We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pied Bull Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pied Bull Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pied Bull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 546: English reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a central location. Didn't disappoint in that respect. This is an original Tudor building with modern features. The room (although a little small) and ensuite were clean and the decor was tasteful. All features worked well. Staff were efficient and helpful at all times. We didn't have breakfast there but ate an evening meal one night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delltasker
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

We at the Pied Bull are very pleased that you had an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us and also that you really enjoyed you evening meal here. On behalf of the whole team here at the Pied Bull i would like to thank you for your comments.

Whitworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Came away mid week to Chester, The pied Bull is a delightful place, clean, staff very friendly, food to die for and our room absolutely stunning. It is situated slap bang in the middle of Chester, no car park but a car park round the corner for only. £6 for24 hour ticket. Loved the decor, and the "home brew "...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi K
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments. I would first like to apologize on the negative side of you view point. We are at the present stage towards the end of our developments which is creating a beer garden and more accommodation for the building. However that being said it does not make what you experienced acceptable and i thank you...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent 2nights at the pied bull inn and found our stay very pleasant. We were very lucky to stay in an immaculate luxury 4poster suite with roll top bath! My wife was delighted when entering the room! The room and bathroom were extremely clean and spacious and the facilities were of a good standard. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PhilM23
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review about us. I am very happy that yourself and your wife enjoyed your visit with us. We do provide fans for the bedrooms upon request so if you do stay with us again please let a member of staff know and we can provide you with one no problem. We hope to see you...

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Popped into the Pied Bull quite by chance for a Sunday lunch. I'd never eaten there before but I will definitely go again. Great tasting food, lovely setting, plenty of choice and a good price too. I have nothing negative to say about the visit at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owen H
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed Sunday lunch with us at the Pied Bull. Our 'roast with the most' Sunday Lunch deal proves to be a popular choice and we do hope that we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a 1 nite romantic/birthday getaway with my husband. I'd emailed the hotel and informed them it was my husbands birthday and on arrival they informed us we had been upgraded to the King executive suite. How lovely I thought ..... WRONG. There's nothing executive about this room, tacky furniture, no bath and a bathroom in a cupboard....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

As group of 5 family, and friends, we booked a table here, earlier in the day, for 8.30pm on Friday 17th June 2016. We arrived on time and were immediately surprised about the lack of customer care. We were then told that the majority of the menu was not available so none of us were able to get our preferred...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 9Tiger
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your experience with us. My deepest apologies on your dining. We are proud to say that we have a new Head Chef here who has completely changed the service. We would be extremely happy if you would re consider your opinion and allow us to provide that 'WOW' factor experience that you quite rightly...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

We had the pleasure of a Sunday night stay with them. The pub it's self is quaint and quirky very popular but keeps a nice homely feel to it. Rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean (lovely big bathroom). The pub couldn't be more central with the cathedral opposite and it's inside the roman walls. All staff were friendly. I'm currently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zena B
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such lovely comments. I am very happy that you enjoyed you time spent here with us at the Pied Bull and we do hope that you manage to find that excuse to visit Chester again and come to visit us again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Great location in centre of Chester. Me and my boyfriend stayed for one night unfortunately the room we had been put in number 2 was like a sauna even at 11pm so we asked to change rooms they where very accommodating and we moved to room number 4 which was a massive improvement! Only problem then was the awful nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten457
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, We are happy that we were able to accommodate the room change for you both. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Pied Bull and hope to you again soon.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the four poster bedroom for one night. It was really lovely and looks exactly the same as the pictures show. A very comfortable room but the wifi connection was poor. When we booked it we didn't realise how close it was to the centre which was a nice surprise. Didn't enjoy the full English in the morning,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahhh88
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We at the Pied Bull take feedback very serious and try our up-most to correct any negatives which we are notified about. I am happy to inform you that now with our new developments we have boosted the whole hotel and new beer garden and bed rooms with wi-fi. Our Front of House...

Southampton
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Decent pub in the centre of Chester, good selection of well kept ales. They had about six real ales on when I was on there, I tried 3 and all were in great condition. Very knowledgeable staff. I would definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we take great pride in our real ales as we are the only micro brewery in Chester so we are very happy with your feedback thank you. We hope to see you again soon.

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (60)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,022 reviews
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
1,063 reviews
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $128 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester
Pied Bull Inn Chester, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
uk
over a year ago
10 months ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not get a front room as it's very noisy at night (I stayed at #9).”
dianek159, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a bigger double room in the main pub”
Papagayo12, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check it has been cleaned thoroughly”
Unhappy276, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 9.”
kimbobl81, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 was lovely and clean”
Sar_Hantrip, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5