We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Red House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Red House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Red House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Excellent stay arrived a little later than expected but I was kept informed of traffic delays en route by karen , the two night break was first class in all respects and we shall make all efforts to return in the near future . Thanks for letting us stay in your home

 Report
Helpful?
Thank n_harmes
Nick A, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review

Thanks for such a great review and for letting us look after you both. We hope and look forward to seeing you again in the not so distant future as a valued customer.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Falmouth is a place well worth a visit and a stay at The Red House is a must. Not only will you be welcomed by the perfect hosts, Nick and Karen. They also have a beautiful house for you to enjoy. Beds are comfortable, breakfast is very nice and the whole experience is one you really don't want to end.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterM1953
Nick A, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review

Why thank you kind sir, What a lovely review to post. We really do appreciate the time you have taken to post this, to let future potential guests know how you felt about us. We were very pleased to have meet you and hopefully we will do again in the not so distant future.

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Despite being late to check in, for which I am still very sorry, we had a very warm welcome and an unexpected upgrade to a super king room. The room was spacious, light, both traditional and modern with a lovely ensuite bathroom, and a beautiful big bed I could have stolen had it fit into our car. The room had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
Nick A, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review

Well Caroline what can we say but a huge thank you for taking the time to write and post your review, which we really do appreciate not just for letting us know what you liked and that hopefully we have everything in the room right but also for informing future guests. We are so pleased the weather behaved and that...

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Lovely Guest House very Welcoming, room was lovely, this is the second time I have stayed here and will do again when working in the area. The breakfast room is delightful and the breakfast was really filling. There is a great selection of home made jams and marmalades, Only a 10 minute walk away from the sea front restaurants this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tharris0n
Nick A, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review

Thank you Tim for letting us and other potential guest know how you feel about us. We are so pleased you chose to stay with us again and that you seem to really enjoy yourself. As a valued customer please accept the voucher sent to you at your email address that can be used next time you are in Falmouth...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 1 May 2016

My first visit to the Red House was absolutely delightful! Spacious room, beautifully decorated, very good equipped and very tiday and clean. Nick and Karen were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. I am more than happy to recommend this B&B to everyone who wants to have a cosy and friendly Environment and I for sure will come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bookworm2706
Nick A, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post your review. We really enjoyed meeting and looking after you. We are especially pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts with us. Please remember to call or book direct for your next stay with us, which we very much look forward to.

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on two occasions now both throughly enjoyed them. Great place to stay, very friendly owners. The room was immaculate with everything you need and very clean. Lovely breakfast too with great service. Will definitely be returning! An all round fantastic b&b.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieChalk2016
Nick A, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to let others know how you felt about your previous stays with us. We really enjoyed meeting up with you again but we do hope your next visit is not a troubled journey like you had this time. Thank you once again and look forward to seeing you on your...

Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Our first visit to The Red House was an absolute delight . The room was clean tidy with a very high standard of amenities and inclusive extras which made our 3 day break very enjoyable . Our newly acquired puppy also thought likewise with lots of fuss . Whilst the weather wasn't perfect the home made marmalade and full and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RodneyR5
Nick A, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review

Hi Rob thank you very much for posting this review. We are so pleased that all three of you enjoyed your stay as we did meeting you and especially the pup. Hopefully on your next stay the weather will be a lot better.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016

There is always a welcome and Karen and Nick can't do enough This is our 3rd or 4th stay and it feels like home and the rooms are spotless with everything you need and we had a wonderful view from the room we were in Breakfast is good with a choice and a specials board each day Thanks once again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 625sandy
Nick A, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your repeat custom and your great review. It was our pleasure to welcome you both again even if it's not always for happy times. As a valued customer we would like to extend our thanks for staying with us, please accept the voucher sent to you at your email address that can be used next...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016

After booking this holiday for July 16 I then phoned to asked if we could check in around lunch time as we felt 4pm - 6pm was rather a waste of a day. I was told this would not be possible as they would be out and no alternative arrangement could be made. She then told me she'd had this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lorraine535
Nick A, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review

As you booked for the 10th July not the 16th July through a third party booking agent which clearly states our terms and conditions you would have been aware of the booking in time and our terms for a cancellation before you booked. You were offered an alternative for booking in early as other clients are but refused this option....

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

The room had everything we could wish for, even a bed and bowl for our dog. Breakfast was tasty and perfectly prepared, catering to our dietary needs (vegetarian and gluten free) with an amazing assortment of homemade preserves (good enough that we bought a couple of jars to bring home). The location was great, we could walk into town, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah M
Nick A, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for not only for the taking time to write this review but also for your very kind words. We are very pleased you chose to stay with us and was our pleasure to look after you all. As a valued customer we would like to extend our thanks for staying with us, please accept the voucher...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
119 reviews
0.5 km away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
279 reviews
1.7 km away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 25 in Falmouth
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#8 of 25 in Falmouth
978 reviews
0.3 km away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
917 reviews
0.5 km away
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and join us for a restful and relaxing break at our family run guest house here in the heart of Falmouth. The Red House is an elegant and distinctive Victorian house which overlooks the picturesque harbour and the River Fal. This beautiful William Morris designed Victorian house was originally built for and owned by Lord Kimberley around 1870. This family home has been lovingly transformed into a bed and breakfast and is ideally positioned to capture the full beauty of Falmouth and the surrounds. Situated about 150 meters from the sea front (Gyllyngvase and Castle beaches) and about 7 minutes walk into the town and harbour. Near to Princess Pavilion with its beautiful gardens with free entertainment in the summer, The Maritime Museum, Pendennis Castle and Falmouth Town train station is also nearby. This is family a run guesthouse offering a quality bed and breakfast to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, special diets can be catered for i.e... Wheat, gluten free, vegetarian, vegan or raw vegan (please advise in advance). There is onsite parking for 6 cars with free street parking also available all nearby. Free Wi - Fi is available in all rooms or use of a computer with printer in the breakfast room. There are three rooms on the ground floor for ease (not having to use the stairs) and a further 6 rooms on the first floor. A galleried landing on the first floor with stunning views across the bay to Flushing making an ideal photo opportunity or to sit and gaze at the boats going by, it is also a tranquil place to sit write post cards or just read. Pet friendly: We accept pets in certain rooms please telephone prior to booking to check a room is available. There is a charge of £5.00 per night; unfortunately we cannot accept pets in the breakfast room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Red House

Address: 24 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Price Range: $95 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Red House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red House Falmouth, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Red House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Red House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book elsewhere! Bad attitude from the landlord.”
 of 5 bubbles 449grahamr, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book directly with The Red House if you're taking your canine chum”
 of 5 bubbles 439carols, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rear facing over the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles robbyroo, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don`t go there”
 of 5 bubbles FredCornwall, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Sea view if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 288janetw, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay