We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fern Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Fern Resort
Fern Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 279: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent Christmas Eve and at the resort, plenty of activities, good shows in the theatre excellent free refreshments. They had Xmas Eve and day party in the lobby , the lobby and bar could be a little more cozy. In the grand idea of things , new restrooms in the hotel rooms, the restrooms need to be updated, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
Cobourg, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a hidden gem. We were so amazed with the facility and staff I can't stop telling all our friends with kids that this is the place to go. From the minute we checked in to the day we checked out the staff were so nice and informative. The itinerary for kids and adults was perfect. My 4 year old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maya-sofia0110
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall we had a good time away and enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in one of the renovated Edgewater cottages which was very beautiful.The view from our room was lovely. The room was updated and nicely appointed, however we had problems with the electronic thermostat during our stay. Our specific reason for the trip was to see Jamie Williams perform New...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roadrunner3988
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and thank you for your recent staying with us. I am happy you had a chance to stay in our newly renovated Edgewater Chalets. I appreciate your comments regarding the renovations, and we have worked out the issues with the thermostats in these accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience. Our New Year’s Eve entertainer. Jamie...

Orillia, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm sure at one time (many many years ago) this was a beautiful resort. We stayed for a Christmas party the dinner was good and breakfast was great. The room was severely dated!! Blue carpet and fabric everywhere, tube Tv's and VCR's. The resort does have charm and what appeared to be a great kids club during the summer. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beckster447
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Beckster447 for your comments regarding your recent stay with us during your company’s Christmas party. Weekends in December are a busy time here at Fern with many companies both large and small joining in our Christmas Party Celebrations. These evenings start with a cocktail party and complimentary hors d'oeuvers, a five-course gourmet dinner, and finish off with dancing...

Sarnia, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having been to a number of family resorts in my day, I kind of had an idea of what to expect. My family and I stayed at Fern this past summer, during the Olympics, and we had a decent-to-good time. Look, the place is not a luxury resort... maybe it was way back when but it's not now. The beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drake L
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments and thank you for staying with us this past summer. I am glad you had a good time and our kids programs was a highlight for both your and your wife and also for your daughter. Fern Resort is very focused on family and providing good, genuine hospitality to our guests in an environment...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Fern is a lovely resort right on the lake and has a beautiful view of the City of Orillia. Our room was a little dated and unfortunately right over the dining/party room. The music and people dancing literally had my room shaking. If booking a room for a staff party, I advise you request a room that is not over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ange F
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and thank you for staying with us recently during your companies holiday celebration. I am glad you enjoyed the wonderful view, food and of course our great hospitality provided by Fern Resort. Rooms in the Main Inn can be loud when we have entertainment in the Main Inn. It's a good thing we only...

Orillia, Canada
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Booked Fern Resort to hold a two day business meeting. The meeting room was perfect and the service outstanding. The food is always great and the price cannot be beat. This is the second time I have booked business meetings at fern and will continue to do so in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mpgibby
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review and thank you for your continued support. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the resort and you find good value in our meeting packages. Off-site meetings are essential for businesses today. They allow you an opportunity to remove the distractions of the day-to-day office routine in order to completely concentrate on your...

Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I have been at a 5 day training retreat with an international group. I feel like we have eaten our way through the course. The food has been delicious - but be prepared, the portions are huge. You may gain 10 lbs with the all inclusive menu. The building snd rooms are pretty and quaint...like from another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheri G
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review regarding your recent training retreat stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the all-inclusive nature of our conference packages that include meeting room space, A/V equipment, accommodations, all meals and use of the resort facilities. Thank you for your comments and praise of our staff. The staff and management here have a...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We went up for the Canadian Thanksgiving and the resort was hopping! A full calendar of activities and cool, but perfect Fall weather. The outdoor, heated pool was perfect, as was the indoor pool and hot tubs. Kayaks were available, as were fishing lines. We stayed in a jacuzzi room and enjoyed reading on the lakeside porch.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BuffaloTraveler2
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for coming up and seeing us this past Thanksgiving weekend. The weather was great and the fall colours were wonderful but there is nothing like swimming in the outdoor pool in October! The atmosphere at this time of year is fun and exciting and the fall-themed activities and look and feel of the resort make it a wonderful experience...

Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Lots of activities included (lots of non-motorized water boats, archery, 5-hole golf, mini-golf, yoga, etc). Restaurant: breakfast (good but had to get 2nd cup of coffee); Lunch (choice of indoors or BBQ) did both lots of choice for BBQ just ran-out of desserts only fruit left; Dinner options are good (fish portions are very small) - needs improvement because servers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank funskigirl
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for the review. Fern Resort is, as you say, definitely a family resort with lots of kids. We offer packages that include kids clubs, kids and adult activity programs, nightly entertainment that is fun for all ages, plus a wealth of resort facilities which makes Fern Resort truly a...

675 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (411)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Bayshore Cottage (38)
Viewed
Bayshore Cottage Loft Bedroom (36)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Edgewater Chalet (29)
Viewed
Fireside Lakeview Room (33)
Viewed
Fireside Landview Room (31)
Viewed
Fireside Suite (40)
Viewed
Hearthside Lakeview Room (29)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Regular Lakeview Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Suite (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
4.9 km away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
478 reviews
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn
6.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Days Inn - Orillia
6.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
187 reviews
33.0 km away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern are located along the shores of Lake Couchiching in the city of Orillia. We offer all inclusive packages for both family vacation stays as well as meeting and conference stays. All meals, use of facilities and at specific times of the year, we offer activity programs for all ages, children supervision and nightly entertainment. Established in 1895, Fern has a long tradition of offering our guests with good olde fashion hospitality in a professional and friendly manner. Whether it's the traditional family vacation, a little getaway weekend or a sales meeting or corporate seminar, Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern should be your venue of choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fern Resort

Address: 4432 Fern Resort Rd, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Price Range: $456 - $1,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Fern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Hotel Orillia
Fern Resort Orillia
Fern Orillia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fern Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Fern Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for the penthouse family suite, great view of lake and sunsets, balcony was nice to watch the snow fall in the evening.”
 of 5 bubbles maya-sofia0110, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a cottage overlooking the lake”
 of 5 bubbles Roadrunner3988, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“avoid staying above the main lobby if there are any large parties downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles beckster447, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The buildings really vary - it depends what you want.”
 of 5 bubbles 582drakel, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Take a room away from the main lobby/dining room building.”
 of 5 bubbles 586angef, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay