We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Clifton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Clifton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

577 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Clifton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 555: English reviews
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Stayed in room 61, on the third floor, the room was tiny and smelled funny with a small dresser and a stool as the only furniture other than what i thought was the boiler cupboard but was actually a little wardrobe. there was stains all over the walls and the bathroom was vile. the bedding was clean but one of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dan-Champion
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dan-Champion, I am really disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. As I’m sure you can tell from the reviews below this isn’t the norm. As we are situated in a listing building some of our rooms are smaller than others. If you had mentioned this to our reception staff they would have been more... More 

Great Bookham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2015

nice hotel we had single rooms that were fairly small but fine with en suite. very clean with daily clean towels. Friendly staff. excellent bar under this hotel with excellent food and nice ambienceWill be returning with my wife

Helpful?
Thank colin272
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear colin272, Thanks so much for this review! Great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and that everything was to your liking. As we are situated in a listed building some of our rooms are smaller than others. If you do require more space please do get in contact and we can assign you a room... More 

exmouth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

Staff were very good and we were met with a very warm welcome. Room was ok comfy bed small shower and bathroom. Nice spot for Clifton and a walk into Bristol riverside. The breakfast was fine hot and plenty comfortable breakfast room. No dramas here bug would to stay longer than a night.

Helpful?
Thank clive63Exmouth
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear clive63Exmouth, Many thanks for this review. I am glad that our hotel served your well for your short stay. We are indeed in a very convenient location – only 10mins walk away from the centre of town with excellent bus links to the station. It is great to hear that your room was comfortable and the breakfast very pleasant.... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2015

I booked this hotel as part of my best-man duties for my friend's stag do. Twenty of us stayed at The Clifton for two nights and we all had a great time! Gabo handled the booking process and was on hand to answer all my questions, make changes to reservations and generally keep me calm when having to organise such... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobBton
WashingtonManager, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RobBton, Thanks so much for this very thorough and positive review! It is really encouraging to hear that everything from the booking process with Gabo, to the service of our reception staff was to such a high standard. Our reception team work really hard to help out our guests as much as they can with directions, taxi’s etc despite... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2015

I booked a room here for my parents when they came to visit in June and they left feeling extremely happy about their 4 night stay! They praised the staff, both in the hotel and restaurant. The had one of the executive double rooms, with big windows and a nice bathroom with a big shower! Reception met us with smiles... More 

Helpful?
Thank VRasmussen
Jamie-Lee V, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VRasmussen, Thank you very much for your review of The Clifton Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that your parents enjoyed their stay with us and that they found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. I will be certain to pass your kind comments on the hotel and restaurant team. We do hope to welcome you back... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Used hotel mainly as a base for a short break in Bristol. Didn't have breakfast as at £8.50 each we had two breakfasts for that price in Wetherspoons, Room was clean, the towels (initially shaped as two swans) were replaced every day. Fresh fruit was left in the room every day. Ample hot water in the bathroom and a very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nermal12
Jamie-Lee V, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nermal12, Thank you very much for your lovely review of The Clifton Hotel. I am very happy to hear that you found the room to be clean and suitable for your daily needs. I am pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary fruit that we provide in all our rooms and that you found the hotel to be good value... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 5nights while on a training course in Bristol University. I was in room 36 on the 1st floor. The room wasn't that big and the decor was extremely outdated. There were stains on the carpet, curtains and armchair and the linoleum on the bathroom floor was bubbled. The bed linen was clean enough but consisted of an... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Aoibheann B
Jamie-Lee V, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aoibheann B, We are in the process of refurbishing our rooms and therefore are able to offer both Executive Rooms and Standard Rooms depending on our guests’ needs and budget. Our front of house team are always more than happy to offer rooms moves if a guest is not completely satisfied with their room. I am very pleased to... More 

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2015

It is in a good location with shops and restaurants within walking distance. City centre is a short bus ride. The staff are friendly and helpful but the hotel itself is shabby and smelly in places. Expense has been spared and if you book through an online service you get hit with annoying petty charges for everything. Not much parking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 921bear
Jamie-Lee V, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 921bear, The Clifton Hotel is indeed ideally located just a few minutes walk from many shops and restaurants around the Clifton Triangle and on Park Street. I am very pleased to hear that you found our front of house team to be friendly and accommodating, I will be certain to pass your kind comments onto my team. We do... More 

Pateley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2015

MY TIP: ring them, don't use the online booking service, as I got a better rate than I could've done via their website. I had a small single which was quite tiny but well-appointed - rainfall shower head, small fridge, huge (almost floor-to-ceiling) window, single-use cafetiere for ground coffee and loose tea leaves (both provided), fresh fruit each day, and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
Jamie-Lee V, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon M, Thank you very much for your lovely review of The Clifton Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be good value for money. I am very happy to hear that you were able to get the best available rate when booking directly with us and... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2015

this is a pretty shabby hotel and quite expensive ... it is a good choice if you just need a clean room and a place to sleep but don't expect too much. the location and the breakfast are actually quite good

Helpful?
1 Thank Holger K
Jamie-Lee V, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Holger K, I am disappointed to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of refurbishing 10 more rooms this year and are able to offer both Standard and Executive Rooms depending on our guests’ needs and budget. We are indeed in a great location close to Clifton Village, 15 minutes walk from... More 

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 km away
The Washington
The Washington
#30 of 36 in Bristol
584 reviews
0.5 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#25 of 36 in Bristol
466 reviews
0.7 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#27 of 36 in Bristol
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#29 of 36 in Bristol
484 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
1.2 km away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#21 of 36 in Bristol
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: $76 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Clifton Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Clifton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor has least noise from the bar and road, but the walls are thin.”
 of 5 bubbles 356JudyS, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 22 which is the opposite side to the restaurant racks”
 of 5 bubbles LPG52, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had an executive double”
 of 5 bubbles 956tracy, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No sure maybe all rooms are same”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The picture on the website is not a true representative”
 of 5 bubbles 944patrickb944, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay