Alpen Motel

Alpen Motel

5022 Highway 93 P.O. Box 6, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0 Canada
Traveller (30)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#11 of 17 motels in Radium Hot Springs
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Radium Hot Springs? Then look no further than Alpen Motel, a family-friendly motel that brings the best of Radium Hot Springs to your doorstep.

Rooms at Alpen Motel offer a refrigerator, air conditioning, and a seating area providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

Outdoor furniture and a picnic area are some of the conveniences offered at this motel. Barbeque facilities will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Alpen Motel, free parking is available.

While in Radium Hot Springs, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Alpen Motel, including Citadella Restaurant (0.2 mi), Old Salzburg Restaurant (0.2 mi), and Helna's Stube Restaurant (0.4 mi).

Looking to explore? Then look no further than The Home of 1000 Faces (0.2 mi), Olive Lake (0.2 mi), and Kootenay Valley Viewpoint (0.3 mi), which are some popular Radium Hot Springs attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the motel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Alpen Motel as you experience everything Radium Hot Springs has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Mountain View

Location

5022 Highway 93 P.O. Box 6, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Calgary Intl Airport
154.7 km
See all flights
80Reviews0Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 37
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
leslie026 wrote a review Aug 2021
Kamloops, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was absolutely spotless. Check-in was easy. Nice 'guest area' out back with a couple of tables, chairs, and a barbecue for guests to use - also an area you can smoke in. Top floor rooms have balconies and chairs, if you wish to sit outside and watch the traffic go by. Bed was really comfy and, even though this place is on the highway, it was dead quiet at night (and we're light sleepers). We were able to walk to all the restaurants, but walked to the pub on the main highway and the food there was great. Last time here we went to the Bavarian restaurant and it was just okay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Top floor with a balcony.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nancy Bennett, General Manager at Alpen Motel
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PMedKing wrote a review Oct 2023
Medicine Hat, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Alpen Motel. The rooms are quite spacious and the queen sized bed was really comfortable. The lady from housekeeping was really accommodating when it came to replacing our towels. There was lots of hot water and the wifi worked great. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get a top floor room with a balcony.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eric4227 wrote a review Aug 2020
Winnipeg, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
had stayed several places in radium and nearby. The standout items are it is so clean. Like immaculate beyond 5 stars I have stayed at. Place is older but super well maintained. Pride of ownership is apparent. Really beautiful with the flowers etc too! Great location would highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura C wrote a review Jan 2013
Coronation
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have only been to Radium twice, very beautiful place to visit but had an experience that was unsettling that I want to share. I had inadvertantly missed my turn so I pulled throught the Alpen Motel to turn around, management followed me to where I was staying and told me off - he was very upset that I had turned around at his establishment - I apologized many times, advising I was from out of the province, missed my turn - did not mean to upset him etc, etc, and he just carried on - advising I was packing the snow down and to go further up the hill if I had to turn around. So....due to the blantant rudeness shown towards me I will NEVER consider staying at this establishment nor refer anyone else there either.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nancy B, Manager at Alpen Motel
Responded 6 Mar 2013
I am truly sorry that you had to endure what sounds to me like verbal abuse. This happens to be a pet peeve of my husbands, and you were unfortunate enough to be the recipient of his ire. Many locals use our parking lot to turn around, and often do so at some speed. During the warmer months our dog likes to lay on the pavement and soak up the sun. Sounds like a recipe for disaster doesn't it? I hope that your comments make my husband realize that his actions do have reprecussions. Once again, my deepest apologies for his rude behaviour.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chelseasieben wrote a review May 2015
Edmonton, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My mum, sisters and I went on a all girls roadtrip this wummer before getting to our final destination. We brought along our 3 dogs, who got a little loud as there was wildlife everywhere, but were for the most part well behaved. My family and I went out to grab some breakfast before leaving the hotel, and on our way back we saw the manager leaving our room. He approached us and proceeded to tell us our dogs were being too noisy, we asked the neighbour room as they had kids if our dogs woke them asnd they said they did hear a few barks but nothing annoying enough to complain, the man claimed to have gone in and 'shushed' our dogs. scolding them, saying 'be quiet' my mum was questioning why he would enter our room to yell at our dogs, and said asked if he hurt them, which he admitted to physically smacking our dogs... NOT OKAY. He did not apologize, and proceeded to kick us out for being 'horrible people.'

this guy needs a serious reality check. It's one thing to ask to keep your dogs a bit quieter, and a whole other thing to physically harm three little dogs just because they were a bit too noisy at some points. NEVER will my family return to this horribly ran hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nancy B, Manager at Alpen Motel
Responded 28 Aug 2015
In response to the review you wrote about your stay on July 26, 2014, I will be brief. It was 8:30 on a Sunday morning. You had left the patio door and bathroom window open so people on either side of the building could hear your 3 little dogs barking. He admitted to "touching" the dogs, not "smacking" them, there is a difference!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trabug wrote a review Jan 2012
trabug
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very decent motel in Radium Hot Springs, especially considering it was one of the cheapest, but the nicest looking. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly. We received free passes to the hot springs. The motel is a five minute drive from the hot springs.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gregm3367 wrote a review Sept 2011
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent one night here on the way from Glacier NP to Banff. The motel was clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but just what you want from a place like this. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. You get free passes to the Radium Hot Springs which is wonderful. You must go there! The town is nice as well. They have great chairs out front with ottomans. We had a bottle of wine while enjoying the beautiful evening. The flowers around the hotel are fantastic. If there were any downsides it would be the bright lights at night on the balconies that you can't turn off, and the road noise from the large trucks. But the trucks stop around 11 p.m. so it doesn't affect sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gayle T wrote a review Jul 2019
Stettler, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed twice on our trip, once on our way to Washington and then on our return back. This is an older well maintained motel. It's very clean. Anything we may have needed we would have received. The owners were friendly and even pointed out the big horn sheep to us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nancy B, Owner at Alpen Motel
Responded 26 Jul 2019
Thank you Gayle. We are glad you enjoyed your stays. It was a pleasure to meet you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Basia2012 wrote a review Aug 2018
Edmonton, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We made a last minute trip to Radium mid-week and took a chance on the Alpen Motel since the sign indicated that they had vacancy. It was a great decision! The rooms were clean and updated. There were no issues at all. Very close to the hot springs. We plan to return there in the near future. There are BBQs available for guest use. The yard is covered in beautiful flowers. So handy to everything - even if you are walking. I took a lovely early morning walk to the centre of town and it did not take long at all. We are heading back to Radium next week and plan to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are rooms upstairs with balconies that look really nice.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
linad0110 wrote a review Feb 2018
Edmonton, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Couldn’t find any hotels or hostels, we had a spontaneous kind of trip and booked wherever. Found this little place and the check in lady was very pleasant and a great personality. Would stay here again, great price and friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
PMedKing wrote a tip Oct 2023
Medicine Hat, Canada738 contributions554 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a top floor room with a balcony."
Read full review
leslie026 wrote a tip Aug 2021
Kamloops, Canada240 contributions99 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top floor with a balcony."
Read full review
Randolph H wrote a tip Oct 2019
18 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would ask for a room on the front of the hotel. You can see the bighorn sheep coming to nibble on the abundant flowers!"
Read full review
Basia2012 wrote a tip Aug 2018
Edmonton, Canada19 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are rooms upstairs with balconies that look really nice."
Read full review
VacationerGP wrote a tip Aug 2017
Grants Pass, Oregon387 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ENjoyed our upstairs room with parking in rear of building with door without stairs for easy access."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Radium Hot Springs area.
PRICE RANGE
S$99 - S$212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesRadium Hot Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALPEN MOTEL: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 30 Photos (Radium Hot Springs, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Alpen Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Alpen Motel?
Nearby attractions include Kootenay National Park (0.6 km), Olive Lake (0.5 km), and Kootenay Valley Viewpoint (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alpen Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Alpen Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Alpen Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Alpen Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alpen Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Helna's Stube Restaurant, Horsethief Creek Pub & Eatery, and Old Salzburg Restaurant.
Is Alpen Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Radium Hot Springs.
Are pets allowed at Alpen Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Alpen Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Alpen Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Radium Hot Springs HotelsRadium Hot Springs Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Radium Hot SpringsHotels near Alpen Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire