We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Booking.comUS$178*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$178*
US$178*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

868 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 853: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel du Vin Cambridge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lots of stairs and dim lighting, so not ideal for elderly/disabled. Lots of running water noise throughout the night. Bar area very busy. Good restaurant with well presented and enjoyable food. Overall very expensive, taking advantage of its location in the centre of Cambridge.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James G
Wesley R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi James Thanks for feedback, the right hand side of our building is more accessible with lift access. We would be more than happy to allocate rooms on that side on your next stay, please let our reception team know and they would gladly help. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A charming yet funky hotel within walking distance to all attractions in Cambridge. Almost directly across the street from the Fitzwilliams Museum and very close to the botanical gardens. The rooms are all different. Our was quiet and cozy. Well-appointed with a large bathroom and comfortable bed. A slew of magazines and a complimentary water and wifi. The front office...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachseeker14
Wesley R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Beachseeker14 Thanks for your lovely feedback, I will pass this onto the team and we hope to welcome you back to HDV Cambridge soon. Regards

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good hotel in general, nice atmosphere and friendly. However, things are a little disorganised. I asked valet service, told that I need my car at 4pm, expected to be ready. But when I went down at 4pm, the reception went to call the service then. I waited for 8minutes to get in. On the day of leaving, I again asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yukiko66
Wesley R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Yukikoo66 Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay, I will pass on your feedback to the team regarding your stay and we will use this feedback to help in training the team on valet parking. Regards

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for my wifes 40th birthday and had a wonderful time. The cinema suite KRUG, was superb! Comfy bed and good housekeeping. A special mention of the cocktails we enjoyed in the bar, mai tai and delux mojito were probably amongst the best we've had in Cambridge. Soto the gentleman who served us made our night memorable with his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teo Allen O
Wesley R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Teo Thanks for your lovely feedback and really happy you enjoyed your time with us. Sotos is a great asset to our team and I will pass on your feedback to him. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was our first anniversary and we were excited to go to Cambridge courtesy of some friends as a wedding gift. The hotel was brilliantly situation within walking distance of all the sights. The reception was dark and gloomy but I loved the mural and was talking to Lauren (the manager) about it whilst my husband parked his car. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soomagoo06
Wesley R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your feedback, I have asked one of the management team to contact you and discuss this further as we would love to make this up to you and restore some faith in HDV Cambridge. Regards

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had Sunday lunch which was a 4 course set price meal but there was nothing ordinary about it as each course was served to impress. The ambience, decor and service did them justice and I have no doubt we will be returning. Location wise it's only a short walk from the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deckchair1
Wesley R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Deckchair1 We really happy you enjoyed your Sunday brunch with us, we are very proud of this offering and we hope to see you and your friends soon. Regards

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great meal was marred by obtrusive service. My memory of the evening is not the great meal (which it usually is at HdV) but being constantly interrupted by the staff to ask if all was well or 'would I like...'. The young staff were clearly trained to be attentive... I would actually like them to be less attentive and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amakeham
Wesley R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Amakeham Thanks for your feedback and we will pass this onto the relevant team. Regards

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One night in Studio room. Hotel needs to reinvest as the rooms are tired and need upgrading. Service and location good. Good breakfast in bistro. Our room was at front so quite noisy with traffic. Valet parking

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Wesley R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your honest feedback, we as a company have recently acknowledged this feedback and are currently working towards a refurbishment plan. Regards

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had lunch here and it was very disappointing. The waitress refilled our glasses leaning across us. I had the smoked haddock chowder which was completely revolting. It involved a spoonful of smoked haddock and then a jug of warm milk poured on top. The paté was apparently good, as was the octopus, but the aubergine caponata with halloumi involved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j0sh2000
Wesley R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Josh Sorry you feel that way about your recent lunch we have now just changed the menu and are very proud of the new product since your last lunch, I would be happy to talk through this and see how we can rectify this for you. Regards

sheffield
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This could be an absolutely brilliant hotel but we didn't have the best experience so I have given a rating of average even though we left very disappointed. Located in the heart of Cambridge this is ideal for exploring the beautiful City. The hotel is very well decorated with cost nooks and crannies in the bar area and the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seasonedtraveller55
Wesley R, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this review

Hi Seasonedtraveller55 Thanks so much for your honest feedback and once again we would like to apologise for the noise from the room below. You have mentioned that you would try us again and we really hope that you will, I ask that you contact my reception manager when you do so that we can make this up to you...

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.3 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,251 reviews
0.5 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,681 reviews
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.4 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: $293 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin Cambridge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Cambridge
over a year ago
Houston, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin Cambridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“DON'T have Villa Maria”
soomagoo06, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for possible upgrade at time of booking, request one with roll top bath”
Brenbig, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just be nice when checking in and the receiptionist will do their best to upgrade you. I know we were at no additional cost.”
1024cbg, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose a room that does no tface the street”
BrennaBee, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are travelling with pets, get a room right by the terrace.”
letusflourish, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$178* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$178
Expedia.com
Hotwire.comUS$178
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates