The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection

184 Adolphus Street, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E5B 1T7 Canada
Traveller (913)
Room & Suite (125)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
S$208
Breakfast included
S$177
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 2 resorts in Saint Andrews
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Algonquin is one of Canada's most luxurious and legendary resorts. Rich in history, meticulously restored to its original splendour, and complete with every modern comfort you could desire, this year-round destination truly offers the best of the past with contemporary amenities. The iconic building and its grounds are an oasis. Elegant guest rooms, contemporary dining, indoor and outdoor pools, waterslide, a pampering spa, private beach, manicured gardens, and cocktails on our historic veranda add up to a vacation to savour and remember.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Tennis court
Waterslide
Indoor play area for children
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.
1494Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 846
  • 364
  • 172
  • 77
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Susan7 wrote a review Aug 2020
Saint John, Canada521 contributions145 helpful votes
The first thing I noticed was the parking lot — pretty much full when we arrived and there was overflow parking on the lawn opposite the parking lot. Valet parking was not available. The shuttle service also was not operating.

Check-in went smoothly with decent physical distancing. Our rooms were ready and as requested located close to each other. My room was clean. All paper had been removed except for of course toilet paper, tissues, and a couple of coffee cups. There was none of the usual information about hotel services and their hours, TV channels, reminders to hang up your towels, etc.

The one thing I had not realized was that daily housekeeping was by request only. I had downloaded the Marriott app and it proved useful because you can request extra towels, toiletries, full housekeeping, assistance with luggage, etc. There is also a “chat” function which I used to report a problem with my room door not latching properly. Within 15 minutes there was a knock at my door by someone who was there to fix it and did.

Check out went smoothly even though I had a number of gift cards to be processed. Costco in Saint John and Fredericton currently has discounted gift cards available and I was not the only person using them.

It’s always a treat to stay at The Algonquin and considering the pandemic situation, I felt that my safety, that of the other guests and that of the staff was being managed appropriately.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator can be noisy due to corridor traffic.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert B wrote a review Jan 2021
Riverview, Canada769 contributions270 helpful votes
Needed a couple of days away during covid in NB so chose the Algonquin. They had some great rates so we got a sea view in the main hotel. Masks must be worn in the hotel except when eating or with your bubble in the great room area.
Service of rooms was limited due to covid but you can request what you may need. They were closing for 2 weeks after we left and then opening for some weekends. Staff was a little light because we felt the stair areas were not cleaned and the main elevator was not cleaned the 2 night 3 days we were there. Hand sanitizer was leaked on wall and floor, usage sign was on floor.
Room was clean, good matress,pillows, towels. Staff were very helpful and friendly
In the great room area we had some drinks but cleared table ourselves as last peoples empties were there for quite a while.
Restaurant was very good with a more limited menu and some will find it quite expensive.
Did not use indoor pool this time or excellent workout room.
Place was actually very full the 3 days after New Year.
Snow storm made the outside grounds look beautiful, will be back again. Over the years have been here over 10+ times
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maritimer wrote a review Sept 2020
Moncton, Canada41 contributions36 helpful votes
Im glad I waited to write my review.... I stayed at this hotel for three nights with my family and dog. Kids 8,10,11. I know that things aren’t “ normal” because of covid, but on my first day/night there are some basic service measures lacking, for example, The little kitchenette didn’t have anything in it or dishes etc.... we brought food to fill the fridge and pantry so we needed some basic things. It was very difficult to get ahold of the front desk and kitchen. The next day Linda (I think her name was) changed my mood as she was fantastic. We constantly had to call for garbage bags and toilet paper. I didn’t mind so much that house keeping didn’t come due to Covid, but I was a little surprised that our room wasn’t cleaned throughly upon our arrival. For example, there was popcorn in one of the cupboards and the paper in the drawer was stained and dirty. Pros: kids had a lot of fun. Pool was great as was the hotel restaurant, Braxtons. Also, we did the ghost tour and that was cute. Hubby and I had a nice time having a drink on the veranda in front of the hotel and sitting in front of the fire place in the front garden. Very pet friendly. I will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
crazy irishman wrote a review Jul 2020
Saint John, Canada23 contributions2 helpful votes
We were somewhat disappointed in the cleanliness of our room. During this time of Covid19, room sanitizing should be of paramount concern. We booked room 235 (a garden view room with a large balcony) for one night late in June. First thing we noticed was that there were no drinking glasses(glass, paper, nor plastic) in our room. When I asked the housekeeping lady who was cleaning the room next door for some glasses she looked at me like I had three heads and reluctantly gave me 2 paper cups. I asked for glasses so we could enjoy our wine in real glass on the balcony and she said I'd have to go down to the bar if I wanted a real glass to drink out of. I did get "real glasses" from downstairs but then when I went out on the balcony I almost vomited because the floor and the cushions on the lounge chair were covered in bird droppings. I immediately went to the front desk and requested that the balcony be cleaned, which it was later while we were out for a walk. Later I decided to give the room a closer look and noticed that the top of the work table, the night tables, the top of the fridge and the window louvers in the bathroom were all covered in a layer of dust, and the carpet near my side of the bed was badly stained. Fortunately we brought lysol wipes with us to clean and sanitize everything, but by that time our mood had gone from relaxation to wanting to flee as fast as we could. Nevertheless we stayed and actually had a comfortable sleep and a fabulous breakfast the next morning. My email to the hotel a couple of days later detailing our concerns about lack of cleanliness has yet to be answered one week later. I'd give the Algonquin about 3 out of 10 for cleanliness and 10 out of 10 for the restaurant service and the front desk staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Hale wrote a review Aug 2020
Oromocto, Canada3 contributions3 helpful votes
My wife and I decided to have a weekend away after months of being stuck at home. The Algonquin when contacted told us they had put in place guidelines for wearing masks in public areas. Seemed like it would be somewhat safe given the current climate of COVID 19. Upon arriving we soon found out that very few guests actually wore masks and most had little to no concept of personal space. While there were signs and all staff wore masks this was more of a free for all with all precautions merely suggested. The protocol for towels and room servicing was not given upon check in and we had to ask about this on our own. You had to call to get new towels as the rooms were only serviced upon checkout. The pool area was completely overcrowded Friday July 31st resembling something more often found at a frat house.....absolutely no masks or social distancing with the entire pool area filled to capacity. Apparently the current pandemic doesn't exist in St. Andrew's or at the very least it is ignored. I must say I did not feel safe on the premises and was amazed at the lack of awareness of other guests. Also for a community crying for support by locals I was not impressed by being charged a tourist tax of 3% as well as a resort fee of $15 per night. I will be spending my money elsewhere in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul T wrote a review Mar 2020
Rothesay, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
This is our second time staying at the Marriott Algonquin Hotel and our very last. When we checked in to our room we noticed the bed sheets had not been changed (hairs all in the bed) and that the room tables and surfaces were dirty and had cup ring stains, etc. We had to call the front desk and they came and changed the sheets. How does a 4-star hotel not change the bed sheets between guests! The common areas were dirty and overall it just didn't look like the hotel was in good shape compared to the summer months. The worst part was the hotel pool, which was literally green and cloudy and there were green scum stains on the pool walls. The hot tub was a dark green colour and there was no way we were going in there. I saw several people come in to the pool and turn away after seeing how dirty the pool, hot tub, and floors were. I started feeling itchy almost right away and got out after 10min. It was March Break so it was very busy, but that's no excuse and I have never ever seen a hotel pool that dirty in my life. The breakfast and brunch buffet areas were dirty with food all over the floors, and the takeaway coffee area was just filthy all over the surfaces. I only wish I could get all my money back. The Algonquin Hotel is just in a shambles at this time and with the threat of coronavirus, cleanliness should be the #1 priority for hotel staff. I never leave comments or reviews about hotels ever and I am a frequent traveler. That is how bad this hotel experience was.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FCCUN051, Front Office Manager at The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear Mr. Teniere, We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided on the Guest Satisfaction Survey. Maintaining a fresh atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is always a key priority. On behalf of the entire team at the Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection, I sincerely apologize for falling short of not only meeting your expectations, but ours as well. As we had a busy March break week I am sad to hear this had a negative effect on the cleanliness of the resort. Rest assured, the feedback provided will be shared with the hotel teams to ensure we consistently deliver upon guest expectations. As a valued guest, thank you for choosing us to accommodate you during your travels. We hope to see you again whenever your travels bring you back to St Andrews! Sincerely, Fiona Cunningham Guest Services Manager The Algonquin Resort fiona.cunningham@algonquinresort.com 506-529-8823
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy W wrote a review Aug 2020
Nova Scotia, Canada166 contributions115 helpful votes
I love a historic facility as long as it has amenities to make up for the age. I am so disappointed in my stay here that I would advise anyone to rethink how long you visit-two days is the max. I admit to being somewhat discerning. And with silver elite status as used to getting a little spoiled. We arrived Saturday and will check out early on Wednesday. Our queen room is small and claustrophobic. This was enhanced by not having housekeeping for our entire stay and having to gather garbage and towels and leave outside the door. I am all for Covid restrictions but if they can’t clean your room maybe after a few days they can move you to a clean one? There is no seating in room so you have to hang out on the bed if you want to sit. The bathroom is upgraded and okay. The toiletries are not quality and for a place that has an aveda spa you might expect to see products like that. Nope some nest hotel brand that you can hardly squeeze the shampoo out of. I tried to book in with the spa but while they returned my message of request for booking, they didn’t leave a message and then I was left trying to get through again to just get their answering service even though I had requested my services and said I would work my schedule around their availability. Two days later no callback and I’ve abandoned the idea. We went for dinner and were told to wait outside while they found us a table but then we were forgotten and watched them seat others before us without reservations. Once inside the food was good but a 3 oz portion of halibut is a bit stingy. The outdoor pool was dirty and had a dirty floor and a 3 inch ring around the top. The inside pool amenities were nice and clean. There is no adult only section to this resort and any pool area is met with screaming kids who don’t get the concept of social distancing. We did not have the ability to relax here and I’m disappointed in my vacation time and can’t wait to go home. That’s not the feeling one wants at a “resort”. In finish: a great place to bring dogs and your loud screaming kids for a weekend getaway. This place is trying to be all things to all people and as a result, no one is getting the full package.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meagan Leigh wrote a review Sept 2022
14 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel is short handed so food options are really limited. 5 entree choices at dinner; 2 steak, 2 vegetarian & 1 seafood Salmon. We are on the ocean but no lobster, scallops, clams or oysters?
Breakfast buffet ok but so many guests items kept running out plus on Saturday no tables with an over 30 minute wait.
Saturday evening dinner specials was a hamburger!
Bar does not open until noon so no Mimosas or Bloody Mary’s with breakfast & they don’t have tomato juice only Clamato (yuck). You can’t take a can of beer to be enjoyed later in your room, they have to open it. We had a bunch of drink coupons but didn’t even get to use half of them. Only bubbly by the glass was Prosecco, the champagne bottles were very expensive.
Too many combinations in the entrée & dessert choices, keep it simple & have more variety. No baked potatoes, salad dressing was ranch or green goddess, no bleu, French, Italian or Thousand Island.
The pub was closed & restaurant at the golf course as well & no lunch service.
There are plenty of outdoor amenities - pool, tennis, bicycles & indoor pool & gym. No organized classes such as yoga which was advertised.
If they can’t hire enough people once the college kids go back to school & kitchen staff leave for winter jobs then just close.
We had a junior suite but no patio or balcony. We paid over $1,200 USD for this not even worth half that.
One elevator & it doesn’t go to lower level to get to spa.
There are many Inns in St Andrews offering meals, we will go elsewhere next time. Oh & no special notice for our anniversary or Marriott level.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection
Responded 30 Sept 2022
Dear Denbee, All comments are helpful, and we value your constructive input. First off, we are happy to know that you appreciated our fun amenities such as our pool, tennis, and fitness center. However, we are very sorry to hear that our dining and drinking options did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We will review these comments with our team as we work to uphold our standards. It is our full intention to meet or exceed the expectations of our guests on all occasions, particularly during special occasions such as a 25th wedding anniversary. Thank you, and we wish you happier travels ahead. Sincerely, Nicolas Messian General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katherine B wrote a review Feb 2021
Rothesay, Canada341 contributions223 helpful votes
We are so thankful during the last year to have this grand dame here in the province of New Brunswick! At a time when travel is limited, we're used to getting away and we all need a break, we've enjoyed numerous stays from a week to long weekends. The staff is excellent and do all they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel is spotless with additional cleaning procedures in place. The dining room has a good chef, tables are spaces well apart and you are free to eat with those in your bubble. Throughout the hotel staff and guests wear masks outside of their rooms unless they are at their dining table and we felt very safe. They have an indoor pool with hot tub and winding slide for children, spa for adults and a wonderful outdoor pool used mostly by adults in the summer. We particularly enjoy the outdoor gas firepits in the summer and have met some interesting people here. For those who are musicians guitars are in the lobby ready for you to just pick up and strum away. Bicycles are availabe as well and this is a nice town to explore by bike. The resort is pet friendly so bring your pooch along. Looking forward to our next visit! I highly recommend this property!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Several rooms have ocean and harbour views. Second floor rooms over the verandah have huge...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
canadians127 wrote a review Oct 2020
Brampton, Canada109 contributions49 helpful votes
My family stayed here for a wedding at a different venue , my wife and I stayed in the original side of the resort, the room is fairly small but the bed was comfortable. Saying that, the washroom is a different story, my closet at the front door of my house is larger than this washroom. You can only have one person in the room at one time, if you are sitting on the toilet forget about anyone else trying to get in , the door actually hits the toilet, this room is so small that even ants would have a hard time finding any food . But at least the bed was comfortable. I would also like to add to this review, I read other reviews about the food served in the restaurant and they are correct. My son and his wife eat in the restaurant ( I warned them about the reviews) but they tried it anyways, they said they should’ve listen to me ( always listen to your elders) total waste of money , his $37 steak was pure garbage , well I warned him . I took him to the Red Herring in town and he and wife eat there 4 more times , but that’s in a upcoming review.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We Live In Hotels wrote a tip Jan 2024
United States158 contributions77 helpful votes
"If haunted rooms are of interest ask the front desk about those suites!"
Read full review
Keith C wrote a tip Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
"Microwave in rooms would be a nice addition"
Read full review
Chris D wrote a tip Oct 2023
18 contributions
"Book a twin with 2 queen beds Book direct with Marriott Check there is no wedding taking priority"
Read full review
Randy H wrote a tip Oct 2023
Dartmouth, Canada7 contributions
"Rooms on the back away from the commons is quieter. Book the restaurant in advance as they do get quite busy at times. Same for the SPA."
Read full review
AMJ1234 wrote a tip Oct 2023
New Brunswick, Canada31 contributions15 helpful votes
"Don’t eat in the restaurant at the Algonquin. It is overpriced and slow service . The Main Street in town is a better option. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint Andrews area.
PRICE RANGE
S$167 - S$230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNew BrunswickSaint Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
234
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ALGONQUIN RESORT ST. ANDREWS BY THE SEA, AUTOGRAPH COLLECTION (S̶$̶2̶6̶5̶) S$247: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 997 Photos (Saint Andrews, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Kingsbrae Garden (0.5 km), St. Andrews Blockhouse (0.7 km), and Oppenheimer-Prager Museum at Dayspring (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Honeybeans Coffee, Tea and Treats, The Garden Cafe & Savour In The Garden, and Niger Reef Tea House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Saint Andrews.
Are pets allowed at The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews By The Sea, Autograph Collection?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.