We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ocean Wilderness Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Wilderness Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ocean Wilderness Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B in August. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating and the trail to the beach was just beautiful. We really didn't expect the beach to open up and be as big as it was. We took a day trip to Botanical Beach and enjoyed the scenery immensely. The breakfast's were well thought out and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessjazz
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review. Even though we have little to do with how wonderful the beach is, except for maintaining the trail on our property to get there, we love knowing that our guests enjoyed it. It may be one of the first wilderness beaches on the trip out from Victoria. We were very pleased to... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Nice place; bed and room and bath very nice. Loved the touch of high powered binoculars in the bedroom to be able to look out into the straits and shore of Washington. Breakfasts tasty and a bit offbeat. Nice hike down to the beach. Area is a bit remote, so come here for relaxing. A few nice restaurants in town;... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Bob, for the gift of this review. We love hearing that you had a 'peaceful and relaxing' stay: enjoyed the view of the strait; the trail to the shore; your breakfasts; found some nice restaurants (it does take a bit of looking); and good hikes. We continue to look for ways to convey to guests that we are... More 

1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We spent a week at this wonderful Inn! The highlight was the delicious breakfasts each morning. I travelled with my mother law and her gluten free diet was accommodated with expertise and a major yum factor. Location was peaceful, and serene with great views. I loved the hot tubs with a view of both wilderness and ocean. Beds were made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laurabanks1
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review and of knowing that you had 'delightful and delicious stay.' Over time our breakfasts have changed to meet guests diets and expectations. Having feedback is greatly appreciated. Safe travels, Lori More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have been back twice now, the second time as part of an impromptu family trip using 3 different rooms. We arrived early and were allowed to check in without any problems. The rooms were clean and bright, we were a bit "rowdy" at night (the family who laughs together ... ) but we were directed to a games room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LynPaus
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Lynn, for the gift of your review. I hope your "rowdy" family comes back to enjoy the area and our inn again. Thank you for sharing time with us and your experience with other guests. Safe travels, Lori & Andy More 

Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I have returned to Ocean Wilderness Inn three or four times . We have always been made to feel welcome and special by the wonderful owner/ hosts. The fact that the rooms did not have phones or televisions, for us, was a wonderful benefit as it is for those of all ages that love natural surroundings and... More 

Helpful?
Thank patrick d
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review, for sharing time with us and your experience with other travelers. Safe travels, Lori & Andy More 

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I lived this hotel with my fiance in the winter. It is quite and has nice surroundings. There is a way easily accessing the sea shore. The only inconvenience is that the hotel is a bit far from the cities. The owner is a couple and they are very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Yichuan D
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review Winter is a lovely time to visit. I am glad you enjoyed the surroundings and the shore. We are a bit out of town, as you say. We think that our location, about 14km beyond Sooke, may be part of the reason guests are able to unplug and relax. Just for perspective,... More 

calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

we were quite disappointed with our stay, but we could see how it might be suitable for a different type of traveler. (i.e. relaxed older crowd who go to sleep early!). i wouldn't recommend it to young travelers or young couples. i found the breakfast disappointing and the room bare bones. we felt it cost way too much for what... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mylovelytravels
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review. I regret that you were disappointed with your stay. We agree that we are not for everyone. Our younger guests sometimes tell us “our parents would love this place”. However, and just as often, our older guests buy a gift certificate for their “kids” to come and stay with us. Regardless of... More 

Eugene
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Only stayed here one night but would have loved to have stayed longer. The owners were welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. We stayed in the Pacific Panorama room, which was large, had a comfy bed and comfy chairs for sitting in to look out the big windows to the ocean. It was tastefully furnished. There is an outside hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nutkin88
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the beach, the room and breakfast. Your recommendation means a great deal to us. Lori More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The surrounding is wonderful. The hot tub is refreshing. The owner provided very good breakfast and tips for travelling around sooke. I spent two nights in the Ocean Wilderness Inn and I have a memorable experience with my boyfriend here. There is a little trial in front of the house down the beach.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wenyi X
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the gift of this review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our trail to the beach. We think the private access to the ocean is one of our best assets. There are no signs of buildings or roads or powerlines at the shore. The sky and sea are always changing. Safe travels, Lori More 

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed here last minute after a strip to Seattle was cancelled due to high winds. The hosts were very flexible and generous. In the end, we had a perfect friend reunion weekend after-all. The inn is a great balance between affordability with small touches that make it feel luxurious. The rooms are simple, spacious, and lovely. The beds are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sooke hotels
10.5 km away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort
11.0 km away
Sooke Harbour House
Sooke Harbour House
#2 of 3 in Sooke
455 reviews
6.6 km away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
17.1 km away
Moonlit Cove B&B
Moonlit Cove B&B
#2 of 24 in Sooke
85 reviews
12.0 km away
Seascape Inn
Seascape Inn
#9 of 24 in Sooke
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oceanfront B and B. Perched above the Salish Sea (Strait of Juan de Fuca) overlooking the Olympic Mountains, between Sooke and Jordan River, this serene, comfortable, seven suite ocean-front bed and breakfast retreat is perfect for your holiday get-away. Located about 60 minutes from Victoria on the Southern coast of Vancouver Island. All rooms have refrigerators, as well as coffee and tea. Our English cottage garden is surrounded by majestic old-growth forest and a lovely brook that runs along our beautiful trail to the beach. Book your room overlooking the ocean or the rain forest. Our Inn is within the Pacific Marine Circle Route next to Muir Creek beach. Lots of fun things to do here, geocaching, hiking, birding, fishing, biking, surfing, seaweed gathering, kayaking, paddle boarding, kite surfing, whale watching, beach combing. Looking for lower key? Then soak in the hot tub, read, gaze at the waves. Or for something completely different do nothing just sit and gaze at the spectacular views! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Wilderness Inn

Address: 9171 West Coast Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1G3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Price Range: $211 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Wilderness Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Wilderness Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Wilderness Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Wilderness Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in the Sea Glass King Suite and it has the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles EmDee2013, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles M5846CZbrianf, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Would recommend staying in an upstairs room until sound proofing has been completed. ”
 of 5 bubbles lesliepX141KD, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“top floor double room with magnificent views over the Strait of Juan de Fuca.”
 of 5 bubbles 51brigitter, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“2 queens with forestview”
 of 5 bubbles markusg955, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay