We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chester Recorder House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Chester Recorder House
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 362: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recorder House is built right on the city wall which circles the town centre - old and picturesque city near Wales. River views from the bedroom and 500 metres if that to the centre of town Great service, good breakfast and comfy rooms - a great place to stay in Chester and thoroughly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddiment1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location and a lovely change from boring modern hotels. Had a room on the top floor overlooking the river which was lovely. Hosts we really nice and did everything they could to make us feel at home. Full English breakfast is up there with the best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul f
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed just one night at The Chester Recorder House, would love to have stayed longer. Lovely room, great bed and bathroom with lots of complimentary toiletries, sewing kit and other little things you may have forgotten. The B and B is run by a lovely couple for whom nothing appears to be to much trouble, we were early but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen G
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Just returned from a extra long weekend break to Chester. Was not disappointed with the Recorder House. The location is excellent. Good parking available. Our room was a little quirky but very clean. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The hotel is very close to the city centre and very good bars and restaurants within 5 minutes. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yatsey13
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Room was very dusty there was clear dust around the bed frame on the carpert and on the carpet under the radiator, the bathroom needs some tlc also. The whole place smelt of grease, probably due to there being no door on the kitchen so our room smelt also. Nice location to walk to town, land lady was pleasent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Stayed one night. Very comfortable bed and lovely room and the view from the bedroom was amazing. Recorder House is situated on the walls in Chester and overlooking the river. It's Very handy for walking easily into the centre of Chester and there was free parking, although this isn't always possible as there are limited spaces. The owners, Fiona and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 82Kathleen49
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

The house is listed so has to remain in character. We found it lovely, quaint but comfortable. Right on the wall and next to the river. Easy walk into town center. We didn't need to use the car for two days. The couple who run it are helpful, and friendly. Breakfast was great. Full English and variations of, scrambled egg...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Outonthewolds
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Out of all the b&bs we have stayed at this has got to be the worst dirty cold bathroom uncomfertable bed poor hosts very limited car parking asked to wait for breakfast in lounge they have more rooms than tables in the dining room

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank filoe
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

I can't believe that you stayed with us. Poor hosts!!!! Our most positive feature according to nearly every other comment and I know that we go out of our way to make guests feel welcome. The website mentions limited parking, but we have never yet not managed to park anyone, unless on occasion two people arrive in two cars for...

London
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Just returned from a five-night stay in this delightful historic house. Adrian and Fiona are friendly and ever helpful. The hotel is quiet, our bed was comfy and breakfast was very good. The Recorder is in a fantastic location five minutes walk from the shopping streets of Chester (which are beautifully decorated for Christmas). If all that wasn't enough, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoverTLondon
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Positives = close to town centre, parking, good welcome. Negatives = very out dated, musty unclean smell, cold rooms, dust 2cm thick behind bed (room 5 ),TV in closet (which turned itself off randomly), cob webs on all walls and ceilings. We booked 2 nights but checked out after 1st night, rang the owner to ask for any refund but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne281109
FionaChester, Owner at Chester Recorder House, responded to this review

It is a pity that you did not mention any of this while your were here. Your reason for checking out, so you said, was because you had been ill in the night. I asked if everything was all right with the Recorder House and you said yes. I explained that I would charge you for the second night as...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
586 reviews
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,503 reviews
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
987 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Chester Recorder House

Address: 19 City Walls, Chester CH1 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chester Recorder House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Recorder House Hotel Chester
Chester Recorder House England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chester Recorder House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Keighley, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Chester Recorder House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a river view and ask for more pillows”
 of 5 bubbles ddiment1, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles Z627CHpaulf, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Take a room with a river view”
 of 5 bubbles Yatsey13, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles joanne281109, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Worth the extra to have a room overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles PeterH876, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay