We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Save
Share
5-7 Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (444)
360
Panoramas (1)
Room & Suite (271)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#30 of 46 hotels in Bristol
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more
2123Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 786
  • 825
  • 304
  • 126
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Takemeaway173 wrote a review Oct 2021
Egham, United Kingdom136 contributions77 helpful votes
Twice now this hotel over the last year has cancelled my booking only a few days before resulting in me having to book another hotel last minute at a much greater cost. When i complain they just say sorry we got a more lucrative deal so cancelled your booking and everyone else's.... terrible customer service and shouldn't be part of the Accor brand...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Wood, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Responded 5 Oct 2021
Thank you for taking the time to comment, (despite not staying at the hotel). As discussed with you on many occasions, the hotel entered a contract in August with the government for a period of four to six months. We did communicate with you and extended an offer to arrange alternative accommodation, it is disappointing that despite our efforts to assist, you feel the need to communicate through TripAdvisor. Kind regards, Michael Wood, General Manager
Read more
David Good wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
The disruption below was the room I booked and paid for to stay with my wife for a kid free night on our wedding anniversary..(..Luxurious executive room on the top floors, overlooking the tree lined boulevard of Welsh Back .Extras including a Nespresso coffee machine, bathrobes and slippers, free bottled water and a selection of soft drinks in the minibar….). We’ll where to start turned up to hotel after checking in getting keys we get the first problem get to lifts to find only one working and as we were on top floor we needed to use it after 20 minutes we get in lift finally get to our room.Lovely room go to step out on balcony to find there wasn’t one only to find I sliding window that opens about 6’’inches (so not the room I paid for!!! ) then find no mini bar no coffee machine no bathrobe no slippers I head to reception ask why I’m not in the room I paid for to be told there’s nothing we can do sorry hotel is fully booked so cannot move rooms ok so then return to the room. Then decide to get ready for our evening meal our room has no water so no showered/bath how are we supposed to get ready without water calls reception manager comes to room calls fitter but still no rooms for us to shower. We get ready any way go for dinner on our return the manager says they can’t get water in the room so she has got us another room on 1st floor we take our cases move to the smallest darkest room in the hotel (not what I paid for ) and the manager gave us a few drinks vouchers for the issues this being 21:00 hrs and the bar shutting at 22:00 me and my wife go to the bar only to be told vouchers were soft drinks or house wine no good then as my wife drinks gin so vouchers useless other than 4 lemonades so we head back to the room go to sleep only to be awoken by someone entering our room at 6:00 with a key I shout who’s there only for them to shut door quickly and exit down the stairs…. We go to Reception to check out there the manager apologised for such a rubbish night and refunded me the stay (thank you manager) it’s keen 41 days since that stay I still have not received my refund the hotel are blaming booking .com and booking .com blaming the hotel don’t look like I’m receiving my refund so please please please don’t waste your time or money booking this hotel Mercure hotel have been no help whatsoever this room was not expensive for one night at £250 but it’s the principle that I did not receive what I payed for avoid this hotel and find one that respects its customers Many thanks D Good
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Natalie S wrote a review Aug 2021
Guildford, United Kingdom42 contributions20 helpful votes
We were transferred from the Brigstow. Lovely manager called us and explained the situation which was fine - especially as the Grand has a pool and spa (or so the website claims). It seems that these facilities have been closed for years (even pre-covid). The first time we called the hotel to confirm our booking, the hotel didn't yet have the details of it transferred over and didn't say the spa was closed (even when we asked about it). It was only when we were on route to the hotel that this was clarified on the phone. Structurally the hotel is fine (though corridors can be noisy especially if your room is near a partition door which residents seem to allow to slam all night long). Rooms were hot, requiring permanent use of air con. The location is great, and the street vibrant. It's the dirtiness that put us off ... the stairs up to the rooms looked as if they hadn't been hoovered in an age. Our bed didn't even have a mattress protector on it, and the bathroom had black bits all over! The whole place seemed to run on minimal staff, which we'd have sympathy for in the current conditions, if the hotel were clear and honest about it. There wasn't a daily room service. Again, we'd understand this, but don't understand why this wasn't communicated at check in - we had to chase for clean mugs and toilet paper which our rooms kept running out of. Sad to say we won't be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
BenXRG wrote a review Aug 2021
Huddersfield, United Kingdom10 contributions6 helpful votes
A Mercure in name, but nearer to a Travelodge in standard, but without the poached eggs... The hotel has definitely gone downhill since we last stayed. The air conditioning was broken, so it was too hot at night, even with the fan provided. Only one lift worked. The mattress had had it and was very saggy in the middle, AND the chef had run out of vinegar, and apparently couldn’t cook a poached egg without it! My wife offered to show him how, but the poor young man waiting was a bit scared of the chef to pass on my wife’s offer. Also, the bar shut by 10pm on a Friday and Saturday night. Bizarre. Despite checking our reservation on the phone the day before we arrived, when we checked in, the somewhat harassed receptionist told us that we would only be staying there for 2 nights instead of 3, as the hotel had been requisitioned at less than 24 hours notice as a quarantine hotel. We were transferred to The Grand for our final night. Yes, we were offered an upgrade and half our money back, but it just went to highlight the gulf in class between the two hotels. The Grand was great, and what we would expect from a Mercure! Air Conditioning worked, great breakfast, bar open, firm mattress, less harrassed staff. Will definitely stay there next time we stay in Bristol, and sadly not at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay at The Grand!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Deeza40 wrote a review Aug 2021
Woodhouse Eaves, United Kingdom33 contributions18 helpful votes
Booking cancelled 4 days before - no explanation. When I rang was told it was closed for refurbishment which they must have had planned ages ago. Had to book another hotel last minute costing me an extra 150 pounds. Asked for the name of a manager to contact- unable/unwilling to give any name of anyone in management I could contact to speak to. Exceptionally poor service from Mercure Hotels. Very disappointing and would avoid future bookings with this company.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not book with Mercure
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$90 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure brigstow bristol hotel bristol, accor brigstow bristol, mercure bristol
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBristolOld City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Whistle Punks Urban Axe Throwing (0.3 km), Smoke & Mirrors Comedy & Magic Theatre Pub (0.4 km), and Hell In A Cell (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mugshot Restaurants, Matina, and Revolution.
Is Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Bristol.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Mary Redcliffe Church (0.6 km), New Room (0.6 km), and Cabot Tower (1.0 km).