We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5063 Madsen Road, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
US$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (130)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (1)

About

#18 of 23 hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our piece of the mountains lets you overlook the Village of Radium, the Purcell Mountains, and the Columbia Wetlands - truly peaceful. 16 junior suites featuring separate bedroom (queen bed) and living room (pull out couch), and one 6 person family room (featuring a bedroom, loft, and living room). All of our rooms feature incredible views, complimentary movie channels, premium in-room coffee, all-natural Rocky Mountain soap and shampoo, fireplaces in every room, unlimited access to our top of the line fitness centre, hot tub, and sauna. Gateway to the Columbia Valley, the Radium Chalet is your tasteful quality accommodation perched above the village of Radium Hot Springs, nestled against the Rocky Mountains and bordering Kootenay National Park. Only two minutes off the main highway, Radium Chalet is the perfect 'base camp' for all of your adventures- whether it is white water rafting, golfing, skiing or simply exploring Lake Windermere or the wonderful shops and farmer's markets of Invermere. You make the memories, we'll supply the place to rest. Life is good on top!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Newspaper
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino
144Reviews8Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 57
  • 21
  • 8
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
G D wrote a review 16 Sep
1 contribution
+1
We had a room on third floor… the only thing good about the place was the view. The room was dirty, furniture run down, pillows that must have been 20 years old… lights burned out or not working at all, table on the deck smeared with someone’s food and crumbs… someone’s hair all over the bathroom floor.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Just don’t until they clean it up.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Janice C wrote a review 14 Sep
Kamloops9 contributions1 helpful vote
Some hotels have beautiful exteriors and lobby with mediocre rooms, while other hotels have shabby looking exteriors but lovely rooms. This is kind of the latter. I really enjoyed this property. Stunning mountain and valley views from this high perch. Very clean room and comfortable bed. Shower water pressure is excellent. Front desk was friendly and helpful. We asked for a floor fan and extra coffee - no problem. Large balcony, fireplace in the room a nice touch. My husband and I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Top floor has taller ceilings. Corner unit has best view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Regan wrote a review Jul 2022
10 contributions
Very simple it’s gross! Very run down, dirty, stinky rooms. You couldn’t pay us to stay here. Find another place to stay. Anywhere else. Cigarette ash in the room, flys and crumbs in the fridge. Just disgusting! We were in a hurry and just booked it and didn’t read all the terrible reviews that would have had us book anywhere else. Gross, gross, gross!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
J J wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I had a three day reservation here and ended up cutting our stay in half due to the uncomfortable bed, pillows and seating. The landscape is overgrown with stairs choked in weeds. Although our room was clean, it was dark and dilapidated. Both taps in the washroom leaked constantly. The wire had been cut for the hairdryer instead of removing it. The continental breakfast in the hotel next door was a bowl of cold hard boiled eggs, Eggos, toaster pancakes and a loaf of bread. The restaurant itself was dark and filthy. This place could be a definite must see with cash spent on renovations. Replace the furniture and flooring. Paint the walls. Provide travel size toiletries-not 1/4 filled soap bottles like we had. Buy fresh bedding and pillows—our room didn’t even have fitted sheets. New mattresses are essential. Make sure doors can lock. Invest in blinds—our room had filthy blue blinds with broken chains and metal weights that wouldn’t allow them to close.( Not ideal when the bed is right at the front of the room beside the only walkway for the hotel.) Buy a weed eater. Plant wildflowers. Train your staff. During our day and a half there , they were friendly and polite but the lack of training and support was evident. It is truly baffling that this hotel’s owners aren’t capitalizing on the spectacular view to maximize their profits by improving the entire experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
John M wrote a review Jun 2022
Calgary, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the 'Radium Chalet' for one night. Only complaint is about the included breakfast. Choice is pretty limited and the hard boiled eggs were a little suspect as the yoke was pretty black. Worst was the very dirty cutlery which was wet and very visible bits of food stuck to them. I had to pass over several forks, spoons and knives before finding a reasonably clean one. Not impressed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Radium Chalet, General Manager at Radium Chalet
Responded 18 Jun 2022
Hi John, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with us. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our continental breakfast. After careful discussion, our management has decided to change our current breakfast to hot breakfast in the short future, and we also have switched our cutlery to disposable ones to offer a better experience for our guests. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back to our improved motel! Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sasha T wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Booked April 29 to May 1, 2022 - Loft Suite #321 through Booking.com I have stayed in this property many times in the past, specifically loft unit #321, with a very pleasant stay in this older property. This most recent stay in celebration of my 40th birthday with my friend and 3 children was not good. We only brought forward a list of about 8 concerns to the staff on site: (No heat, shorted light (fire hazard), black light in bathroom fixture, broken light at entrance, lack of towels/face cloths for 5 guests, shower head (included a tip for descaling), 2 BBQ lighters for the fireplace empty, request for toilet paper). It took 3 attempts for them to remedy the noted issues as follows: Provided a space heater, replaced a light after failed attempts to repair, removed black light bulb, repaired entrance light, provided additional bath towels and hand towels in place of face cloths requested which were then switched to face cloths after arriving at our unit for yet another attempt at correct things. We were provided 4 boxes of tissues for the face instead of a roll of toilet paper, which was switched to a roll of toilet paper after arriving at our unit to deal with the lack of face cloths. We were a party of 5 staying in a unit that is advertised to sleep 6 that was not prepared for our group. Despite my emailing the property to advise we are a party of 5, they assured us it would work for us on or about April 11. Upon check out, we had a detailed conversation with the man and women at the front desk who appeared to also be in charge of several other positions within the property and we were offered many sorrys, to please email the management, that they would also bring it to their attention, finding good staff or any staff is difficult and that a renovation plan is in the works. I appreciate their apologies, I appreciate their efforts to remedy the issues. I am extremely disappointed that no form of compensation was offered. In the hospitality industry, customer service is paramount, a complimentary stay for a night, a partial refund, heck even a follow-up call by management to discuss and address the issues would seem appropriate in the given circumstances.  I posted a very short negative review on Booking.com as soon as booking.com requested a review of our stay. I emailed management on May 14, after giving myself space to think, with the 46 or so deficiencies including serious safety issues with the fireplace and shorted light, advising that if I did not receive a response, I would be posting much of my email as a review. I had not received a response to discuss the issues as of May 22 and proceeded to post on Google. Where management finally responded in what seems their usual response to negative reviews, to accept and understand they have lost a customer. It seems that Radium is a tourist town and they are not concerned about revenue vs negative feedback as a result. I called the property requesting to speak to management on May 23, the man took my name and number and advised "she" would call me back. Should management address my concerns in a reasonable manner, I am happy to remove my negative reviews on all sites. Please note they have blocked my review on their Facebook page and it would seem to block anyone who provides a negative review. Beware.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Radium Chalet, General Manager at Radium Chalet
Responded 18 Jun 2022
Hi Sasha, Thank you for your comments and we are really sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. 1. You wrote us a same negative review on others websites and we have already replied to you more than three weeks ago. 2. During your stay, our staff had responded to every single inquiry you had immediately and tried our best to correct the issues for you. We are sorry that what we have done didn’t satisfy you. 3. You sent us an email on May 14th and asked for a full refund of your stay, and if we don’t meet your request, you would post negative reviews on every public website. We are sorry to hear such request from you, and we could’t accept this request. 4. Last but not least, thank you for stayed with us and we wish you all the best in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PeaGee wrote a review May 2022
Calgary, Canada160 contributions104 helpful votes
+1
The reviews and pictures on here do not accurately represent the experiences we had here. All 3 rooms were in a terrible state of repair and the whole motel needs condemning. The staff are lovely but the rooms are not. See my pictures. Aircon units smashed with electrical parts exposed. Holes in the laminate flooring, burn holes in the carpets. Door glass smashed and taped over, shoddy repairs, rotten wooden railings on balconies, tons of garbage and cigarette ends tossed into the grass below the rooms, it’s a wonder they haven’t ignited a grassfire.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pinocchio wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
You should live this motel at least once in your life! Unique mountain view, Fantastic building! Perfect location. The rooms are spacious and have all that is required according to a boutique hotel standard. The area is quite and perfect for night sleep. Cause it’s on the top of the hill!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Poisonivyjc wrote a review Mar 2022
Calgary, Canada815 contributions210 helpful votes
Stayed for one night and chose this location as it was affordable. I was attracted to this hotel for the one bedroom that is separated from the living room as I had my granddaughter with us. Upon walking into the room I was surprised u basically walk right into the bedroom. The bed is right at the wall to the walkway. The bathroom is in the bedroom with no access to anyone in the living room after whomever is staying in the room goes to bed. The bathroom door was catching on a tile so made a terrible noise. The faucet in the kitchen is almost too big for the sink. Awkward to use. The walkway between the kitchen and the living room is so tight due to the table. The fireplace was missing a couple of its river rocks. The tile was chipped which made it look dirty. No spoons in the kitchen. The one blind on the patio door was so stiff I couldn’t pull it down. I think it was missing it’s cord. The deck was dirty with old pop cans someone was using for an ashtray. The carpet is old and unsure if it’s really clean. I have stayed in a couple hotels now in Radium and this one was my least favourite. Yes the view is nice from the balcony but it’s really looking down a steep hill at trees.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Cassandra B wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We really just needed a basic room for an overnight stay with our two little girls and the layout was perfect with pullout couch completely separate from our bed. It's just so unfortunate to have it be so dirty. Hair everywhere on the sheets, bathroom floors full of hair. The carpet has never seen a vacuum. Just a shame because it has such potential with an incredible view. Just needs a few updates but having it actually cleaned properly would go a LONG way.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$160 - US$176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chalet europe motel, hotel chalet europe
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Chalet Europe
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesRadium Hot Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Radium Chalet
Which popular attractions are close to Radium Chalet?
Nearby attractions include Kootenay National Park (0.8 km), Olive Lake (0.7 km), and Kootenay Valley Viewpoint (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Radium Chalet?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Radium Chalet?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Radium Chalet?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Radium Chalet?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Radium Chalet?
Conveniently located restaurants include Helna's Stube Restaurant, Horsethief Creek Pub & Eatery, and Old Salzburg Restaurant.
Is Radium Chalet located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Radium Hot Springs.
Are any cleaning services offered at Radium Chalet?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Radium Chalet?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Radium Chalet?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.
Does Radium Chalet have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.