We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Painter's Lodge

PricelineUS$103*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$103*
US$103*
US$103*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Painter\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

974 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Painter's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 898: English reviews
Surrey
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Fishing was bit off this summer compared to other years, but the lodge(s) , the service, the majestic scenery and overall experience makes Painter's Lodge a fantastic location to host a business retreat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmO8863QT
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for returning to Painter’s Lodge once again. It is great to hear that we can offer the perfect set up for your business retreat. We look forward to seeing you again for more West Coast fishing! Sincerely, Dean Prentice General Manager, Painter’s Lodge

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Room was large but motel grade in finishes and furnishings, especially the bathroom. These are wood structures so we had to endure the tramplings of a two year old upstairs. Most of the rooms overlook the garden, not the water. In our case, my view was of a shrub. Give yourself plenty of time in advance to reserve a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Basia H
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the service and the magical scenery we are blessed with at Painter’s Lodge. Our little sister resort; April Point certainly has a rustic and serene feel that may appeal to our guests looking for an escape into nature. We hope to welcome...

Reviewed 22 August 2016

My wife and I have just spent the wekend at Painters Lodge as part of a British Triumph car event. The welcome when we arrived and the attention to our bags, suggesting where to park and showing us to our room was the best I have ever received anywhere. The location is spectacular, and our room with it's private balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for these wonderful compliments. All the crew from maintenance to servers do their absolute best to ensure that our guests have a world class experience, I am delighted that this was reflected in your visit. We look forward to seeing you again for a West Coast fishing adventure. Sincerely, Dean Prentice General Manager, Painter’s Lodge

Esher
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Stayed 3 nights, two in Painters Lodge and one on April Point as we wanted to stay longer in Campbell River. As a famility of 4, 2 boys aged 7 and 9, we loved this place. The friendly and welcoming crew/hotel staff were first class. We went on a fun zodiac boat to watch orcas hunting seals, and also saw...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank M1761MArichardf
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

It is great to hear that Painter’s Lodge offered a fun and relaxing getaway for you and your family. I am delighted that you had such a memorable wildlife tour and enjoyed our ocean view setting. We look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Dean Prentice General Manager, Painter’s Lodge

Texas
Reviewed 22 August 2016

My wife, two kids and I were very pleasantly surprised with the accommodations, amenities, beautifully manicured gardens, fruit trees, pool, and restaurants! We were greeted by a very friendly front desk lady who gave each of our children a bag full of treats upon our arrival. We found our room to be very clean, and the layout was perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akbugguy
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

I am so pleased that our loft room accommodation worked so well for you and your family. Set away from the main lodge and close to the two pools, these rooms are a big hit with families. Our restaurant team have done a great job ensuring that they have a wide range of meal options to cater for all tastes...

Mississauga
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We decided to go on our family vacation here to celebrate our dads birthday . We found the cabin old and in need of updating . They ran out of hot water and the old carpet made it difficult to breathe for those who had asthma . The fishing was dissapointing . We understand that sometimes you get unlucky but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S6587LPdanielleh
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

I am saddened to hear this negative review of our resort and am concerned by your comments regarding our cabin and will follow up with the maintenance and housekeeping crew. The fishing has been slower this year than in previous years, but our guides are working hard to make trips as successful as possible. Thank you for your comments; they...

Marysville, Washington
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Listen and follow your guide advice. Keep warm and make sure you put on your life jacket. Worth while visiting and dining at April Point. Keep your appointed time to fish. Don't forget to tip for good service. Enjoy your stay and if not happy with anything let one of the staff be aware of what it is.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

We provide waterproof coveralls, life jackets and all of the equipment needed for a days' fishing. I am glad that you found all of our Crew to be approachable and helpful and thanks for the review. Sincerely, Dean Prentice General Manager, Painter’s Lodge

Grayswood
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The location and setting of Painter's Lodge is indisputably stunning but the experience, after travelling from the UK for a short 4 night stay was let down by understaffing and poor accommodation. Our room was ground floor and adjacent to entrance driveway and car park. It was both dark and damp. Despite asking for alternative rooms - none were available....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U8413HPchrisc
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

It has been another busy season at Painter’s Lodge and I am sorry that we couldn’t accommodate your room change request on this occasion. Our Crew have been working incredibly hard and I am pleased that you were met with the friendly and personable service that we are famous for. I wish you a great rest of your trip. Sincerely,...

Laguna Beach, California
Reviewed 21 August 2016

This was our third visit over a 20 year time frame. We booked this one day and arrived 3 days later which was nice because it was Aug and they accommodated us. We fished two mornings at 6am. We didn't catch any fish. We ate one dinner in town and one dinner at April Point. We ate all other meals...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cindyhart
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

It is great to hear that you had another great fishing experience at Painter’s Lodge. The fishing has been slower this year than in previous years, but our guides are working hard to make trips as successful as possible – thank you for embracing the spirit of fishing! Sincerely, Dean Prentice General Manager, Painter’s Lodge

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 21 August 2016

A beautiful place - Classic! Right on the water in a sportsman's paradise, terrific views, delightful employees and appears perfect. Nope, sorry. Rooms are dreary with bad ventilation (no A/C) and poorly maintained (our bed had 1x4 wood bed frame supports sticking out several inches beyond the mattress to stab or trip you getting in or out of bed). Dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
OakBayMarineGroup, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing time during your recent trip and will review your comments with the maintenance and housekeeping crew. Thanks for the feedback. Sincerely, Dean Prentice General Manager, Painter’s Lodge

238 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (229)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
3.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
255 reviews
3.7 km away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
309 reviews
6.7 km away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
381 reviews
53.3 km away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
114.6 km away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the pristine shores of Vancouver Island, Painter's Lodge offers world-class salmon fishing, breathtaking wildlife and scenery and full amenities. When you're not fighting a mighty salmon on the line, soak in the outdoor pool, refine your serve on the tennis courts, or watch marine life play as you tour the coastline on a Wildlife Adventure Tour. Connected by water taxi, guests enjoy all the amenities including new Aveda Spa at April Point Resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Painter's Lodge

Address: 1625 McDonald Rd, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 4S5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Price Range: $160 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Painter's Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Painter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painter`s Hotel Campbell River
Painters Hotel Campbell River
Painters Resort Campbell River
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Painter's Lodge staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Painter's Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Terrible service at the bar for Gluten Free Guests, ordering food.”
816smileyk, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Extra charge for ocean view room was worth it to us. Room was quiet.”
carolmK3397WF, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Main hotel is renovated, but the oceanfront suites are amazing.”
Y3914XGtracyc, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Water view is beautiful.”
sixstoriesBC, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Go for an ocean view as it's not much more”
Karen1032, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$103* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$103
Booking.comUS$103
TravelocityUS$103
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates