We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Road Lodge Airport Cape Town

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 134: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Basic hotel very close from the airport. Pleasant staff, helpful and polite. Stayed for one night because of the proximity to the airport. If you arrive late take a shuttle for 35 rands. Uber is very cheap too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davit K
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Once you're out of the terminal you can already see the RoadLodge. In between is the carrental area. So pick up the car, 1 minute drive and you're there. In particular comfortable if you arrive late in Capetown. It's not 5 star luxury but it is decent, clean, good shower, good bed, friendly people, decent breakfast and all this for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robbert L
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 22 October 2016

I reviewed this hotel about a year ago and gave it excellent rating. However, on my visit this week, I was a bit disappointed. This time, there were only bath towels - no hand towels; and only one very low pillow per person. This did not give the the neck much support and I could not sleep all night, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 42Gill
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

The location of the hotel is good. It was easy to find using GPS. I have not stayed at a town lodge before this experience was unusual to me. There was no warm welcome. No security or potter service visible to assist guests checking in. The receptionist on duty had a corporate look and attitude. I just wanted to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lavish M
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you liked the location and convenience of the hotel but sorry to hear that you did not enjoy several aspects of your stay. As this is a budget one-star hotel, we do believe it offers value for money to guests, but we will certainly look into the matters you have raised.

Altrincham, England
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This place needs to be judged as somewhere to lay your head after a long flight or when catching an early morning departure. We arrived at 9.30 pm after a long flight from Amsterdam. You wouldn’t want to walk from the terminal in the dark; the road layout could be quite confusing, but for a modest 35 rand per person...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan321
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

As others have commented the rooms are small but functional - everything works including the wifi. The lack of lift was interesting with all our cases but staff helped us on arrival. All staff were brilliant - we used safe for a few hours whilst we went out. There is a service station within a minutes walk that was handy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skw272
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hillcrest, South Africa
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Needing to leave CT airport very early in the morning this was the logical place to stay for the night in our travels. No complaints concerning the cleanliness and functionality of the room. Space somewhat tight, but everything one needs is provided. Service was average at reception and also later when asking details concerning meals and refreshments - pretty haphazard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irishmike60
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your review and feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate that you found our hotel clean and functional but we apologise for the lack of interest shown to you when you had to enquire regarding certain amenities. We hope you will give us another chance to impress you as we do strive to give...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

The location is possibly this Hotel's best sales point. The room is very small but also well cleaned and maintained. Everything works and is in the correct place. The shower is warm but rather cramped. The room doors have a load noise which reminded me of prison movie or worse. The door slamming continues throughout the night but at least...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerty O
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Bangalore
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed only for a night as we had an early flight to catch to JHB the next day and we didn't want the hassle of travelling from the city to the airport in the early hours of the morning. The reception service was very good and they accommodated all our requests. Since we were a big group we wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N27R
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us N27R, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 6 August 2016

I wrote a very positive review when we visited 18 months ago, however I was a bit dissapointed this time around. The poor finishes of this no frills, budget hotel are showing wear. It's looking a bit tired and was not as shiny clean as before. Our room had an inter leading room and we were unable to lock the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine040
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Airport Cape Town, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We’re glad you like the convenience of the hotel but we’re disappointed about some of the other points you have raised. We will certainly looked into the points you have raised.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goodwood
9.3 km away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
0.5 km away
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
7.1 km away
City Lodge Hotel GrandWest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 km away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#111 of 197 in Cape Town
124 reviews
9.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley
10.3 km away
Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated within the airport precinct, the 90-room Road Lodge Cape Town International Airport provides convenient budget accommodation for travellers arriving in and departing from the “Mother City”. Cape Town’s CBD is just minutes away via the nearby N2 motorway and the Western Cape’s winelands and other hinterland attractions are also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Road Lodge Airport Cape Town

Address: Adjoining BP service and Filling Station. At Cape Town International Airport, Goodwood 7475, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Goodwood
Price Range: $57 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Road Lodge Airport Cape Town 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Road Lodge Airport Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Airport Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Road Hotel Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Road Lodge Airport Cape Town staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
8 months ago
Cambridge, Massachusetts
over a year ago
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Road Lodge Airport Cape Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel does not have a lift, so elderly people may find it difficult to climb the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 42Gill, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try and book a no smoking room - unfortunately we had to stay in a smoking room which wasn't great”
 of 5 bubbles Skw272, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try always for end of corridor as other guests coming in late tend to bang doors and can be noisy in the passageways”
 of 5 bubbles irishmike60, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose the bottom floor as there is no lift. There are smoking and non smoking rooms so be sure to stipulate your choice when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles Catherine040, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Wifi was free but too slow and barely functioned.”
 of 5 bubbles carterh769, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay