We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cliffdene Hotel

0.5 km from Newquay centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cliffdene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 293: English reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Nice and clean rooms, found this hotel by accident would stay by choice next time. small rooms but very clean and tidy. It has just been renovated inside and out still some scaffolding but the hotel will look great once all is done. A complaint? well, the WIFI needs help...........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Well situated hotel near to shops and bars etc. Rather dated but clean and tidy. Weak WIFI signal in the bedroom.Good sea view even through the scaffolding. Staff all welcoming and helpful. Breakfast lovely. Good choice of cereal, fruit, porridge and full English. Slight gripe, toast could have been slightly better quality bread. Overall experience good. Would happily stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol090163
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016

This is a typical Grand UK hotel. In need of a good clean and some TLC. The staff and food ate the only saving grace for this place. Filthy windows covered in bird droppings, and cobwebs round the ceiling. The toilet roll holder was the wrong one for the paper provided. The pillows in my room definitely need replacing. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mick C
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Good location opposite the beach and walking distance into the town centre. Hotel was covered in scaffolding so the sea view which we paid for was a bit obscured.Bedroom was ok comfy bed furniture was on its last legs resembling something in a charity shop window. Staff were ok but not outstanding was ignored at breakfast until i got up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 744pablos
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Verona
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel is old the room are small and the bath furniture are only a soap. The bed is small for two people and unconfortble. Our room is on a working area. The wifi is terrible, works only in the reception and the pub but is very slow, even whats app is impossible to use. Good breakfast (included) the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alessio M
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Our recent stay was great, friendly staff, most helpful across the board from front of house to bar staff and such hard working restaurant staff, we couldn't have wished for more at breakfast from cereal, fruit juice porridge to full English, sometimes it hit or miss for hot toast but hey they brought you more!!! evening was 3 course which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue b
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Porthleven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016

stayed for 1 night and was very happy with time there. scaffolding covered the front of the hotel so had to park round the back-no problem. our room was good,clean and fairly big. the hotel is spotlessly clean but the exterior is looking very tired.staff were really helpful and our breakfast was adequate ! we will stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul C
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2016

My recent stay at the Cliffdene Hotel at Christmas was all one could wish for. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food and accommodation were first class. It made my first Christmas away from family that much more enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Una B
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Awesome,we had a 5 day ,4 night holiday at the Cliffdene and the whole stay was fantastic,we are both coeliac and they made sure that we had almost the same as everyone else. A Big Thank You to Michael and Sarah and Ernie and his team and the Chef Aaron and his team who catered very very well for us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John F
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015

I can't understand the negative comments about this hotel, we stayed here for Christmas and I can't really fault it, Yes my bed was a bit lumpy but didn't stop me sleeping, We had a lovely walk in shower and always had hot water, there was small bars of soap provided ,, The Hotel is rather dated but that just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VALERIEA A
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
776 reviews
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
0.6 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#18 of 38 in Newquay
189 reviews
1.6 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
53 reviews
2.8 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: $62 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliffdene Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cliffdene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles 210elainet, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea and road at front, quiet but with no outlook at back”
 of 5 bubbles RDH1, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view, we did and it was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles slartybartfast_1, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front of hotel overlooks the beaches, views great.”
 of 5 bubbles sailorbeware, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dont Go There”
 of 5 bubbles jonathandV7788AX, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5