We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Doubletree by Hilton Chester

DoubletreeUS$111*
View Deal
#15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$234*
US$111*
US$234*
US$111*
US$234*
US$111*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,855 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,823: English reviews
Start your review of Doubletree by Hilton Chester
 Click to rate
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed here several time and are never disappointed. We still weren't after our stay this week. However the hotel has now started charging hotel guests £15 pp foe the use of the spa during the duration od your stay. This is probably paying for the new foyer and breakfast / lunch / dining room. Which of course is...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinasB436DX
Cheshire, England
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So I've never been to a spa, ever, and I'm 41. Well I was not disappointed. For the day package price I was very impressed. We arrived, and we got to use the full leisure facilities, which included the pools, the steam, the sauna, I just used the pools, then we had Afternoon Tea, at lunchtime and then my treatment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GFORCECheshire
About Hotel's Favourite Review
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear GFORCECheshire, Thank you for choosing to have your first experience of a spa with us, and it is so pleasing to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our facilities. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your massage, and that your preferences were met by Wayne. He is a much valued member of the team, and regularly receives positive comments...

Bologna, Italy
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hilton has the advantage here of being set in large grounds ...so plenty of outside eating and parking . Restaurants are good so is the excellent spa . All staff were helpful especially Avril our waitress .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mevissapirie
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I visited the hilton last night as my wife was competing in the Chester half marathon. Upon arrival we had a wonderful welcome. Wendy established the reason for our stay and was genuinely interested. We had the lovely surprise of a marathon breakfast pack without request. The hotel is in nice surroundings and only around a 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear Chris P, Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a positive review of your recent stay here, with the Trip Advisor community. It so pleasing to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations in most areas of the hotel, especially your kind words regarding Wendy. She is a much valued member of our...

Horam, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A nice hotel, good facilities - over priced after the building works. Breakfast is not included within the standard room rate unless you hold a Hilton Gold card or higher. Piped music in the bar and garden room make holding a conversation tiring. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S3000KYdavidd
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear S3000KYdavidd, Thank you for taking the time to share you honest and constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We do offer bed and breakfast rates for all guests to book, however many Gold Hilton Honors members choose to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast option when making their reservations. Should you wish to book a rate inclusive...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Pros...free parking, exceptionally clean, helpful staff, fantastic breakfast...Cons... £ 15 extra to use spa/ pool, lots of building work going on, booked a guest room at £186 and believe we got a standard room. The room was very small in every way. I queried our room at reception as had noticed that on the ground floor there was a notice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisahollymay
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear lisahollymay, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with the Trip Advisor community. Due to our location we are able to offer free parking to all of our guests which is a fantastic benefit, and many city centre hotels are unable to offer. Our housekeeping team work exceptionally hard to ensure our...

Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited Chester for a relaxing weekend away from the children, nice hotel. We booked dinner bed and breakfast a little disappointed that there is a very limited menu on offer as part of this deal, the food was fine, nothing special. Unfortunately the hotel is undergoing renovations which we were not informed of when booking, as we were sat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear Rob G, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest, constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our rates inclusive of dinner include a 3 course table d'hote menu, however you are more than welcome to dine from our A La Carte menu, meaning that the allocation for dinner would be removed from your final dinner...

Deeside, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Purchased Groupon Voucher and paid £35 for Afternoon Tea for a treat for my elderly mother and myself, it was awful! Sandwiches ok but the cakes were 2 tiny Doughnut type of cake and even smaller 4 chocolate brownies. Scone with Jam & Cream was acceptable I suppose. This is NOT value for money, especially as it's advertised as '£50'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenza2017
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear karenza2017, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback of your recent visit for Afternoon Tea. It is disappointing to hear that this was not to your liking and we would like to apologise that you have left us with a less than positive impression of your visit here. We would very much like the opportunity...

Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We spent three nights at this hotel whilst visiting Chester. Our room was very spacious, with a large & comfortable king bed, a lounge area and a good sized bathroom with both a bath and shower stall. We chose to take breakfast in our room and this was promptly delivered at the requested time each day. We used the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AGEDNOMAD
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear AGEDNOMAD, Thank you do much for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay with us. It is really pleasing to hear that all aspects of your stay were to your liking, especially that our team were "friendly, helpful and efficient". Having breakfast in your room is a very popular service and it is...

Appleby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfy room, helpful staff. There was some work going on but it was discreet. The hotel is handy for visiting Chester. It has a Spa too. The room used for the wedding is convenient for guests. Nice grounds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SUE H
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review

Dear SUE H, Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay with us. We hold many weddings at the hotel, and our grounds provide great photo opportunities. It is pleasing to hear that you were comfortable in your room, and that our addition of 79 rooms had no effect on your stay....

460 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (427)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (238)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
10.9 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.8 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,052 reviews
3.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.5 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,312 reviews
3.5 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $180 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton Chester England
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Doubletree by Hilton Chester staff and other travellers.
51 questions
Ask a question
stockport
Asheville, North Carolina
County Durham
10 months ago

See all questions (51)

Questions? Get answers from Doubletree by Hilton Chester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet location but on the outskirts of Chester, convenient for the city and the zoo.”
T9862LCsueh, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Away from the building work!!!!!”
SamG837, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“wait until the refurb is done before you book - they are all poor”
DurhamColin, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stay somewhere else”
ChrisR996, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“use the spa do not miss out”
Audichic69, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Doubletree
US$111* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$111
Booking.comUS$111
AMOMAUS$234
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates