We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Oaksmere

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Eye
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Oaksmere
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Oaksmere
See the most recent reviews
Showing 408: English reviews
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016

could not wish for better place to stay location was really good service great and accommodation was all we could ask for the cocktail bar a must even able to make cocktails not listed from memory which was impressive meal in restaurant was really good with attention to detail overall very impressed and will recommend to friends and colleagues only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevecook2016
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi Steve Many thanks for your feedback and I'm pleased you enjoyed our food and service. I will look into how we can maybe make our gravel less noisy.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Don't book room nine if you want to sleep past 6:30 a.m. when the kitchen fan comes on. Watch out for the room door handles which are all too close to the jamb - they give a nasty bruise if you dont take care. In room nine the bluetooth speakers weren't working, neither was the towel rail. Make sure whoever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pandppearse
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi pandpearse I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and many thanks on the feedback on these room issues which we will look at immediately.

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Beautiful location, tree lined drive and large grounds very impressive. Period hotel had interesting features, wonder how many people notice the text decorating the ceils on the stairs? Also interesting art pieces from the sculptures in the grounds to the wall hangings - suggest you look very closely at the writing on the portrait of David Cameron ...amusing. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller2052
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi worldtraveller Many thanks for your feedback on your stay and you'll be pleased to here we have invested in a better fly killer and some more covers. I'm pleased you seemed to have to enjoyed your stay overall and that you'll come and see us again soon.

suffolk
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Place is stunning lovely gardens and rooms although our kettle would not switch off and spa bath faulty.What let it down was the £25 set menu and service as we only saw the staff when they came to deliver our food no one to ask for any drinks unless you walked through to the bar. Portions are two small,starters had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paula27
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi Paula Thank you for your feedback on your stay and in particular food and portion sizes. I will pass this on to the chef as we will review these comments with regard to improving in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2016

The room was beautiful, light and airy. We had dinner in the bar, I chose the grill menu and was not disappointed. my steak was cooked to perfection and the addition of a ducks egg inspired. Full English breakfast in the morning was also excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi Ben Many thanks for your feedback and I'm pleased you had a great stay. Do come again soon.

Beccles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2016

The welcome from the reception was friendly and proffesional and we were shown to our room. Enroute the chap was telling us about the hotel and how to operate the whirlpool bath. The room was clean and as expected very comfortable. We had a lovely bath and got changed then went down to the cocktail bar in the conservatory which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi Stuart Many thanks for your feedback on your stay and on how much you enjoyed the hotel, food and team.

Halesworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Went for family meal set menu pate tasteless pork overcooked syrup sponge pudding dry. Waitress lovely but non existent during meal. Some in party had risotto which was not the same as order and tasted like bland rice pudding!! Money knocked off from risotto but no real apology. All in all won't be hurrying back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bel0109
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi bel019 Thank you on your feedback on your family gathering for 23 on Sunday night in our private Garden Room.Generally our larger groups have a set menu so I can understand that the choices won't be ideal for everybody. Do come back and order from our grill menu which has a very broad variety of dishes and gets good...

Ipswich
Reviewed 11 May 2016

I loved the hotel and grounds, room 6 was cosy and comfy and had no problems with noise. The kettle wouldn't switch itself off and the spa bath only half worked. The food was delicious, but when I ordered half a lobster I received a small lobster tail. When I queried what I had been served, I was told that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barby1234
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi barby Thank you for your feedback on your stay and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. The half lobster is a add-on option on our grill menu for steaks etc rather than a dish in its own right- however next time try our whole lobster Thermidor which is excellent.

Rochford
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on 6th May. The hotel is splendid from the outside and just as splendid within. The staff were great and our room (room 3) was wonderful with a jacuzzi bath in the bedroom and large separate shower room and extremely comfortable bed. We had a meal in the restaurant and thought the food ok but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L M
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi Lm Thank you for your feedback on your visit and I'm pleased you enjoyed it on the whole. Come back and see us again soon. Best Wishes Paul Murfitt Operations Director

Mark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

A late arrival, down a dramatic tree lined driveway, a superb helpful receptionist showed us to a wonderful room in the oldest part of the building! Nothing was too much trouble! The bedroom was of a very high standard and with good equipment! A very comfortable night, beds and duvets excellent, the breakfast was lovely, more very friendly staff, nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JSMitchell2014
Oaksmere, General Manager at The Oaksmere, responded to this review

Hi JSMitchell Many thanks for your feedback on your stay and its great you enjoyed it so much- come back and see us again soon. Best Wishes Paul Murfitt Operations Director

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eye
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Brome Grange Hotel
35.2 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
32.5 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
291 reviews
32.9 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
945 reviews
28.9 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have ten distinctive boutique style bedrooms waiting to be discovered, luxuriated in and enjoyed. Our elegant rooms are individually designed and fabulously equipped. You'll find generous Hypnos beds, Nespresso coffee machines, large SkyHD televisions and even digital audio systems that will play your own music. Relax with a selection of Elemis cosmetics, super-soft bathrobes and fluffy towels. At The Oaksmere many of our boutique hotel rooms have impressive whirlpool baths, some sited in the bedrooms. You'll also be treated to large rain head showers with plenty of space to splash. It's somewhat unexpected for an old listed building, which is why we've gone to such lengths to make your stay with us a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oaksmere

Address: Rectory Road | Brome, Eye IP23 8AJ, England (Formerly Cornwallis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Eye
Price Range: $185 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oaksmere 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Oaksmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornwallis Hotel Brome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Oaksmere staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Oaksmere staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor courtyard family room was great.”
 of 5 bubbles mrscole2015, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“When I return it'll be to room 7”
 of 5 bubbles Pete7-62, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All room are great, stayed in most”
 of 5 bubbles nicholase851, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great but room 3 I am told has a large jacuzzi bath by the window.”
 of 5 bubbles janecG9153DK, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a quiet room that is not above the bar, perhaps at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles sls871, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5