We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandman Hotel Castlegar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sandman Hotel Castlegar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 120: English reviews
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 28 May 2015

The hotel seems to be doing up grades. It is clean and the room was big. The lobby is is good condition. You could hear noise from the adjacent rooms but not too bad. It's right across the street from Boston Pizza so it's handy for dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sexton5
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Yes we are doing upgrades thank you for noticing. It is always good to hear from our guests, hopefully we will see you again when you are in the Castlegar area.

Reviewed 18 April 2015

I had not stayed here for a longtime ,now I know why.The bottem floor even though non smoking now still stinks like the old smoking rooms they need to repainted and replace old carpet.The rooms next to the pool smell musty and are very noisy but only till ten pm.No restaurant in the hotel anymore.The beds need to be replace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theftive
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We have been doing upgrades to all our rooms and have eliminated the smoking rooms and this is the first I have heard that any of the rooms smell of smoke all rooms will be inspected to ensure they are smoke free. We are...

Richmond, Canada
Reviewed 4 March 2015

While a long way away from the downtown area, there is still certainly enough facilities nearby to make this hotel seem not to be out of the way. The staff was excellent and the room was more than just comfortable. Flat screen tv, microwave, iron/board, hairdryer, and mini-fridge. Excellent washroom. Fitness centre, pool, hot-tub, meeting rooms. No restaurant but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I always like to hear from our guest whether it is good or bad it only helps us get better. Hopefully we will see you again when you are back in the Castlegar area.

Reviewed 3 March 2015

This is our third year staying with this hotel. The staff was very helpful this year dealing with a duplicate reservation that was made by priceline.com. They also have upgraded the TV's and put new carpet in all the hallways. It looks great. The beds are perfect for our needs and the pool and hot tub was great like always....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lewichris
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I always like hearing from our guests and thank you for noticing some of the upgrades we have been doing as always it is a work in progress. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in our area.

Cranbrook, Canada
Reviewed 2 February 2015

We were just at the hotel on the weekend and my two year old was sleeping and I turned on the light to check on her and there was a live bed bug crawling two inches from her. I ended up killing it and called the front desk right away. They did put us in another room but did clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J M
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for advising us of the potential of having a bedbug in your room and allowing us to take care of you. As it turned out as you know what you found in your room was not a bedbug it was what Orkin called a swallow bug. As I explained no matter what if we even suspect that there...

Reviewed 7 January 2015

We block booked rooms for a hockey tournament recently. We told by the tournament that the room rate is $89/nght. when we got there we were told it is now $124/nght. Management at the hotel was not helpful but rude. When I got home I contacted their head office. I had to contact them on 3 different occasions by phone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that when I spoke with you my explanation was not sufficient. When Sandy blocked off rooms for your hockey team on Oct 14th she was aware that we no longer had any standard rooms left available at the hockey tournament rate due to a couple of reasons, 1. the hockey tournament...

British Columbia
Reviewed 4 December 2014

First things first, the staff here really do a good job. That said, having stayed here many times over the years for work, I don't think that Sandman corporate wants to spend ANYTHING on this hotel. There used to be a restaurant there - not any more. The rooms are dated, you're extremely lucky if you get a fridge and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheTiminator
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we do appreciate your comments. Yes it is unfortunate that we no longer have a restaurant within the hotel although we do have a deluxe continental breakfast for a small fee if people do want to partake, there are many restaurants within a very short walking distance available for lunch and dinner. We have been...

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 28 November 2014

We stayed here for a hockey tournament recently and my 10 year old son was bitten terribly by bed bugs. He ended up with over 30 bed bug bites. The room wasn't very clean. It was also really noisy. The wifi didn't work half the time. When I called about it, they were clueless and said they didn't know what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank defmain
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on our hotel, I am sorry to hear you had such a terrible stay. My front desk staff did give me a message that you had called and stated you thought your son had gotten bed bug bites from our hotel they also stated that you did not want me...

Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Had a great stay at the Sandman in Castlegar this last weekend. We were given a pool side room which was fantastic. Our patio door opened right onto the indoor pool and courtyard. My kids loved that. We did not eat at the breakfast, but they do charge $5 per person. The room was clean but a little small. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corinna W
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and kind comments it is always good to hear from our guests whether it is positive or negative this is how we can improve our guest stay and comfort. Greatly appreciate the information for the outlets for the hairdryer we will take this into consideration when we start re-doing the bathrooms. We...

Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 15 October 2014 via mobile

Came for a work trip, early morning flight, the front desk staff accommodated an early check in - called my cell when the room was ready. There is no coffee shop or lounge on site but many places near by. My room was clean, the staff were friendly. The temperature in my room was very hot when I arrived and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen_M604
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is always good to hear from our guests. I am glad we were able to accommodate your early arrival. We are in the process of doing updates but when you have 134 rooms this does take some time to do. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
0.1 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
22.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
0.4 km away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland
22.1 km away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
0.4 km away
Super 8 Castlegar BC
Super 8 Castlegar BC
#1 of 8 in Castlegar
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As Castlegar is nestled in the heart of the West Kootenays, so is the Sandman Hotel nestled in the heart of Castlegar. Minutes from shopping, business, and entertainment, Sandman Hotel Castlegar features modern amenities such as high-speed Internet access, a business centre, indoor pool and whirlpool, and meeting rooms, making this Sandman the perfect choice for your next stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Castlegar

Address: 1944 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 2W7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Price Range: $158 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Hotel Castlegar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sandman Hotel Castlegar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandman Hotel Castlegar staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cache Creek, Canada
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Hotel Castlegar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to stay on the third floor. You needed a key card to get up there so I assume it is nicer.”
 of 5 bubbles Pamela1958, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room over looking parking lot if concerned with pool noise”
 of 5 bubbles K8325UMtracys, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to the super 8”
 of 5 bubbles LAfamilyRADE, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“join their star plus program”
 of 5 bubbles rickbar9116, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Happy with a ground floor corner suite and the trees buffed the highway noise at the back. Various prices for different suites.”
 of 5 bubbles susan5161, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5