We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Washington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Washington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

587 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 555: English reviews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had a Totally Unexpected Stay. From Monday 28th November (My GrandSons 9th Birthday) My 4th Stay at this Hotel. Very Ideally Located in Clifton which has a Frequent Bus Link to Isambard Kingdom Brunel's Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo. If You Are Able Bodied you can Walk to These Places. I Phoned The Washington Hotel and Spoke to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marija M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a lovely hotel in Clifton, very clean lovely staff , the rooms are equipped with real coffee and cafetière, and hot chocolate, towels in the shape of a swan a nice touch and fresh fruit, sadly only for the first night, the breakfast is delicious all fresh ingredients, and the breakfast staff are excellent, one small peeve you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alfie j
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear alfie j, Thank you for your kind review of the Washington - myself and my team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much - this is exactly the sort of feedback we thrive on! I have also passed your comments onto our breakfast team - they work very hard so I'm sure they will be gratefully received....

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Professional staff, relaxing facilities, convenient location. Single en suite room very comfortable. Breakfast options very good. Location convenient for nearest local rail station or 15-20 minute walk to city centre. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UncleTitan
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear UncleTitan, Thank you for your kind review of the Washington Guest House. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on your comments to my teams. We are all extremely passionate about the Washington and thrive on positive feedback, so it is much appreciated. As you pointed out, we are indeed...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I would fully recommend the Washington. The staff we're brilliant, the breakfast enjoyable and I've come away having no issues during my stay. The hotel itself is tired and the décor could probably do with a lick of paint. But saying that the slightly tired look does give it character, as opposed to the generic Travelodge look that most budget...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Daniel S, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write this review, and for your extremely positive feedback! Comments such as yours are very encouraging and I know the team will be delighted to hear them. We are in the process of updating our decor - next time you come, you will hopefully see some improvement!...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights. This hotel is budget and very basic. The rooms are old and tired but was clean. There is a car park at the rear of the hotel and you will need a pass code to get in. They charge £6 per night. Location was convenient. Breakfast was included in the price and was nothing to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sn0wy111
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Sn0wy111, Thank you for taking your time leaving us a review. I will pass on the message to our reception team, they work really hard to make our guests feel like at home. Regarding our rooms, we are going under ongoing refurbishment to update our rooms and we take great pride of our housekeeping team as they work really...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Firstly, I'd like to thank the attentive and hardworking staff. Sadly, the hotel is not up too standard. The carpets are old and tired and the room I stayed in had not been decorated for decades. The curtains did not even fit the windows. I appreciate the building is grade two listed but that does not warrant windows that do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marvalite
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Marvalite I’m very disappointed to see that you haven’t enjoyed your stay with us. We are under ongoing refurbishment project and the bathroom next to your room was temporarily out of service as it was being refurbished. It is opened at the moment as has a brand new shower installed. The nearest bathroom to your room was approximately 10...

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend my sons graduation ceremony at the cathedral. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The car park was very handy and good value at £6 per night. The hotel was very convenient for the city centre and Clifton. I booked it through a travel site it was very good value it also included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Caroline K, Thanks for leaving such a nice review. Our reception, housekeeping and breakfast team work really hard to make our guests stay comfotable. We encourage our guests to book direct with us, and also to join our Loyalty Card Scheme and get discounts in their next stay and food and drinks from any of our hotels and restaurants....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel may represent a budget option for short periods. The building is definitely quircky and in need of renovation, but the rooms are clean and the staff (the key strenght!) is friendly and hepful.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GermanoF
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear GermanoF, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us; it's fantastic to see that you thought our team has provided you with friendly and helpful service. We work very hard to ensure our guest get comfortable and relaxing stay, our team goes above and beyond to ensure...

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night in a single room. Staff were welcoming and polite and efficient but the building is just awful. The decor in the room tired, dated and shabby. Bathroom suite awful, lime scaled taps. Bed was dreadful, old and uncomfortable. Bed sheets clean but not the blanket on top of the sheet nor he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzieheller007
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Suzie, I'm very saddened to see that you didn’t have a pleasant stay with us especially as it is very unusual for us to have feedback like this. The room that you have stayed in has a brand new bedbase and new mattress which we feel are of excellent quality. They are from an excellent hotel bed supplier that...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was not expecting much after reading some reviews, the room we had was small stayed for two nights but it was clean and tidy. The carpets do need replacing along with the general decorations, burn in the net curtain,carpets thread bear in places. Bed was really comfortable though. On arrival the receptionist was very polite giving us all the information...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnLouise31
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear DawnLouise31 Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I’m very glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has provided you with excellent customer service. We are under ongoing refurbishment project and this month we are awaiting for new carpets to 11 rooms and the room that you...

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 km away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 37 in Bristol
580 reviews
0.5 km away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#30 of 37 in Bristol
486 reviews
0.6 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#26 of 37 in Bristol
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
384 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Washington

Address: 11-15 St. Pauls Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $74 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Washington staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Bideford, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Washington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Anything You Need Or Any Information You Need Just Ask. ”
 of 5 bubbles marijam173, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Staff will take your case upstairs so don't worry about the lack of elevator”
 of 5 bubbles crispyonthemove, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor if you have mobility problems- lots of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Warwickgirl06, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“My room looked onto hotel-entrance and street; ground floor, with easy access to reception and breakfast area. Suited me perfectly.”
 of 5 bubbles fredro2014, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Personally felt hotel poor and basic this reflected in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles vickymorris2801, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay