Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre

Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre

2 Lower Castle Street Old Market, Bristol BS1 3AD England
Room
Traveller (531)
The early morning balloons were out on Saturday morning!
Room & Suite (158)
Dining (42)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#32 of 43 hotels in Bristol
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
On the doorstep of Delta Hotels Bristol City Centre, Cabot Circus Shopping Centre stands proud. With over 120 stores, including Harvey Nichols, House of Fraser to name a few. This fantastic destination places Bristol firmly in the spotlight. Experience a wonderful mix of traditional and modern Bristol at exquisite Delta Hotels Bristol City Centre. Our hotel in southern England pampers the most discerning travelers to the UK. Located in the city centre close to businesses, shopping centres and area attractions, we offer spacious rooms with air conditioning, high-speed Internet access, and room service. Delight your palate with the satisfying flavors of locally-sourced ingredients at our Brew Bar open for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a comfortable setting. Renowned as one of the largest conference centres in southwest England, our hotel along with our superb catering and experienced staff - creates events and conferences in great style.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

2 Lower Castle Street Old Market, Bristol BS1 3AD England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
Bristol Airport
11.9 km
See all flights
Cardiff-Wales Airport
53.3 km
See all flights
2,262Reviews45Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 793
  • 845
  • 369
  • 163
  • 92
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rob S wrote a review Aug 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom25 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first hotel booking since the coronavirus crisis, so we were a bit wary about the new procedures and how clean it would be. We stayed for 2 nights, Saturday and Sunday.

We were very impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel generally and of the rooms. The superior rooms were high quality and a nice size. Some of the hand sanitiser dispensers around the hotel needed refilling however, which is something the management need to keep an eye on. Guests were on the whole observing social distancing, and the bookings for breakfast were well managed. Tip: check in early if you would like a popular time for breakfast - for Sunday morning the latest available time slot was 7.45am by the time we checked in!

Breakfast was nicer on Day 1 rather than Day 2 which was a shame. But staff were polite, courteous and pretty well organised.

The car parking however was expensive and it proved very difficult to identify a free parking bay on a Saturday afternoon. But eventually we squeezed into a tight space - again, check in early on busy nights.

Overall we would stay at this hotel again on a trip to Bristol, despite being a little noisy on a Saturday night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bexj26 wrote a review Jan 2020
Bournemouth, United Kingdom83 contributions78 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here three times now first for carnival and it was excellent location as we could walk to carnival
And in the evening easy to get to nightlife.
Other times we came for a weekend girls night out.and shopping in town.
This hotel is good I would stay again, good when you have a room with a small balcony, I can’t give it 5 because
There is not enough sockets in room when there is 4 of you wanting to charge phones and use straighteners and the dressing table lights are way to low.
The second visit the room had a musty smell, but once we opened the door a bit and started getting ready that’s was gone
These are small things though certainly not worth you not staying.
It’s very close to Cabot circus.
The bar has 241 cocktails couple hours, the menu is limited which is a shame.
The food is also to pricey for what you get, there needs to be a cheaper bar type menu.
They need to sort the lifts out here there is always one broken and you end up waiting for soooo long.
The things I’ve mentioned though wouldn’t stop me returning when the price is right.
Great staff very helpful all very helpful, they do like to check your room key when you come in quite late.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LB wrote a review May 2022
Reading, United Kingdom110 contributions74 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Arriving at this hotel you have a lovely refurbed entrance/ lifts, polite staff and the new bar/ restaurant area where breakfast is served is lovely. The breakfast on offer as well was a great spread with plenty of choice - again impeccable service. Also you cannot fault it’s location - 5min walk to Cabot circus and the discounted NCP car parking is a nice touch.

The floors with the rooms however, it’s a complete 180’. It’s tired and dated, and whilst I cannot fault the cleanliness in the room the lampshades were stained, an apparent cigarette burn mark in the desk chair, discoloured bathroom tiles, an air conditioning unit that you couldn’t have on during the night due to the noise which led to a rather hot night and just all in all very outdated.

Perhaps it’s the intention for making you not want to spend time in your room and be at the bar, but I was pleased my stay was no longer.

If the rooms could be brought up to par with the refurbished parts of the hotel, they’d be onto a winner!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FlyingRobotDog wrote a review May 2021
London, United Kingdom26 contributions39 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very slow to get checked in, and confusing at times. The exterior of the hotel and the internals of the rooms were a bit dated but perfectly acceptable for the price paid (£170 for 2 nights over the weekend in may). The carpet is a bit old, there were a few minor issues in the bathroom (loose fittings, rust, etc). The rooms however were spacious, appropriately stocked, housekeeping was good and Connor on reception was excellent during checkout.

We used the hotel bar once which was fine, if quite pricey (£4.70 for 300mL of beer or cider).

The location is good, basically on the other side of castle park from the main city centre, at night it felt safe enough and whilst there are busy roads on either side of the the hotel with not complete noise insulation, we slept fine.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amywol wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom6 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here during a training course at Bristol University, in March, because I wanted a decent morning walk before sitting in a room all day long, and again at the end of the day! The location suited me well as was close to the shops where I enjoyed spending time at the end of a hard day's work!
Food was good, bar looked good even though I didn't use it, staff were lovely and the dry cleaning service worked a treat. The rooms were a little dated with noisy air con if temperature regulation was desired. However I persoanlly quite enjoy a slightly dated appeal, so long as everything is clean and working well, and it was (crucially a fridge and a large TV). The highlight for me though was the fitness centre, which had a decent enough pool to be able to do eight strokes before turning (not bad for a hotel) and allowed me to have some very pleasant swims before turning in for the night - also a sauna and steam room! The pool aspect really makes my stay so I was a very happy customer. Had some excellent sleeps due to the high quality firm mattress.
Other things to note are that it's fairly close to Temple Meads train station - walkable in around 20mins and handy for a quick taxi trip even at rush hour. I also thought the price was exceptional value, coming in under £100/night.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lornaf691 wrote a review Jul 2021
Sheerness, United Kingdom38 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for two nights, we had a lovely stay in the middle of Bristol. The check in was very welcoming we arrived early to Bristol asked if we could just leave our luggage but they found a room that was clean for us very impressed, they even gave us a map and helped show us the way to The Harbourside.the breakfast was very well organised it was hot breakfast or cereal and served by the staff very impressed in these times. The room was clean and comfy would come back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ndavis_12 wrote a review Dec 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom148 contributions98 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this months ago with friends to visit the Christmas market. Room ready on arrival at 11 am but our friends room wasn’t so we headed to the terrace for lunch. The waitress was lovely, my husband asked could we put the tab onto our room which she said was fine. When we went to leave the very arrogant man who had started his shift after we arrived, called out to my friend saying you haven’t paid your bill. She explained it was on our room bill. He said no that wasn’t allowed!!! We paid the bill but wasn’t at all happy with his attitude. I had notified the hotel in advance that I use a mobility scooter, when we got to room 901 we were disappointed to see how small it was with really no space to put the scooter so when we needed the wardrobe or bathroom I had to move the scooter. The bathroom was tiny and dated I had to walk in sideways to close the door and when I was in there, the door was stained and there was mould on the door and floor. The air conditioning unit which was the size of a travel cot was on and we couldn’t find how to turn it off so the room was cold and very noisy. I rang down to reception to book a taxi and was absolutely disgusted when I picked up the phone, bearing in mind we are in the middle of a pandemic and everything should be cleaned thoroughly between guests - it looked like dried skin both on the hand set and base of the phone it was disgusting.
When we returned to the hotel the other couple we were with fancied a cocktail the same arrogant man was unfortunately still there and he said out of the 6 cocktails on the list only 2 were available!!!!! For goodness sake it was cocktail time as advertised 4 til 7 !!!!!!!!!
They ordered the rum cocktail but it wasn’t a cocktail just rum with ice and another spirit it was horrible and they didn’t drink them. The same waiter continued his arrogant attitude all evening with us but was super friendly with all the young girls there celebrating Christmas parties. Not impressed at all. I’m now lying in my bed on the hardest mattress ever and can’t sleep. It needs a mattress topper or a new mattress. Wont be coming back here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: I can’t upload photos but would suggest anyone booking this hotel asks if there’s any more modern...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alexandra Vasilescu, Guest Services / Front Office at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre
Responded 8 Dec 2021
Dear Ndavis_12 Thank you for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre. Everything we do is aimed at ensuring you have a fantastic stay and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to strive to deliver exceptional service. Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing aspects of your stay. Here at the hotel, we aim to provide our guests with an excellent hotel experience and we are so sorry to read that this was not the case during your stay with us. It was a shame for us to read that you found the service from our bar staff to be lacking. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with the Food and Beverage Manager who has since met with his team to remind them of the importance of maintaining our usual high levels of customer service at all times. We are sorry to read that the room you were allocated was not to our normal standard. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with our and Executive Head Housekeeper and she sends her apologies in the shortfall in standards on this occasion. Additionally, I have relayed your feedback concerning the noisy fan to our Head Engineer and he apologises for the effect this has had on your stay. We will look into this as a matter of urgency and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. Although it is never pleasant to read that one of our guests has had a disappointing experience, feedback like this is one way by which we can monitor our standards and effect change when necessary. We do hope that we will welcome you back to the Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre again soon. If I can ever be of any assistance with future arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact me. Kind regards, Alex Vasilescu
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
999695 wrote a review Jan 2020
Huntingdon, United Kingdom50 contributions63 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Two night city break with family and friends. Good central location, picked this one because it has a pool for the kids. Hotel is a concrete slab affair that is a bit dated and needs a big refresh. Rooms are big, clean and tidy but have that old feeling about them and those dodgy pillows that don’t seem able to support themselves, let alone a head. Breakfast was great, drinks at bar eye wateringly pricey, as usual, but fridge in room means you can self cater for drinks. Car park next door is a rip off, even with the discount it’s £17 for 24 hours and was virtually empty when we left. It is fairly good for security as you need a ticket to get in, although this is mainly due to the large homeless/begging issues that Bristol seems to have a lot of. Park opposite was full of tents, rats and beggars and not a good place to walk through at night. Cabot Circus is a 2 min walk down the road for lots of shops and food places and M-Shed, docks etc. are 10 mins walk. If you don’t need a pool and want better parking and nicer hotel, sister hotel Marriott Royal is the one for you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tawti_travellers wrote a review Jul 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom390 contributions142 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this hotel is spot on. Reception staff were really friendly and helpful. Parking is conveniently in the NCP next door and the hotel can validate your ticket at a special rate. I was also able to leave my car there after I’d checked out fit the remainder of the day.

Rooms were reasonably size and clean. Although this Marriott is looking a bit dated. Bathroom was a bit pokey and again dated compared to other Marriott and some other hotel chains. Room was comfortable but the air con was super noisy and had to contact reception for milk in the morning as none provided with the tea/coffee.

Overall the stay was enjoyable and would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heyjude71 wrote a review Feb 2022
Cardiff, United Kingdom29 contributions30 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a good stay, bed was comfortable, room was clean and included tea and coffee facilities, iron and hairdryer. Room also had a safe and fridge although the latter wasn’t very cold, there was an ice bucket but couldn’t source the ice machine. The bathroom was spacious and included a bath, toiletries are provided and plenty of towels. Reception staff were very welcoming at both check-in and out. If you book through booking sites a £50 security deposit is required refundable on check-out. Parking for the hotel is at the NCP next door, the hotel offers the reduced rate of £17 for 24 hours (your ticket will be validated at checkout ). The only slight issue was a housekeeper entering our room without knocking at 10am (checkout isn’t until 12pm) thankfully we were dressed and just finishing off packing our case, but could have been an embarrassing situation. The hotel is situated in a good location especially for Cabot Circus and the town centre.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alexandra Vasilescu, Guest Services / Front Office at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre
Responded 27 Feb 2022
Dear Heyjude71, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay here at the Bristol Marriott City Centre Hotel. Everything we do is aimed at ensuring you have a fantastic stay and we truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to strive to deliver exceptional service. We were pleased to read that you have enjoyed a good night's sleep and your room amenities. Unfortunately, we do not have ice machines available on floors, however, we can provide ice on request via room service. It was wonderful to read that you were well looked after by our staff at Reception. This lovely feedback has been shared with the associates who made your stay memorable during our interdepartmental meeting so that they can be recognised for their hard work. Thank you very much! Please be assured that your feedback regarding the disturbance you experienced has been relayed to our Executive Head Housekeeper and she sends her profuse apologies for this. She has since met with her team to remind them of the importance of adhering to the operating procedures in place regarding entering guest rooms to ensure that this will not happen again. I thank you for taking the time to leave us with your valuable feedback. I much hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you through our doors once again in the near future to demonstrate how we have made improvements based on your feedback. Warm regards, Alex Vasilescu
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah F asked a question May 2023
Wednesbury, United Kingdom43 contributions66 helpful votes
Hi, does this hotel have a swimming pool ?
Answer from Abe
25 contributions20 helpful votes
No
Answer from Abe
25 contributions20 helpful votes
Yes
holi asked a question Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom163 contributions91 helpful votes
Does the executive lounge offer vegetarian or vegan options for breakfast?
Answer from 2012CJ
Weymouth, United Kingdom154 contributions67 helpful votes
I don’t know we went out for meals sorry couldn’t help
Answer from KirstyH
Hi Kerrie H, Thank you for your question, all of our bedrooms and the rooftop bar are accessible via stairs. I would like to take this opportunity to mention that our roof top bar is currently closed due to ongoing maintenance and we don't have a date scheduled at this time for the reopening of this - sorry for any disappointment caused. We still have our inside Brew Bar open at this time. If you are taking the stairs and it would be easier to ensure you are allocated a room on a low floor, please give the hotel a call and we will gladly reserve a room for you on a lower floor. 01179 294281 Kind Regards, The Bristol Marriott City Centre Team
gigi344 asked a question Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom20 contributions8 helpful votes
Is the hotel Marriott City Ctre open? And so is the Pool open? Thanks
pm3187 wrote a tip 3 Jun
Westport, Ireland6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"20 minute walk from Temple Meads train station. "
Read full review
bagelobagel wrote a tip Mar 2024
Swansea, United Kingdom217 contributions142 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unless you are planning to be out for the whole evening, the executive rooms with lounge access is a nice addition"
Read full review
Paul C wrote a tip Mar 2024
Crawley, United Kingdom45 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Drink and eat out."
Read full review
KatSchrodinger wrote a tip Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom43 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"It can be a bit rough in that area after dark!"
Read full review
KeithNicholls1 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom44 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worth the extra £’s for the executive lounge"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bristol area.
PRICE RANGE
S$138 - S$262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marriott bristol, bristol marriott
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBristol
NUMBER OF ROOMS
300
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DELTA HOTELS BY MARRIOTT BRISTOL CITY CENTRE: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 565 Photos (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre?
Nearby attractions include Escape Hunt Bristol (0.2 km), Escape Hunt Cheltenham (0.2 km), and Laser Fusion (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taste of Napoli, Eat a Pitta, and Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Bristol.
Does Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting John Wesley's New Room (0.4 km), St Mary Redcliffe Church (0.9 km), and Cabot Tower (1.5 km).
Does Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Bristol HotelsBristol Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BristolHotels near Delta Hotels by Marriott Bristol City Centre
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire