We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Belgrave

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Belgrave
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belgrave
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Staff were friendly and helpful. A good location and pleasant communal rooms. Breakfast simple but good value. The poor grading is due to the very old furnishing in our twin room. Bed cover was worn and dirty, blanket had hairs on it and air vent over toilet spewed out soot. There was no bedside light.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peter_brindley
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

I booked a single room here for one night. The hotel is really close to the station. Check in was lovely. I was told I was not to bring anyone back to my room and that aims was the only female booked in. Hint to reception, as a single female that is not a good thing to hear. For the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kittycando
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

I will do my best to be objective. We booked two double rooms for Friday 26 June. The prices were virtually doubled from 59.00 to 90.00 per room per night, no breakfast, as it was a race night. Upon arrival we checked in and went to our rooms. Sadly they were unfit for public use. The toilets was filthy, clearly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GSJ1952
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

I would like to point out that Catherine is not the Manager and never once implied that she was. When Mr Graham Joy arrived at the hotel he made it quite clear that as he was in the business he wanted a nice room and that he had already paid. Catherine showed him the authorisation and explained that it was...

wigan
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Myself and 5 friends stayed 23 May 2015:and although the hotel is dated the rooms were clean, linen and towels were also clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable. Wouldn't hesitate staying again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kath p
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again

Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile

Avoid this hotel I'm in the process of making a claim with my credit card company as Mr Sharma took unauthorised payment and when challenged about became rude and aggressive (very easy to do over the phone doubt he would be face to face) I spoke to a very pleasant and helpful lady called Cathy about the problem and I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skooby1010
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We did explain to you on the telephone that money would be taken if you did not cancel the room. We were not advised of any cancellation so we took payment as this is our policy

Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here on the Saturday of the Easter Weekend. We found the staff lovely, so handy for the train station and city centre. We really enjoyed our cooked breakfast in the morning it was lovely and real value for money. We have recommended it to all friends and family and are planning on coming back soon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessicastewart
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to seeing you again

Grasmere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2015

After reading other reviews on the belgrave in Chester I was in two minds weather I wanted to stay here.im GLAD I DID. I cant believe half of what people have put on here just to be nasty. I arrived at 2 pm on Saturday and was welcomed with a smile from a lovely lady on reception.my room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baggy4711
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and hope to see you again

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Located a couple of hundred metres from the station and with on street parking limited to one hour during the day, your faced with a £6 cost for using one of the station car parks. It is a pleasant walk along the canal and through the wall by the cathedral to get into the city. The staff were very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgtHants
Reviewed 30 March 2015

All I can say it was disgusting, bathroom carpet was dirty, walls dirty, rude staff when made a polite complaint got told it was our fault things were wrong with room, couldn't wait to leave, won't be staying there again unless it gets new owners and make over

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sparkie25
Reviewed 29 March 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels and this has got to be the worst. It was awful, there was no mirror in the room, only in the shower room with no plug sockets near by. The shower room had a mouldy stained carpet and the shower was either scolding hot or freezing cold, when I tried to turn the nob...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paula J

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 km away
Lloyds of Chester
Lloyds of Chester
#44 of 45 in Chester
329 reviews
0.0 km away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#38 of 45 in Chester
880 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Travelodge Chester Central
9.6 km away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
165 reviews
0.3 km away
The Ormonde
The Ormonde
#53 of 82 in Chester
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Belgrave

Address: 61 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $83 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrave 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Belgrave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgrave Chester, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belgrave staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
23 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Belgrave staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles EdinaCloud, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rear rooms were very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 805christinem805, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“wi fi not availabe in rooms only in the public areas”
 of 5 bubbles Satchel08, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“take ear plugs and ask in plenty of time for aquiet room you may be lucky”
 of 5 bubbles desperate_9, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“avoid at all costs”
 of 5 bubbles Yanto65, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5