We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,481: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have called in several times for meals in the bar and attended a wedding at this lovely hotel. This time I came for a Spa Day and had a perfect day and relaxing experience. The spa is luxurious and all the staff professional and attentive and a special thank you to Beth for the wonderful treatments by far the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha N
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Samantha, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent spa day with us at Spa by Kasia at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was really pleasing to see that you enjoyed your Spa day with us, and that Beth delivered treatments that were by far the best that you have experienced, and I will ensure your comments...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good stuff: We stayed here with our dog for one night, and we felt the hotel really catered well for pooches. The welcome pack included a big bag of bacon and ham treats, a stainless steel bowl to use, and a soft dog bed - as well as a really thoughtful sign to hang on the door, advising housekeeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xenakin
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to see that overall you enjoyed your stay, and as you have mentioned we are indeed a very dog friendly business, and it was nice to see that you appreciated the little extras that we put in the room for your dog. It was also nice...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice and pleasant stay, the hotel was nice and clean, friendly staff too. Swimming pool and sauna and steam room was good. The jacuzzi wasn't on though guessing out of order. Free wifi (only reachable in certain areas of the hotel unfortunately our room didn't have any wifi signal or 3G signal) Would go again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zerowing182
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us. It was nice to see that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the hotel and staff all met your expectations, and that you found the leisure facilities to your liking. We have recently had a new Jacuzzi fitted at the hotel, and this is now fully...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only given this a 2* due to on arriving we were given a beautiful room and greeted by lovely reception staff . We arrived sunday 30 th octoter 2016 for a charity event and sadly for us the staff at the event were nothing like the reception staff . I ve never come across such rude staff they didnt really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 84annalisa
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Annalisa, many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us. I have personally tried to contact you on 2 prior occasions, on both occasions leaving a voice mail on your O2 messaging service asking you to contact me. Firstly it was pleasing to read your comments regarding the reception staff and the fact that they made you feel...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were lucky enough to hold our wedding at the Grosvenor Pulford on Sunday 6th November 2016 and what a day it was! On the run up to the day the staff couldn't have been more helpful. On the day itself we were bowled over by the attention to detail and the way we were treated. Nothing was too much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma J
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Emma, many thanks for your 5* review, following your wedding here at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. Again many congratulations to both yourself and Ian, and it looks as if your day went just as you expected, and that you went away with lots of amazing memories of the day. We really enjoy helping people celebrate one of the...

Wrexham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to book into the Hotel's best room. I believe this is room 51 and would also be considered the honeymoon suite. It is expensive but is lavishly furnished with an amazing stone bath with led inserts making it fun and quirky. The bed is amazingly comfortable a four poster super king. Breakfast in Ciros is good. Plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula J
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Paula, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was lovely to read your review, and to see how much you enjoyed your time with us. Room 51 is indeed a fantastic room, and with the bath and sliding doors it does really make staying in this room...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We don't travel a lot ,so being our wedding anniversary we booked one night in the hotel. We arrived and the staff at reception were lovely , the hotel itself looked well presented . The room was small to say the least and was out of the way down a corridor ,now Im not a complainer but this was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank littleponco
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa to celebrate your anniversary. It was nice to read your review, and to find out about your experience with us. It was pleasing to see that the reception team ensured a good welcome, and that they managed to assist you with regards...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked to stay here saturday 5/11/16......was greeted at reception by a very polite, friendly girl (didn't catch her name, she had dark hair and checked us in around 1pm)......she gave me all info i needed. Our room was amazing (including a few little gifts i hadn't asked for) my wife then had a spa treatment which she really enjoyed and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian P
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Brian, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was nice to read your review, and to see how much you enjoyed your time with us, and that we managed to make your wife's day a special, memorable and happy one. It was pleasing to read your comments...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed here as part of a spa package. It was OK. The room was particularly hot, but clean and tidy with decent toiletries. The restaurant is quirky, a bit like sitting on someone's patio ... carvery is not my favourite but the food was hot and nicely cooked, just not enough of it. The dishes were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 78Pam
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Pam, many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations 100% We do get a lot of positive reviews about Ciro's Brassiere and the mediterranean style of design, which does make is slightly different to most restaurants, and we also get a lot of positive...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and partner stayed a night here and thought it was excellent. We went in the Spa in the afternoon and my partner had a treatment which she said was perfect! The room was a great size with plenty of space and the bed was very comfortable. It was clean and tidy too! We had lunch in Nelsons bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gavbowers81
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was pleasing to read your review, and to see how much you enjoyed your time with us and to see that you made full use of all the facilities that we have to offer, and that you also found our...

686 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (419)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (179)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (64)
Viewed
Executive Room (34)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
8.3 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,869 reviews
8.0 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
958 reviews
10.9 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,466 reviews
7.7 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,860 reviews
9.1 km away
Hallmark Chester The Queen, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $161 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, England
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“standard rooms more than adequate. Arrive at 2pm if staying for one night to get full use of spa facilities”
 of 5 bubbles roxydog6871, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask to not have to walk too far to reach you're room”
 of 5 bubbles littleponco, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the second floor which we found quiet clean and very comfortable nice view over the atrium.”
 of 5 bubbles sandimg2016, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“My room seemed very large to a lot of my friends, I was over the other side of the hotel, room 415”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Worth the extra for an upgraded room.”
 of 5 bubbles deborahhudson2, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay