We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Western Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

788 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Great Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 770: English reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Recommended this hotel to a group of friends for NYE . We all travelled from Birmingham to get here. I can honestly say I am embarrassed to have recommended the Great Western to them. Me and my boyfriend have stopped here on a few occasions and it's been average. Once we made a complaint because of the state of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sophie B
StAustellManagement, Front Office Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was extremely disappointed to read your review and I send my sincere apologies. Having investigated all points raised, both rooms on your booking were given a complimentary upgrade to the next room type. We did have a maintenance issue that unfortunately could not be fixed. Two out of your...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Great location on the beach and close to town. Beautiful large room facing the ocean. Staff very efficient and friendly with great local knowledge. Despite the fog and rain, we had a fabulous 3 days in Newquay which was close to attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
StAustellManagement, Front Office Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay – apart from the delightful Cornish weather! We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Lucy Longworth

Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Lovely Room,average size, good sea view! Lovely receptionist, the only downfalls would be the breakfast and toiletries... Breakfast is not worth the amount they charge, would go somewhere else next time & no toiletries to take if wanted.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie R
StAustellManagement, Front Office Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m happy to hear that you were impressed with our rooms, the view and also our reception team. Our breakfast is cooked to order using local produce where possible and is available from 8am until 11.30am daily; thus allowing all our guests the flexibility to choose a time that suits...

england
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Great hotel in a lovely position overlooking the bay. Very near to shops , restaurants and pubs. The hotel has a lovely outside area and great views of the bay from the dining / bar area. Serves a good breakfast and all the staff are very friendly and attentive. Rooms are nice with everything you need. Very comfy beds!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaine010
StAustellManagement, Front Office Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All your lovely comments have been passed onto the team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Lucy Longworth

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

The hotel is well located with a lovely bar downstairs. Limited parking was available for £5 at the hotel which was reasonable. Now the room..... SHOCKING!! The smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The room was also very dated and the bed was so hard we may as well have slept on the floor. The room was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AshandCar
StAustellManagement, Front Office Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise that you found your room to be unsatisfactory. As an older building; our rooms vary in size and shape and are therefore categorised on the basis of the refurbishment and décor. I’m unsure of your room number to be able to look into your comments regarding your bed;...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2015

very nice staff however a bit noisy while staying in the room because our room were situated near to staff room I guess. They should have appreciate when there are vacancies nearby. The room quality was ok for the price we have paid (not looking to pay more if we would get the same room)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Napha B
StAustellManagement, Front Office Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. On the ground floor there are parts of the hotel staff have access to but they are not situated near any of the guest’s bedrooms. I do apologise however if you were disturbed at any point. Throughout the year there are fantastic special offers through our website where a range...

Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

When we arrived it was a great start. We paid for the premium room and when we arrived after a friendly check in we where not disappointed. The room was spacious and had okay views from the window. We were very pleased. Unfortunately when l came back around 10pm , the music from the bar area directly underneath was horrendous!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank helz_12
StAustellManagement, Front Office Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I apologise that there were aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. We are currently in the middle of a rolling refurbishment programme with more rooms due refurbishment at the beginning of this year, therefore all of our rooms are categorised and priced accordingly....

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

I visited this hotel for a short weekend break. We were greeted by a young lady on reception. I think her name was carla she was so welcoming, friendly and helpful. She is a credit to this hotel. The room was clean and modern with plenty of space for the two of us. I would definitely recommend this hotel to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2015

We have stayed at great Western hotel for 2 night for are christmas party we have been doing this for 4 years and have always been more than please with the hotel, this year how ever a few of us in our party we're not very happy with our rooms we always book superior double rooms, 2 of us we're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jean f
Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Super hotel. Exceptional staff, nothing is too much trouble. Had a lovely comfortable and warm room with wonderful views of the sea. Highly recommend for coeliacs as the Head Chef is very knowledgeable and will keep you well fed and safe. Bread was available so you don't need to take your own. Will definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlaine C

489 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Other (95)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Bridal - Honeymoon Suite (23)
Viewed
Premium Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (19)
Viewed
Superior Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.6 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
2.0 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
870 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: $69 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Western Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Great Western Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dine here first”
 of 5 bubbles Monstermunch2017, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Talk to the reception team before you book - they couldn't be more helpful”
 of 5 bubbles davidwenban2017, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles LynnM2012, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back overlooking the sea are the best rooms.”
  • A great way to spend Valentine's Day 2017
 of 5 bubbles armchairlfc, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It is worth paying the extra to get a sea view”
  • Wonderful view from our room
 of 5 bubbles RJonesy_78, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5