We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,514: English reviews
wales
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here in December and it was magical. The atmosphere was wonderful with the Christmas decorations and little touches for the festive season. We loved sitting by the fire with a bottle of wine and cheeseboard when we arrived, relaxing in the spa and dinner at Ciro's in the evening. The hotel has been refurbished recently and the bedrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidaymaker038
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review following your recent stay with us. It was really pleasing to read your review, and to see how much you enjoyed your time with us and that everything met your expectations. I do hope we can welcome you back sometime soon, and once again many thanks for your kind words. Kind Regards, David

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Some areas are looking a bit tired. Bedroom small but comfortable. Nice to have real coffee(bags) in.the room. Really annoying barking g dog in Nelsons bar which spoiled my meal. Surprised that dogs are allowed in what is, after.all a hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mifa1964
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent time with us. I am sorry that on this occasion your meal with spoiled by a barking dog. You have commented that you are surprised by the fact that we allow dogs into Nelson's bar, however the fact that we do allow dogs into the hotel does infact make us very unique...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked for three nights as a gift for my partner & I, I also booked the Murder Mystery night on the Friday which included a three course meal. On arrival, a very nice receptionist ensured we were happy with everything and upgraded our room free of charge. The room and ensuite were lovely, plenty of room and very nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimbodmin
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was pleasing to read your review, and to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you also enjoyed the Murder Mystery as well. I do hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon, and once again...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Sixteen of us descended on the Grosvenor for a 90th Birthday celebration Sunday meal and the staff did us proud. They really couldn't do enough for us.The meal, Sunday Roast and all the trimmings was voted 9 out of ten by all the family (the roast potatoes were a little hard and to big and that is we can complain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vince C
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Vince, many thanks for your review, following your recent to The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was really pleasing to read your review, and to see that you had an enjoyable time with us, and I do hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon. Once again many thanks for your kind review. Kind Regards, David

Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a table in Ciros. All I can say on behalf Of all of us is that it Was Wonderful. Every course was excellent. For desert I had the lemony creme brûlée with a marshmallow like no other and a Piece of chocolate brownie type thing. Best sweet I have ever had. Please Don't take it off the menu. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DbzJCP
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review following your recent meal with us at Ciro's Brassiere, here at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was nice to read your review, and too see that you had an enjoyable time with us, and that the desserts were the best that you had ever had. I do hope we can welcome you...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I live locally, and have recently discovered the spa here. It's amazing! I've just returned from a Elemis hot stones massage, and facial and, despite rush hour traffic and snow on the way back, I have returned home totally relaxed, de-stressed, and all my aches and pains have magically disappeared. Thank you! I can't wait to go again. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Another_Tanya
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent Spa day with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was pleasing to read your review, and to see that you enjoyed your Spa day with us and I do hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon. Kind Regards, David

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

By far the best spa i have visited in a long time. The second we walked through the door we started to feel relaxed. Facilities were brilliant and even down to the lovely chatty members who were using the facilities, the whole place had the most welcoming environment I've ever been in. Our treatments were perfect, the staff were all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ju R
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Ju, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent Spa day with us at Spa by Kasia, here at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was nice to see that we were the best Spa that you have visited in a long time, and this is certainly something that I will ensure is shared with the team. We...

Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife booked this the hotel as a surprise birthday treat. The hotel is located about four miles outside Chester and has very nice gardens and a japanese style water garden at the rear. We had three rooms to accomodation the family and had booked a night with a meal and entertainment. The rooms were very comfortable, well equipped and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Mark, many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was nice to read your review, and to see what an enjoyable time you had with us, whilst celebrating your birthday, and that everything with your stay met your expectations, and in particular that you enjoyed the evening with Rhythm...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked an accessible room for two nights between Christmas and new year, I have a wheelchair and I was given a room on the second floor through a two way swing door down a corridor to kitchen and up a service elevator that could barely fit my chair. No grab rails in shower area or seat .Noisy during the night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui W
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Jacqui, many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us. Firstly I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations, and I have personally spoken to the booking company that made the reservation on your behalf, as I believe that somewhere along the line there has been a slight breakdown in communications. I also left a message...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was one of a party of 41 people who spent Christmas at this spa hotel. The food was delicious, the staff very helpful and always polite and professional. I had an Executive Room which was very large and spacious with a lovely view over the countryside. This hotel is child and pet friendly however I did have to complain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jintzky
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us over the Christmas period. It was good to read your review, and to see what an enjoyable time you had with us over the Christmas period, and how the food, staff and entertainment all met your expectations. It was also nice to see that you enjoyed your executive...

710 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (443)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (196)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (64)
Viewed
Executive Room (34)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
8.3 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
1,908 reviews
10.9 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
8.0 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,503 reviews
7.9 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
586 reviews
7.7 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $158 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, England
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check with reception for a quiet room away from the evening function rooms”
 of 5 bubbles holidaymaker038, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room 68, 1st floor. Lovely room but no view from window.”
 of 5 bubbles jimbodmin, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay, but enjoyed a meal only.”
 of 5 bubbles 708vincec, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles 980jacquiw, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you want peace and quiet then ask for a room well away from family rooms or function suite!”
 of 5 bubbles jintzky, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay