We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Coach House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Coach House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 365: English reviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We ate off the set menu which was well priced with a January offer of 50% off food. Service was great and very accommodating. Food as you would expect for an inn of this size and city centre location. Would recommend if you are unsure of venues in Chester

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynton B
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was in Chester for one night, staying near the station but going to a gig in Northgate St, a fair walk away. It was wet and miserable and I was wet and hungry. Most of the places I'd passed on my walk weren't too inviting, mainly due to their price list, but outside the Coach House was an A-board announcing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crewedaddy
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely response. We're glad to hear that you got to take advantage of our 50% off food deal, and that it cheered you up despite the rainy weather! I will be passing the comments on to Chef about the prawn and the salmon, and can only apologise that...

OXFORDSHIRE
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a 3 night stay over New Year and paid £90 per night to include breakfast. Our room (9) certainly did not feature in the website photos and I was disappointed that it did not have a chair or dressing area to get ready so I had to sit on the floor by mirror to get ready. The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsBOxfordshire
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello Firstly i would like to take the time to say thank you for taking the time to write this review, we take all comments good and bad seriously. I am extremely disappointed you room was to the standard that we expect for our team at the coach house. I am taking further action to look into why this happened...

stoke on trent
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited last night. Had meal in restaurant which was very quiet. Food didnt take long and was piping hot. Best burger I have ever had to be fair. Prices ok too. Room was massive but felt little bit tired. Bathroom smelt bit damp but bearable. Staff were very nice and attentive. Breakfast was great too, although little issue, was offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ytv971
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and especially enjoyed the food! The burgers are a customer favorite and it's brilliant that you agree! In regards to the rooms being a little tired, we are in the process of getting them refurbished as we speak! However I...

Wirral
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all my wife and I regularly visit here for drinks - once our shopping is complete. This is my / our favorite pub, we love it here, despite the title and rating I have given it. The service and quality of drinks is fantastic. The ambiance is superb and the people who frequent this place are great. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abboWirral
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello I am extremely sorry you had no sleep, this really is disappointing. I would just like to make a few points, in all my time here the markets have never been taking during the evening they always start in the morning so i am very sorry you we weren't informed of this but we also didn't know either. Thank...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We were visiting Chester for the shops and Christmas Markets and wanted a Christmas meal too. Found the Coach House Inn and luckily they found us a table even though it was very busy and we hadn't booked, but it all added to the atmosphere. The turkey meal was lovely and was restaurant quality, not pub quality. We both really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TillyFloss_11
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review! It's brilliant to hear that you had such a lovely meal with us. We take pride in our customer service, so it's brilliant to hear that, despite the busy Christmas period, you still received the high standard that we aim for. We hope to see you...

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Located right in the heart of Chester with the christmas markets outside. We Stayed for 1 night and was an excellent choice. The room was large and well decorated, bed very comfy. The restaurant bar was busy and buzzing. The cooked breakfast we had was brilliant, good produce and well cooked. The only negatives you may find but should expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank russellashford
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, the Christmas Markets do make for a lovely trip to Chester! We hope to see you again soon, Kindest Regards

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely room, excellent location. Breakfast was lovely however we waited 20 minutes for our order to be taken and a further 25 minutes for the food to arrive. We were told the length of wait depended on what we had chosen as things were cooked to order. We had ordered 2 vegetarian breakfasts consisting of mushrooms tomatoes beans and poached...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gorsty60
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello Firstly i would like to say thank you for taking the time to write this review we take all feedback seriously good and bad. I would like to apologize about the time you waited for your breakfast this is not our usual standard. I hope you do appreciated we do cook everything from fresh so if we do have...

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Visited on Saturday 10th December. The service was prompt and friendly, we were served as soon as we sat down and the drinks came almost straight away. The staff checked for more drinks and to see if everything was ok. The food was yummy and the atmosphere great. I will definitely visit here again when in Chester. Great pub, wel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mwoodroffe
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for you lovely review, we are so pleased you had such a lovely experience. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks Elisher

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We where visiting Chester Christmas market, and called at The Coachhouse for lunch, The food was VERY good! BUT, the service was Appalling, we made 3 requests for drinks, all went unheeded, the main took 40 mins to arrive, but was worth the wait! We where asked if we wanted sweets, yes please 20 mins later still no sweet menu!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mojo305
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to write this review, firstly I would like to apologise about your experience at the coach house. I am really upset you didn't receive the high lever of customer service we usual provide. I would like to look into this further if you could email at elisherdean@hotmail.com. Thanks Elisher

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,504 reviews
0.3 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,910 reviews
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.3 km away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Coach House Inn provides luxurious, affordable accommodation in Chester city centre. The eight bedrooms have been refurbished this year to a high standard, providing comfortable, convenient accommodation for our guests.Located next door to the architecturally acclaimed town hall and opposite the famous Chester cathedral, The Coach House provides a perfect base from which to explore Chester and Cheshire. All rooms are non smoking with ensuite and have tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions, direct dial telephones and free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Coach House Inn

Address: 39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $169 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Chester
The Coach House Inn Chester, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Coach House Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia
over a year ago
Pontefract, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Coach House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 9”
 of 5 bubbles MrsBOxfordshire, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay when the Christmas markets are being erected or dismantled”
 of 5 bubbles abboWirral, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Have a drink in the bar before exploring the city, great place to come back to for a meal later too.”
 of 5 bubbles 322grahaml, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room 1. Lovely view of the cathedral”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room1 is great to watch people go by at night or early morning!! 3 windows!!”
 of 5 bubbles NicolaT53, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay