfect for relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Adventure Hotel

Address: 616 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4G1, Canada (Formerly The New Grand Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Price Range: $133 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Adventure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Adventure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Adventure Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Adventure Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try to get one facing the street as the kitchen exhaust fan is noisy.”
lindamC9922WN, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“bring earplugs”
C2342HFlisam, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you can handle only one flight of stairs ask for a room on the 1st floor (i.e. one floor up)”
PaulB212, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“watch when booking room online not clear as to which rooms have showers. would recommend not the budget room but one of the other choices.”
  • 207
  • view from door.
  • 207 bathroom. handle is from door into it. little more than the width of a door
  • view from room 207
stampmouse, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the street have a nice view.. Some traffic noise in the morning.”
85waynec, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$87* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$87
Booking.comUS$87
Expedia.comUS$87
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates