We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Takapuna Motor Lodge

05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Takapuna Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 87: English reviews
Start your review of Takapuna Motor Lodge
 Click to rate
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented a two bedroom apartment. The room was disgusting and damp. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and the WiFi performance was very temperamental (when it worked, it barely worked). The guy at reception didn't really know what he was doing and overall our experience was pretty poor. Avoid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willvelida
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only stayed for the one night. Room had everything we needed for 3 people. Comfortable beds. Quite location with good car parking. Swimming pool available which looked well maintained. Would have no hesitation in staying here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ganey5049
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

An older property situated on a very busy road. We were placed in rooms 3/4 but noticed a lot of noise in the evenings, some of it from nearby rooms despite clearly stated house rules. Management did ask one customer to leave early. Rooms are adequate and are suitable for self catering. A very good TV but only limited Sky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retep42
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We stayed three nights and were satisfied although found it a little expensive for the standard but all worked well so no complaints. To have a kitchen unit is handy but I do find it a bit strange being told the room is not fully serviced daily but we could have clean towels on a daily basis if requested so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hennri
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Not very clean, rubbish scattered outside, battered walls in unit - not at all what I expected for 300 per night. No privacy, everyone walking past could see into the unit (including the patched gang member who was visiting guests and who roared up and down the driveway on his motorbike). Pool not great and not very safe for our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyJanice
TakapunaMotorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Takapuna Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ShelleyJanice, I am very concerned and disappointed to read of your experience. It is never pleasant to read a review of a guest who was not entirely satisfied with their stay, as we really do work passionately every day to deliver perfect moments and in delivering exceptional service experiences. In your case I can see how disappointed you were...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

I am a regular visitor to this accommodation. The standard of cleanliness seems to have improved pretty substantially over the last 12 months which coincided with a change of ownership. It does irk me that despite my accommodation being charge back to my work that I am asked to hand over my credit card number on check in. This time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Legenderriere
Pakuranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Stayed in Room 5 over the weekend. In North Shore for a family function & this fitted the bill. Found the service pleasant, the room clean and tidy. Very friendly Motel Cat! The only minus, I found the bed rather firm. apart from that, I enjoyed my stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the2ndhasapulse
TakapunaMotorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Takapuna Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review you have posted and the time you have taken to do so. I do hope that you had an enjoyable stay. Have a nice day and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Wishes , Guri

Auckland
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I stayed 4 days at this lovely place. It was neat and tidy and everything in place and functional. The upstairs studio room was spacious and lots of natural light coming through the room. Excellent value for money. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chocfisshh
TakapunaMotorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Takapuna Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Celina G thank you for commenting on your stay at Takapuna Motor Lodge. The team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, you will need to stay for longer next time!

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

After reading reviews on here prior to my stay I was a bit skeptical but upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised, we stayed in room 24 which is at the front of the complex and upstairs. Very spacious 3 bedroom unit ($499 for 7 people), comfy clean beds. Units are in need of a bit of tlc (paintwork and carpets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ella_nordstrand
TakapunaMotorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Takapuna Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ella Thank you for commenting on your stay. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for bringing the TLC to our attention , We can confirm that hotel is going through a refurbishment which includes paintwork/ bathrooms. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Our family spent close to 2 months at the lodge and it was aptly suitable for our family of 5. I had booked the 3 bedroom apartment which had a well equipped kitchen, a large lounge area plus a balcony. Supermarkets and the main shops are also in walking distance which was essential as we did not have a personal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesclark435
TakapunaMotorLodge, Front Office Manager at Takapuna Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review on Trip Advisor of your recent stay here. I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay here with us at Takapuna Motor Lodge. Here at Takapuna Motor Lodge we strive to provide our guests with the most exceptional service as to ensure our guests...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
1.0 km away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
115 reviews
1.0 km away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
1.5 km away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
594 reviews
3.5 km away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
77 reviews
8.2 km away
Brown's Bay Olive Tree Motel & Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Two minutes to Takapuna Beach and 10 minutes to Auckland CBD. Here on business, the weekend or if you need long term accommodation, choose from our studio or 1,2 and 3 bedroom units all with full cooking facilities. 'Unwind in our tropical pool area or live it up in the vibrant Takapuna Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Takapuna Motor Lodge

Address: 28 Taharoto Road, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Price Range: $135 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Takapuna Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Takapuna Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Takapuna Motor Lodge Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Takapuna Motor Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Takapuna Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“close to the gate was good for us”
hennri, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs Room gets you away from the busy ground level”
Chocfisshh, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We saw two rooms that were equally dirty we did not stay”
Bluenanou, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Had free wifi, but extremely slow in the evenings.”
DebbieK967, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are further away from the road.”
kiwisolargal, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates