We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mill Hotel

Save
Traveller (242)
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (39)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good37%
  • Average16%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“canal boat”(60 reviews)
“real ale bar”(48 reviews)
“dinner cruise”(40 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,626)
There are newer reviews for The Mill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,612 results
Traveller rating
646
610
257
56
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
646
610
257
56
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanal boatreal ale bardinner cruisecanaletto restaurantbusiness roomoverlooking the canalclub roomcity centrepremier roomdinner dancecar parkbar priceshealth clubbreakfast was buffet stylespa facilitieslovely hotelbar area
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
571 - 575 of 1,612 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Our room was spacious, clean and well equipped. (Just the usual hotel complaints of a) insufficient lighting in the room and b) the socket for the hairdryer being too far from the mirror!) Staff were professional and friendly. Plenty to eat for breakfast and the...More

Thank missmatty2015
Response from MillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Mill HotelResponded 15 October 2016

Dear missmatty2015 Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at The Mill Hotel & Spa. I am delighted you have enjoyed your recent short break with us and thank you for...More

Reviewed 5 October 2016

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights a few months ago it was a fabulous hotel. We wanted to get away from the night and living on Anglesey Chester is the perfect spot. We upgraded our room so we had a small balcony...More

Thank Jamie-Lee Q
Response from MillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Mill HotelResponded 15 October 2016

Dear Jamie-Lee Q Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at The Mill Hotel & Spa. I was delighted to read what an enjoyable experience you have had with us and...More

Reviewed 5 October 2016

Checked into this hotel and were given a room on the 4th floor. One small wardrobe,only six hangers,no chest of drawers,just the floor and the shelf on which to put one's clothes. Asked to change rooms and were given another room which could accommodate 3...More

Thank Lillybet3939
Response from MillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Mill HotelResponded 15 October 2016

Dear Lillybet3939 Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at The Mill Hotel & Spa. I am very sorry indeed that there were aspects of your stay with us that did...More

Reviewed 4 October 2016

I am currently staying in the Mill Hotel in Chester, but WILL NOT be staying again in a hurry. First impressions were decent, the reception seemed modern and clean, and very spacious, and the staff were pleasant. Then I went to my room.... The Good...More

1  Thank JamesFance
Reviewed 3 October 2016

On the booking website, I paid extra for a Business room which had a " Private bathroom with deep soaking bathtub " I got room 330 which did have canal (and ring road) views, however it had a tiny bathroom with sliding door, tiny shower...More

Thank David W
Response from MillHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Mill HotelResponded 10 October 2016

Dear David W Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Mill Hotel & Spa. I am very sorry indeed that there were aspects of your stay with us that did not exceed your expectations. We take great...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast included
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$114 - US$228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$114 - US$228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (242)
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (39)
Pool & Beach (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Chloe C
6 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Tra72 | Reviewed this property |
Towels are complimentary at the Mill hotel
0
Votes
richardsmum
3 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Escape-overseas | Reviewed this property |
Best check with the hotel direct
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Be sure not to be allocated a room adjacent to and overlooking the main ring road."
Read review
"View over the river - best."
Read review
"Canal view rooms are over the internal bridge and were nice and quiet at night"
Read review
"The higher floors would give a better view. Better to go for a Business Room rather than a standard."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing