We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,854 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,783: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed the bank holiday weekend here. The rooms are very large and well appointed. We had a balcony room overlooking the river (though there isn't actually a balcony). The hotel is by the river in a central location so it's easy to walk to the colleges, central Cambridge or walk along the river. Staff at the hotel are very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve J
Isabela R, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Steve J, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know that the extremely convenient location of the hotel helped you enjoy your bank holiday weekend even more. We appreciate your comments about our team members and the rooms, and whilst we are sorry that you felt the hotel was expensive, we are pleased to know that overall... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

Arriving Saturday the reception staff were lovely as we had booked through the Hilton we were given cookies and a free drink Our room was superb overlooking the river and gardens. Spacious clean and warm. We had a day without hot water, however the staff especially Francko was helpful and caring. The water eventually worked apparently the boiler broke The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shawdlkaz
Isabela R, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Shawdlkaz, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge hotel. We are very pleased to know that you appreciated the hotel’s features and our food at the Marco Pierre White restaurant. In regards to the hot water, we apologise for the inconvenience and we... More 

Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Booked for a visit to Cambridge with partner, location is a short distance from centre which was good but the hotel wasn't too great! Greeted with a complimentary cookie (which was nice) but the receptionist wasn't very helpful, didn't explain clearly about extra charges we had to pay, didn't seem friendly and just wanted to check us in quickly. No... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sticky212
Isabela R, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sticky212, Firstly, we would like to thank you for your review. Secondly, we are sorry to hear that you had some issues with the extra charges at the hotel, hot water and swimming pool. I will pass your comments to the Reception to make sure that relevant staff training will be implemented immediately to prevent such issues from reoccurring.... More 

South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2015

At £19-50 and £22.50 for gluten free cream tea per person you would expect it to be fabulous. One tiny scone, not much offering of jam and clotted cream and one round of thin sandwiches. Few small cakes on top tier - all in all bit of a joke. Lovely location but they are not delivering value for money

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth021
Isabela R, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth021, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am very sorry that you were unhappy with your afternoon tea. Our Afternoon Tea is very popular at Marco Pierre White Cambridge, I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I can assure you that we take all comments on board and I will pass... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2015

Stayed for a couple of nights while visiting Cambridge. This is a nice modern hotel with a really good location. Very close to collages and center for bars and shopping. Nice beer garden at rear on the river. Relaxing and a lovely view. Breakfast is self service with lots of choice. Staff were very professional and friendly. Rooms were clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul J
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Paul J Thank you for your appreciative feedback and constructive comments. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities whilst visiting Cambridge. However, please accept our sincere apology for the disappointing main meal you had at the restaurant. This is completely unacceptable and certainly not up to our usual standards. The Head Chef... More 

cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2015 via mobile

Probably best to park nearby, take a drink by the river but take afternoon tea elsewhere. At DT afternoon tea is£19. Fitzbillies or Browns £12 but better quality plus parking £8/2hrs a bit cheaper than the £19 at Doubletree. DT I suggest you upgrade the quality and allow free parking for those spending £50 or more.

Helpful?
Thank PJMCambridge
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear PJMCambridge Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to read your comments about your latest visit to the DoubleTree by Hilton Cambridge for an Afternoon Tea. We were however a bit confused about your comments regarding the car parking charges, £19 is the price for overnight stay in our car park. Alternatively, when parked on the property... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Great location and the hotel was basically very good if getting a little tired. Many facilities, and parking at a price but Cookies do not make up for lack of air conditioning and cramped facilities in some of the rooms

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank philippay2015
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear philippay2015 Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We understand from your scores that despite overall enjoying your stay with us, you were concerned with some of the features and prices of the hotel. We obviously don’t offer a warm chocolate cookie on arrival as a way to make up for any deficiencies but as a sign of our... More 

cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Very nice Hotel situated in the best place for exploring this lovely city.so nice to relax and have a drink overlooking the river Cam. We have already recommended to others this hotel. Will certainly look for Hilton Doubletree when we visit other places.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank neil1948
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Neil1948 Thank you very much for your most kind review. We are delighted to read that you had such a lovely stay in Cambridge. Thank you for your vote of confidence whereas you will stay in a Hilton DoubleTree when visiting other places, we appreciate this very much as it is our mission to be the first choice of... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

Great hotel in a good location. Rooms were clean and well equipped. Staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of options to suit everybody. Nothing at all to complain about apart from the price of the parking, which I had been made aware of beforehand, of £19.50 per day. However, I am unsure whether this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoMichelleB
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear JoMichelleB Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that your girls’ weekend break was so pleasant. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its location, as well as the well equipped and cleaned rooms and most importantly the courteous, friendly and helpful service from our team members. With regards to your comment about... More 

Grimston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2015 via mobile

Just had a fabulous weekend away with three friends at the hotel.. Staff were very efficient and helpful especially the breakfast staff. Breakfast was superb and plentiful and no rushing us out! Position of Doubletree is absolutely ideal for a wkend break. Leave the car and wander around Cambridge on foot with no worries! Lucky to have great weather and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wilf7
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Wilf7 Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your friends had such a fabulous weekend away in Cambridge. We are very pleased to that you appreciated the hotel’s features and more importantly our team members’ efficiency and helpfulness, they will be very happy to know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. Looking forward... More 

296 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.1 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 35 in Cambridge
2,053 reviews
0.8 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 35 in Cambridge
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cambridge
380 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 35 in Cambridge
795 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#7 of 35 in Cambridge
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $207 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Bowmore, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Wymondham, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River rooms are much nicer”
 of 5 bubbles peterv120, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Requested high floor in advance, but only one of us was given this”
 of 5 bubbles jtuxford, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask not to overlook the spa as it is being renovated”
 of 5 bubbles juggsy, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the gardens or canal”
 of 5 bubbles Angelacummings, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Facing the river if you are prepared to pay a little extra”
 of 5 bubbles WILLIAMW681, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay