We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belgrave

Booking.comUS$54*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Belgrave
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belgrave
See the most recent reviews
Showing 180: English reviews
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Located a couple of hundred metres from the station and with on street parking limited to one hour during the day, your faced with a £6 cost for using one of the station car parks. It is a pleasant walk along the canal and through the wall by the cathedral to get into the city. The staff were very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgtHants
Reviewed 30 March 2015

All I can say it was disgusting, bathroom carpet was dirty, walls dirty, rude staff when made a polite complaint got told it was our fault things were wrong with room, couldn't wait to leave, won't be staying there again unless it gets new owners and make over

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sparkie25
Reviewed 29 March 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels and this has got to be the worst. It was awful, there was no mirror in the room, only in the shower room with no plug sockets near by. The shower room had a mouldy stained carpet and the shower was either scolding hot or freezing cold, when I tried to turn the nob...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paula J
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

You get what you pay for at this hotel: it's cheap, very close to the station and has a quirky charm. And cheap. The restaurant and foyer are clean and tidy with lots if painted black beams in the walls and character (which I like). The single room I had was 'compact and bijou' but was sufficient, if slightly garish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S1AX
Penrith
Reviewed 30 January 2015 via mobile

The reviews of this Hotel really upset me. They show no understanding of that very true saying 'you get what you pay for'. I found the hotel to be somewhat better than I expected given the price. I have paid only £2s less for a hostel before! The rating is based on the price and , in terms of value...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom G
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review. Hope everything went well. Hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 22 December 2014 via mobile

Complete utter disgrace! I would love to no how the local council is allowin this place to trade?? Oh and i will be contacting them. Not going to go in full detail has i am so stressed after the weekend there. The smell was unbelivable. staff!! Well they got a JOB! In a complete hole!! Please dont waste ur hard...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deakin A
Ireland / Christchurch
Reviewed 6 December 2014

This is the dirtiest place I ever stayed in, in gods name how can this place be passed as a hotel.i was scared to have a shower and had difficulty trying to squeeze in to the area of the toilet bowl. floor boards creeking,. no bedside lamp .we left this place feeling dirty.never again.The only good thing was it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank manirish
Reviewed 8 November 2014

This hotel is terrible it was the start of November and they had We payed £85 for this room which was terrible I wouldnt pay £20 for it and theres no way im staying here again. There was no double glazing so it was freezing all night and you could hear all the traffic all night. The covers were a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KatieLeannex
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with. Our heating is on a timer system, which is on in the mornings and evenings. If you had informed us of any problems you were experiencing, we would have done our best to resolve them for you.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We stayed here after a night out for a friends birthday. It did the job as a bed for the night, the room was cosy. The decor is a little dated but the room was clean which was the main thing. The guy was friendly enough. Location was excellent for the train station and city centre. We opted to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bsu448
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you again if you are ever in Chester.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2014

I stayed at Belgravia froo 3 nights. After reading some reviews I was rather cautious, but I did not need to be. OK The hotel does need a makeover but my room (room 4 also reviewed by someone else) was fine and clean. The breakfast was excelent, especially the coffee. I have paid about £2. for a coffee much worse,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
sancastle, Reception at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Belgrave and hope that if you are in Chester again you will choose to stay with us once more.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 km away
Lloyds of Chester
Lloyds of Chester
#44 of 44 in Chester
335 reviews
0.0 km away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#38 of 44 in Chester
933 reviews
9.7 km away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.3 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
667 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ormonde
The Ormonde
#42 of 79 in Chester
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Belgrave

Address: 61 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $85 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrave 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belgrave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgrave Chester, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belgrave staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Belgrave staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Internet is not available in all rooms but near the reception on the ground floor.”
jimmyf471, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
EdinaCloud, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rear rooms were very quiet”
805christinem805, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“wi fi not availabe in rooms only in the public areas”
Satchel08, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“take ear plugs and ask in plenty of time for aquiet room you may be lucky”
desperate_9, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$54* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$54
TripAdvisorUS$54
Cancelon
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates