We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,524 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,516: English reviews
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked an accessible room for two nights between Christmas and new year, I have a wheelchair and I was given a room on the second floor through a two way swing door down a corridor to kitchen and up a service elevator that could barely fit my chair. No grab rails in shower area or seat .Noisy during the night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui W
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Jacqui, many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us. Firstly I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations, and I have personally spoken to the booking company that made the reservation on your behalf, as I believe that somewhere along the line there has been a slight breakdown in communications. I also left a message...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was one of a party of 41 people who spent Christmas at this spa hotel. The food was delicious, the staff very helpful and always polite and professional. I had an Executive Room which was very large and spacious with a lovely view over the countryside. This hotel is child and pet friendly however I did have to complain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jintzky
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us over the Christmas period. It was good to read your review, and to see what an enjoyable time you had with us over the Christmas period, and how the food, staff and entertainment all met your expectations. It was also nice to see that you enjoyed your executive...

uk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited for 2 nights in between Xmas and new year for a wedding and had a lovely stay. Beautiful hotel, so clean and comfortable, beautifully decorated with Xmas decorations and the grounds are lovely. Plenty of parking. The wedding was set up beautifully. The food was amazing and the staff were so helpful and attentive. Beds were lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cdepasquale
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us whilst attending a wedding here at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was really pleasing to read your review, and to see what an enjoyable time you had with us, and it was nice to see that the decor, food and helpful staff all met your expectations....

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Grosvenor in Pulford for two nights in November for my boyfriends birthday and the hotel was fabulous but we had a terrible nights sleep on the Saturday night! We stayed in an executive suite (69) instead of a normal double room as it was a special occasion and we hugely regretted it on the night! There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank micheller87r
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Michelle, many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have checked your booking, and you had booked via one of our 3rd party partners, and it does state on both the room details and the main part of the booking page...

Leicester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on 10th December. We found the hotel to be very clean, and welcoming. We had booked a spa break and the service was fantastic. I think it was expensive but we felt we had a good day in the spa. The hotel was extremely busy whilst we were there, especially when we ate in Nelsons Bar in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natjonesamber
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent Spa break with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa It was nice to see that you overall enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the upgrade to one of our Deluxe Spiral rooms nice and clean. I am sorry about the slight noise issue that you encountered, as...

Ashton under Lyne
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I took my 78 year old mum for a spa day with afternoon tea. The staff were very friendly and attentire. The pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were very clean. The spacious facilities were spotless. Afternoon tea was very nice with plenty of variety. We were given cakes that we didn't manage to eat in a box to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calandtom
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent Spa day and Afternoon Tea here at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was really pleasing to see that you both had an enjoyable Spa day and afternoon tea with us, and that the whole day met your expectations. I do hope we can welcome you back sometime soon, and...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fabulous hotel, food excellent(sometimes not very hot though!) all staff kind and attentive at a very busy time for them. Rooms modern, bathrooms luxurious with everything included for a super stay. The Japanese garden that our room overlooked was beautiful and peaceful, the indoor pool huge and inviting. Superb hotel and we hope to return. Well done owners, management and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romeyyates
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was really pleasing to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that everything met your expectations, and that you enjoyed the view of the Asian sensory garden from your bedroom. I do hope that we can welcome...

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I spent a 2 night break at the hotel. Welcoming, friendly receptionists on our arrival greeted us and nformed us that they were upgrading our room. The reception staff were very helpful informing us of our options available so we could visit Chester. Within the price of our stay was complimentary use of the pool, sauna, steam...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spagirl022
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review following your recent stay with us here at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. Your review made really nice reading and it was nice to hear what an enjoyable time you had with us. It was nice to read your comments regarding our reception team, and I will ensure that they are made aware...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went with our daughter and husband again for post Christmas break and were not disappointed. We had a Hamman treatment which I loved. The restaurant is so relaxing and we had a delicious meal and the hotel is beautiful. The staff are all excellent and we will return next year. The only issue was Room 6 was far too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Pauline, many thanks for your review following your post Christmas break with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was good to read your review, and to see what an enjoyable time that you had, and also that you made full use of the amazing Spa facilities in Spa by Kasia. It was nice to read your comments...

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just spent Christmas 2016 at the hotel. From our arrival on Christmas Eve to departure nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Food was very good and the entertainment on Christmas day and boxing day was well thought out. The hotel was very comfortable and clean and tidy. If you get a chance to stay in room 51, you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vonnie612015
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your Christmas Break here with us at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa. It was nice to read that you had a special stay, and that the whole package that we had, both food, entertainment and service all met your expectations and made it a Christmas to remember. Room 51 is indeed an...

710 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (443)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (196)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (64)
Viewed
Executive Room (34)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
8.3 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,911 reviews
10.9 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
8.0 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,505 reviews
7.9 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
587 reviews
7.7 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $160 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa Chester, England
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check with reception for a quiet room away from the evening function rooms”
 of 5 bubbles holidaymaker038, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room 68, 1st floor. Lovely room but no view from window.”
 of 5 bubbles jimbodmin, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay, but enjoyed a meal only.”
 of 5 bubbles 708vincec, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles 980jacquiw, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you want peace and quiet then ask for a room well away from family rooms or function suite!”
 of 5 bubbles jintzky, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay