We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Portland Arms

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Portland Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
Start your review of The Portland Arms
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited for a gig by 'Kebu' the Finnish analogue synth musician. The pub serves a good array of real ales, and standard draughts, plus importantly a good draught cider, as well as standard Strongbow. The small music venue through the pub and out the back was a wonder in compact venues. With it's own bar, and surprisingly good acoustics. I've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Myke C
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Called in the middle of the day for a quick snack. It was empty, but then again so are many pubs at that time. Decor is scruffy although locals may well see it as 'lived in'. The barman was pleasant, good humoured and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UlsterFryNo1
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Visited this pub for band comp and decided to eat while waiting. Ordered 4 meals,scampi and burgers with fries. Waited almost 45 minutes and when did arrive was cold,had waited so long was to hungry to send back and was short of time. While we where waiting table next to us had ordered sunday roast x 3 and ALL had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steven p p
Steve P, Owner at The Portland Arms, responded to this review

Hi Steven Thanks for your feedback and sorry that you experienced such a wait for your food and that it was near cold on arrival. As well as the band competition it was also the Cambridge half marathon so we had a flood of people in, all ordering food and drink at the same time. The bar staff were trying...

Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

On the day of the Cambridge half you'd expect the local pubs to be busy and the Portland was completely unprepared, hardly any staff so the wait for drinks at the bar was over 15 minutes. We ordered food and an hour later when we were still waiting we went and asked where it was and were told it would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BluePurrl
Steve P, General Manager at The Portland Arms, responded to this review

Hi Blue Purrl Thanks for your feedback. As well as the half marathon we were also hosting the first heat of the Cambridge band competition, both busy occasions which we wanted to have as many staff on as possible. Unfortuenelty on the day we had several people ring in sick across our three pubs so we were left with just...

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

The Portland is a regular lunchtime destination as it's the closest one to the office. Nevertheless in 5 years it has never disappointed. The beer's good and the food is always tasty, hot and delivered quickly. For us oldies spotting tunes on the eclectic jukebox is always fun. Staff are genuinely nice people. Recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siulador
Cambridge
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Consistently high level of service if you're a sherry fan - this is the 5th year we have been delighted by this superb, friendly pub. We popped in en masse, unannounced, at the end of our Annual Sherry Review evening and were provided with countless glasses of chilled dry fino and accompanying savoury nibbles. Knowledgeable staff and a very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vizzage
Steve P, Owner at The Portland Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words, hope to see you again next year! Steve

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The Pub and Staff and food all fab and I had the most fantastic night after meeting the band in the bar and having drinks with them before and after the gig. I was on my own so was over the moon that I was never left just sitting on my own and made so welcome. But the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorisedwards31
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here for two nights! Friendly and helpful staff, really good pub food, excellent juke box and pool table In the actual pub area. Room was well equipped, clean and cosy, be aware that the rooms are close together so unfortunately we did hear our neighbours TV and snoring one evening! Well with walking distance of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I go to this pub on a weekly basis, and am a happy customer. The food is really good - a definite cut above standard pub fare. Tonight I had the macaroni and cheese, and it was by far the best mac and cheese I've had in the UK. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, the outdoor area is lovely,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluesunquake
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

After being unable to get a meal near our accommodation so ended up searching the town for parking. Tried to use Park & Ride bus but found it finished at 8:30. Parked near this pub/hotel and as there was nothing much else appealing went for a meal. Pub a bit dingy, food acceptable but chips were skinny fries that went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael N

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 km away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
672 reviews
0.2 km away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
161 reviews
0.3 km away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#15 of 122 in Cambridge
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Your Space Apartments The Hamiltons
0.6 km away
Lux Living Apartments
Lux Living Apartments
#6 of 37 in Cambridge
6 reviews
0.6 km away
Worth House
Worth House
#3 of 122 in Cambridge
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Portland Arms is a traditional pub serving fine real ales, home-cooked food and a warm welcome. 2 minutes walk from the river cam and a 10 minutes walk from the historic city centre the Portland Arms is in easy reach of all Cambridge amenities, is on major bus and cycle routes and is easy to reach via the A14 and M11 motorway. There is parking available in the local area along side streets. All rooms are room only board basis. We have 3 letting rooms consisting of 1 double and 1 twin room and 1 with a double bed and sofa bed. All rooms come equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, TV and use of free Wi-Fi internet. Note: rooms are not en-suite, bathrooms shared between the three rooms. We are a noted Live Music Venue with entertainment most nights of the week. Check our website for current program of events. The pub is also famed for the quality of Its Ales and food with two bars with wood panelling and real open fires, pool tables, and sky sports. Please note that the pub is not open for breakfast but there are a couple of excellent cafe's nearby serving food early. Due to the age and nature of the building, rooms are unsuitable for mobility impaired or young children. Parking: No parking on site, street parking or pay and display available opposite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Portland Arms

Address: 129 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Portland Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portland Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portland Arms Hotel Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Portland Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“didnt have a room”
stevenpp2014, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Well stay somewhere else very near by but it was cheap and for one night to see a band fine. And make sure you wear very large earplugs.”
Dorisedwards31, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay, just reviewed the food”
M5456SGmichaeln, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Only 3 rooms and shared shower room and separate toilet.”
cazmerc2014, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Its in a Pub so expect noise”
933JohnB933, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5