We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Coach House Inn

TripAdvisorUS$108*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$108*
US$108*
US$108*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Coach House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Coach House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 403: English reviews
worcester
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We stopped for 3 nights we ate in the restaurant one night which was lovely. Staff were really helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble.free Tea and coffee in the bar plus tea/coffee making facilities in the room with proper milk. It was a little noisy at night but it was freshers week and in the middle of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louiseann1968
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for leaving us such a great review! The complimentary tea and coffee downstairs in the bar area always gets mentioned, so it's great to hear that our guests appreciate it. We hope the external noise didn't disrupt your stay too much, freshers week is particularly a busy time for Chester town center so it's unfortunate that your...

Reviewed 24 September 2016

Myself and my husband stayed here for a 2nd time and I can honestly say it was as fabulous as the 1st stay. The room was massive and had everything we need. The restaurant food downstairs was wonderful and the staff could not be any more pleasant. Breakfast was a very good start for a day of shopping and looking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LisajayneP
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for leaving us such a fabulous review! It's so nice to hear that you have stayed with us before and enjoyed both stays equally as much. I will pass on your lovely comments to the team and hopefully we will see you again soon for a third stay! Many thanks.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We spent a few enjoyable days ,great breakfast set us up for days sight seeing and shopping. The staff were really friendly helpful and professional Bedrooms quite large, nice comfortable bed and showers were good .Good value for money. Would come back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rowlandblake
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for leaving us such a great review! We do have lot's of positive feedback on the breakfasts that we serve, especially comments on how generous the portion size is- leaving you ready for the day! I will also pass on your lovely comments to the team as I'm sure they will be thrilled to hear your feedback....

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night for a function nearby, staff were friendly and accommodating, room was superb, airy and spacious, the bed was extremely comfortable. Food was excellent, it was a great place to unwind and people watch, also an ideal meet up location, we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WillisEM
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for leaving us such a fantastic review! It sounds like you enjoyed all aspects of what we have to offer here at the Coach House Inn. We will look forward to seeing you when you next return, many thanks.

Knutsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Clean, welcoming and a good price for food and drink. Really glad we stumbled across this place. Would definitely return again. Spacious and ideal for a night out also with groups. Good selection of beer and drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seb083
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review. It's extremely rewarding to get feedback like this and it's even more rewarding to hear that you will definitely return. We hope to see you next time you are visiting Chester. Kindest regards.

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We stopped here after walking around the shops of Chester. It was a nice place to rest our feet. They had a good selection of wines and real ales and the service was good too. The pub had a modern feel to it as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 141jeng
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for leaving us such a lovely review! We are in the perfect location to put your feet up after a long day of exploring around Chester and shopping, and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the selection of wines and ales we have to offer. We will hopefully see you on your next trip to Chester!

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

As a Chester resident this is the place I love to be on a Saturday or sunday afternoon.Great place to relax and unwind sat outside watching the characters go by on our beautiful town hall square.Food is excellent,Guinness is spot on and the staff are lovely and very efficient

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello Neil, thank you for leaving us such a fantastic review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoy coming to the Coach House to relax and enjoy a pint of Guinness and watch the world go by. We will hopefully see you next weekend! Kindest regards.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

the food was poor. service terrible and 3 of the 4 order wrong...Its the simple things that matter. I asked for no tomato with my steak, but they got that wrong. My wife asked for blue cheese sauce, but got paper sauce and our son asked for his sauce on the side, but it was poured all over his meal....but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark s
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Firstly, I would like to thank you for writing a review. All feedback is taken very seriously -good or bad. I would like to first talk about the quality of our steaks and, yes, a very much agreed opinion that they have been of poor quality of late. We have looked into the problem with our butcher and have...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Service is slow food and beer overpriced and staff rude seems very empty whilst other local bars are thriving seems to cater for a trade that doesn't exist too expensive for Chester's students and not good enough for the cities discerning residents

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrski0258
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello, let me start by apologising for the experience you had with us on this occasion. The comments that you have made on our staff are very disheartening as we do pride ourselves on excellent customer service, and our reviews on trip advisor do reflect this. As for the pub being empty on your visit, I would just like to...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

A good B&B in the heart of Chester city centre. Our room was HUGE! One of the biggest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. The king-size bed was very comfortable. The room had everything you would expect and the shower was great. It was a hot weekend but the room had a huge fan, which helped to keep the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nhdut15
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write this review. It's great to hear that you loved the room you stayed in and took advantage of our superb location; right in the center of beautiful Chester! As for the incident with the drink being dropped, I can only apologise. I do know about this particular occasion and the lady...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,052 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,597 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
669 reviews
0.3 km away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Coach House Inn provides luxurious, affordable accommodation in Chester city centre. The eight bedrooms have been refurbished this year to a high standard, providing comfortable, convenient accommodation for our guests.Located next door to the architecturally acclaimed town hall and opposite the famous Chester cathedral, The Coach House provides a perfect base from which to explore Chester and Cheshire. All rooms are non smoking with ensuite and have tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions, direct dial telephones and free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Coach House Inn

Address: 39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $142 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Chester
The Coach House Inn Chester, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Coach House Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham
over a year ago
Brisbane, Australia
over a year ago
Pontefract, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Coach House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room at the front. There was some noise from late night revellers, but it wasn't too bad. The quieter rooms are at the back.”
Tony50Cheltenham, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“1 & 2 were excellent”
merrycroft, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is the best room. It is quiet and a nice size. Pleasant views of the Cathedral.”
francesstainton, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask about the noisy heating and avoid that room”
marvellousmarie2016, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Have not used the hotel”
loraines708, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$108* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$108
Booking.comUS$108
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates