We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Gonville Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,659 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,599: English reviews
Start your review of The Gonville Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have been here a couple of times before, and I can say the rooms are very nice and the furnishings (and plumbing!) very good quality. This quality applies to beds and pillows first of all. The whole hotel is cosy and stylishly furnished. On the downside, breakfast costs 16 pounds, which is totally overpriced as there's nothing exceptional about it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simona P
Nottinghamshire
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had originally booked for a night in December and due to problems we had to reschedule to April and the hotel were very accommodating when we explained. The location is excellent as close to many of the sites whilst also having its own parking, for which a fee is now payable. Bedrooms well appointed and quiet. Staff in Bistro...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGB
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have been to few Hotels and this has been beyond my expectations The staff and management go above and beyond to please . Me and my wife have really enjoyed our stay very pleased the Hotel I will definitely come back for short breaks Big Thank you to Elliot and Emily for great service great stay and a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ad L
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel here is ok, friendly staff, clean rooms and a great location. However the beds are rather uncomfortable, the bathroom doors slide and don't close, there is a huge gap between the door and the wall! Also several times during the night there was a loud humming noise waking us both up. The bar area was nice - and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hellothere29
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My boyfriend and I decided to visit Cambridge for a weekend and we stayed at The Gonville Hotel. It was a delight from start to finish. We were offered freshly baked cookies on check in and shown to a beautiful luxury double room. All of the staff we encountered from reception, to the bar, at breakfast and for room service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank felynch
Brussels
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Super service. Nothing too much trouble. Really enjoyed the stay and the free bike hire. Great breakfast. Comfortable, calm and clean room. Free cookies in reception. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brussels_Voyager
New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Its the staff that make this such a nice hotel - from Elliot to Emily and Adam (hope that's his name, in Housekeeping) they all go that extra mile to make your stay perfect. Its a lovely old building in a wonderful location for walking around Cambridge. Loved the interior. The room was large and very clean and was at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melsian
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Situated right opposite a huge common where the kids could play and we could go for pub dinners. Close to all the colleges yet not right in the crush of crowds that descends on Cambridge on weekends. Breakfast was generous in variety and taste, served in a bright room by pleasant people. We didn't try Cotto but it looked rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gfrank11
Heanor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This a a really lovely hotel in a great position. However, the service was truly chaotic unfortunately (couldn't find my booking for 15 minutes, put in the wrong room, when I moved rooms (myself!), someone else's luggage was in the room, in-room iPad didn't work, room service phone didn't work, etc, etc) Quite frankly, a whole long list of 'first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris-and-Miki
Christopher O, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris-and-Miki, Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for your recent experience not being up to our usual high standard. I can assure you that this does not happen every day and was due to a glitch with our new computer system. Thank you for your patience and understanding in dealing with this matter, I would very much like the...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel in excellent location. Nice rooms and very good service. Only gripe was we didn't think the 16 pound a head breakfast was very good value. one mushroom, one sausage , one tomato. you get the drift. Apart from that a good place top stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank warwickmadeleine

362 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Classic Double 116 (24)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Superior Garden View 232 (20)
Viewed
Superior Park View 114 (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,226 reviews
0.2 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
399 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.6 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,117 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $227 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gonville Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Hailey, Idaho
over a year ago
Foster City, California
14 days ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Gonville Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Adjoining rooms (for families) need to be specifically requested in advance. Handicapped rooms have adjoining doors too.”
gfrank11, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the rooms close to the street are sometimes noisy (there's a firestation nearby)”
dannyp965, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check the air con works.”
Ktcarr, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I asked for a quiet room at the back as the road in front of the hotel is always busy.”
Gail-LindaDeal, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter as the road at the front is quite busy”
journeyjunkie, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5