We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oddfellows

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Oddfellows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

958 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 953: English reviews
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights for my Daughters Wedding. The service generally was excellent. The food was faultless and the decor was very interesting and querky. The room however was not fantastic. It was dim and difficult to see to get ready. The TV reception was poor and the wardrobe was dusty inside as was the towel rail in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
north wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very hard to pick fault. Really nice place with attentive staff. We booked the duplex and although beautiful throughout we both felt that the bathroom door should be frosted top to bottom. The bathroom is the only place I expect privacy but dependant on where your other half is at the same time too much on show. Also when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephen e
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Can not fault this hotel. From the moment we checked in we just knew we had found the perfect place to stay. All the staff were polite cheerful and proffesional and made us feel like special guests. The room was amazing ! Luxurious stylish an unique loved the light bite breakfast idea. The outside seating area is also a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank winmos
Management response:

Dear Winmos, Thank you for your lovely comments - it means so much to the team to receive such positive feedback. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will let the team know how happy you were with their service. I'm glad too, that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast to go. And that you had the chance to... More 

Formby
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for one night in The Newbrook and had a fab stay. The staff were all lovely. The room was amazing and the Secret Garden was not like being outside at all. We didn't eat here so can't comment on the food but I'm pretty sure it would be as good as everything else. Ideal location with an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Val O
Management response:

Dear Val O, Thank you for a lovely review - we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We're so glad you enjoyed the Newbrook - it's definitely a room with bags of character! And so pleased you enjoyed the Secret Garden. And that you felt warm - we agree that... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I recently stayed and loved the hotel. Rooms were spotless and a great design. Reception team were so helpful especially Hanna the reception Manager. Would recommend to anyone! Well done on an excellent service.

Helpful?
Thank salsa916
Management response:

Dear salsa916, Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us - we really appreciate you taking the time to do it. And we're delighted that you loved the hotel. Your comments will be passed on to Hannah (who is wonderful -we agree!) and to the housekeeping team. We hope you can come back again soon and look... More 

Macclesfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a lovely boutique hotel. My mum and I decided to go to Chester for the day for some Christmas shopping and an afternoon tea. We googled the best places for afternoon tea and this hotel was one of the places that came up. When we arrived at the hotel we were ignored by staff for ages and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank LearTARD
Management response:

Dear LearTARD, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us and for searching us out for 'the best' afternoon tea. Thank you too for letting us know that you enjoyed the afternoon tea, we will be sure to pass your comments on to our chefs. They try really hard to make it a little bit different than your... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We hired the madhatters private dining room for 10 of us last night. It wasn't cheap (£39 for three courses on a reduced menu before drinks etc), but it felt like a special treat. The meal was lovely and the chef catered for my fussy tastes by letting me chose from the main menu. We had a dedicated waitress for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanna D
Management response:

Dear Joanna D, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your private dinner with us in our Tea Rooms- we're so pleased you felt like it was a special treat as that's exactly what we try to achieve! And we'll let chef know that you were pleased that he could be flexible with... More 

York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here for an overnight stay for my birthday and to do some xmas shopping (Saturday night) being 7 months pregnant we were looking forward to some last minute chill out time. That it was not! Lovely premises and food. Decided to get an early night around 10 went to our room to watch tv couldn't here it for function... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bannana85
Management response:

Dear Bannana85 Firstly, can I just thank you for taking the time to write this review. As much as we try to deliver an excellent experience, we realise that in this instance you have felt disappointed and we can only offer a very sincere apology for that. The events you describe are in no way acceptable, as a policy we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting Chester and stayed at this Hotel on Saturday and Sunday night. The Saturday night price was extremely high at £190 for room without breakfast but since it was described to us as 'The Cottage' we mistakenly assumed this implied a luxury experience. It wasn't. We had one room with open bathroom. It was small/medium sized and rather... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
Management response:

Dear Ian D Thank you for taking the time to give us the feedback of your stay with us. All feedback is very valuable to us as a business, it gives us the insight to make sure we can improve on the parts of the business that may need improving. Firstly, we are sorry that you felt disappointed by The... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a beautiful Hotel, situated right in centre of Chester. On arrival the staff were a little conservative showed us to our room which was lovely.......bath in the centre of room not good if your with a girlfriend!! Had cocktails which were fab and breakfast was fab too. They have a great outdoor area with patio heaters n blankets... More 

Helpful?
Thank nancyrow
Management response:

Dear nancyrow, Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so pleased you had a wonderful stay with us. We will pass on your fabulous comments in regards to the cocktails and breakfast on to the bar and restaurant team, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon we hope! With best wishes The team... More 

471 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (410)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (216)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
8.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,867 reviews
0.3 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#19 of 45 in Chester
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,466 reviews
0.2 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
570 reviews
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $169 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, England
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oddfellows staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Oddfellows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms in original hotel are in the attic with a lot of steep stairs and no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles petert525, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Duplex was lovely (apart from bathroom door). Quiet room at the top of building.”
 of 5 bubbles stephene_11, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in Lady Mary's Loft!”
 of 5 bubbles , 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are 4 rooms in the old part of the hotel with more rooms in the modern extension.”
 of 5 bubbles weebles2016, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 looks out on to the garden so may get noisy.”
  • Room 10 (Newbrook)
  • Part of the view from room 10 (overlooks the secret garden)
  • Room 10 (Newbrook)
  • Room 10 (Newbrook)
  • Room 10 (Newbrook)
 of 5 bubbles Gnashalou, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay