We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Griz Inn Sport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Griz Inn Sport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Okotoks, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been here twice in 2016 so I am writing again because I really do love this place. First time was Spring, second time was for New Years. The front desk staff are always very friendly and helpful. I find the rooms are clean and tidy when we check in. Yes, the decor may be a little outdated, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie W
Alberta
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My better half suprised me for a December getaway and we returned to one of our favourite places to ski, Fernie BC! The powder... wow... when you hit Fernie right its some of the best skiing ever! We also returned to stay at the Griz Inn which we had stayed at many years back. The ski-in ski-out location can't be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MYAG
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

Hello MYAG, Thank you for your review, we have had quite the December for snow! We are glad you enjoyed the proximity to the slopes and the outdoor hot tub, we are looking forward to welcoming you again, with that valued guest discount!

Reviewed 27 October 2016

We went to this hotel for a wedding, chose this place based on price and will never do that again. First off we tried to check in around 9pm and the office was closed and all the door were locked. There was an intercom that we pressed to speak with someone to let us in. They were very rude and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had difficulty on arrival and therefore we have reviewed arrival procedure with our staff to minimize inconvenience for guests. We have also shared your comments regarding your unit with the owner so that they can be given consideration in future owner upgrade plans. With regard to the extra charges for cleaning and for smoking:...

Taber, Canada
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We got married at the Rusty Edge which is the restaurant that's attached to the Griz Inn. All of our family and friends stayed at this property or their sister property the Cornerstone. I knew when I first called the Griz Inn and spoke to the lovely Simone I was in good hands. She worked out all the room blocks/reservations...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cristagray
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

Christa – it was an absolute pleasure to share your special day with you at The Griz Inn, we are glad you were happy with the service and hope to see you again, maybe for an anniversary?

Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Great service, great location, and beautiful mountain views. We were very happy with our stay, and appreciated the friendly staff. Our condo was clean and well equipped and met all of our expectations. We especially were pleased that our small dog was also welcome. Would certainly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherri M
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we enjoyed having you and Pepper to stay, we hope to see you again soon.

North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We and the majority of guests for our daughter and son-in-law's wedding stayed at the Griz Inn. It was good to be very close to the Rusty Edge where the reception was held. The different room configurations were great for friends and family and groups.The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. Lots of people enjoyed the hot tub. The Griz...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 213dawn
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, I am so glad that everything went smoothly with your daughter’s wedding, we wish them every happiness!

Penticton, Canada
Reviewed 24 May 2016

This worked very well for our group of 52 people. It was a school music tour to the Kootenays. Kids cooked in the rooms. The Rusty Edge, restaurant beside the GrizInn worked great for our evening party with the big group!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgrant2016
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

I am glad that your group had a good experience – you have a lot of very talented young people, we look forward to welcoming you again next year!

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Simone was so friendly and made sure our stay was comfortable. She made sure we got exactly what we wanted. The hotel is a bit dated but it was very clean and you couldn't go wrong with price, it was very affordable. Topped off with great views of the mountains.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justinf762016
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us, we appreciate all feedback and we agree, the views of the mountains are pretty spectacular!

Okotoks, Canada
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Stayed in a one bedroom with a loft. Great place to stay if you like being close to the hill. Room was clean and cozy. The bed was comfortable and clean. Had a nice little kitchen with stove, dishwasher, dishes, and fridge if you wanted to do your own cooking. The restaurant downstairs had really good food. The pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie W
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, our loft units do provide that extra space and a feeling of being in a ‘home away from home’, we would be delighted to welcome you back, you are now part of our valued guest program and are eligible for great savings when you book directly with us on your...

Alberta Canada
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We did a last minute booking with The Griz Inn. It was actually what we expected. The room (101) was clean and it had everything you needed, a well equipped kitchen. Yes, the bedding and beds needed to be replaced. In fact, the furniture and bedding/beds were outdated and probably needed to replaced. There was plenty of room for my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tompat923
Simone A, Manager at Griz Inn Sport, responded to this review

Thank you your constructive feedback. I am glad you appreciated our amenities including the full kitchen in your unit as well as the pool and new outdoor hot tub. We love the mountain views and ski-in ski-out location at the Griz Inn as well! We will share your positive comments with our front desk staff and pass feedback regarding the...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.2 km away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
468 reviews
0.1 km away
Cornerstone Lodge
Cornerstone Lodge
#9 of 22 in Fernie
36 reviews
0.0 km away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
142 reviews
6.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
5.5 km away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fernie
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Griz Inn is your family's first choice for quality accommodations on the mountain at Fernie Alpine Resort. The facility offers a full range of lodging options ranging from comfortable hotel rooms to fully equipped one-to-three bedroom suites, including loft units. Amenities include the Corner Pocket Restaurant, Top Shelf Bootfitters & Rentals (winter), indoor pool & outdoor whirlpools. The Griz Inn also offers a ski-in/ski-out location in the center of the ski resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Griz Inn Sport

Address: 5369 Fernie Ski Hill Rd, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Price Range: $106 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Griz Inn Sport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Griz Inn Sport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griz Hotel Sport
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Griz Inn Sport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view of the hill!”
 of 5 bubbles SherrieW_11, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a unit with a balcony on the front for great views of the ski hill.”
 of 5 bubbles MYAG, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Spend the extra and rent one of the condos .”
 of 5 bubbles justinf762016, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose a single room they are tiny.”
 of 5 bubbles ArthurS179, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms above the first floor are condos but worth the extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles rbarcode, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay