We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Old Excise House

    Laphroaig PA42 7DS, Scotland
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (59)
          Room & Suite (25)
          Dining (7)
          The Islay Hotel
          370 reviews
          #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
           
          Glenegedale Guest House
          518 reviews
          #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenegedale
           
          Islay House
          27 reviews
          #2 of 2 hotels in Bridgend
           
          Skerrols House
          128 reviews
          #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgend
           
          Overview
          • Excellent98%
          • Very good2%
          • Average0%
          • Poor0%
          • Terrible0%
          Travellers talk about
          “port ellen” (32 reviews)
          “b b” (55 reviews)
          Free Wifi
          Free Parking
          Breakfast included
          Beachfront
          Non-Smoking Hotel
          Suites
          Pool
          Restaurant
          Room Service
          All hotel details
          The Islay Hotel
          370 reviews
          #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
           
          Glenegedale Guest House
          518 reviews
          #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenegedale
           
          Islay House
          27 reviews
          #2 of 2 hotels in Bridgend
           
          Skerrols House
          128 reviews
          #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgend
           
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (129)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          There are newer reviews for The Old Excise House See the most recent reviews

          11 - 15 of 129 reviews

          Reviewed 31 May 2016

          When you visit Islay and you want to be spoiled go to The Old Excise House. Don't be fooled that this is any B&B for it's not. It's luxury served up in the form of crisp, contemporary comfort, wonderfully smooth linens and fluffy towels followed...More

          Thank Wendy P
          Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

          My wife and I are just finishing 4 nights here. The pluses are a beautiful home with wonderful views and 1 mile walk from Port Ellen on a 3 mile walk way that takes in three distilleries ( Laphroaig, Lagavulin and Ardbeg. No negatives. Our...More

          Thank Graham m
          Reviewed 2 May 2016

          Yet again Emma and Ron made our stay at The Old Excise House one to remember. A fantastic location with views to die for and the best home baking in Islay. What more could you ask for? Well the comfiest bed I've slept in to...More

          Thank Morag M
          Reviewed 25 April 2016

          We had a wonderful stay at the Old Excise House in April 2016. The rooms are lovely and incredibly comfortable. There's a communal lounge with a wood burning stove, it's a perfect place to sit after a hard day walking/drinking whisky. Emma and Ron were...More

          Thank Hapsci
          Reviewed 10 March 2016

          We had the best time in Emma and Ron's place. They are as warm and welcoming as it gets. The place is perfectly located for a short nice walk to Port Ellen and the 3 south distilleries (Laphroaig, Lagavulin and Ardbeg), so you can skip...More

          1  Thank Ireviu
          The Islay Hotel
          370 reviews
          #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
           
          Glenegedale Guest House
          518 reviews
          #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenegedale
           
          Islay House
          27 reviews
          #2 of 2 hotels in Bridgend
           
          Skerrols House
          128 reviews
          #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgend
           
          About
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Breakfast included
          • Beachfront
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Breakfast included
          Details
          • Room types
          • Suites ,
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 2
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • Scotland >
          • The Hebrides >
          • Islay >
          • Laphroaig
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (59)
          Room & Suite (25)
          Dining (7)
          Pool & Beach (2)
          Hotel & Grounds (26)
          Bathroom (4)
          Nearby
          Nearby Restaurants
          The Old Kiln Cafe
          288 reviews
          3.50 km away
          The Islay Hotel
          355 reviews
          1.66 km away
          Sea Salt Bistro Take Away
          193 reviews
          1.62 km away
          McTaggart Community Cyber cafe
          35 reviews
          1.34 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Laphroaig Distillery
          758 reviews
          .71 km away
          Lagavulin Distillery
          454 reviews
          2.25 km away
          Ardbeg Distillery
          616 reviews
          3.49 km away
          Islay Sea Adventures
          41 reviews
          1.72 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          barbara115de
          Hello, My son and daughter in law and myself are looking for accommodation for July 22-24 with two rooms. Do you happen to have availability ? Kind regards, Babette
          11 June 2017|
          Answer
          Response from islaygolfteacher | Property representative |
          Hello Babette, Thank you for your message. Unfortunately we do not have availability for those dates. I hope you find something suitable and have a very enjoyable trip to Islay. Thank you for your interest in staying... More
          0
          Votes
          Erin W
          Hi! My husband and I will be in Islay, checking in June 13 and checking out June 16. Do you have availability for us? A friend of ours recommended The Old Excise House.
          27 March 2017|
          Answer
          Response from islaygolfteacher | Property representative |
          Hi Erin, Thank you for enquiry, unfortunately we do not have those dates available. The nearest we can offer if you can be flexible are the nights of June 11/12/13. Thank you to your friend for recommending us. Have a... More
          0
          Votes
          Jenny G
          Hello, On this site I see a "Laophraig Room" with the bathtub and black and white checkered floor. But all the photos I see are from 2011. Does that room still exist? I seem to only see the Heather and Bracken rooms to book. Thank you, Jenny.
          23 January 2017|
          Answer Show all 2 answers
          Response from islaygolfteacher | Property representative |
          Hello Jenny, The Old Excise House has 2 bedrooms, The Texa and The Laphroaig Room, you can see more details on our site theoldexcisehouse I think the names you are mentioning are for a different B&B with a similar name... More
          1
          Vote
          Room Tips
          "Both rooms are lovely with great views"
          Read review
          "2 lovely rooms, both ensuite plus a lounge/breakfast room."
          Read review
          "Two lovely rooms; one has a walk-in shower and wonderful view, other a tub and hand-held shower, but somewhat..."
          Read review
          "Both rooms are beautiful"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing